Great experience to stay at a Hutong. If you are looking for sound proof room or easy to access hotel, this is not for you. BUT if you are looking for the historical and cultural feel, please do stay! Highly recommended to stay here at Fly By Knight. But please prepared to walk for about 5-7 minutes from the main road, which is no big deal even for a family with 2 kids and 4 luggages.
an incredible universe right in China! We appreciated ! Total respect for old structures! I recommend ! the employees are adorable and helpful, do not hesitate to spend time here! Hope to come back there very soon
My partner and I spent a week in this oasis! We have been so good, to forget the superficial cleanliness! Hour room was large and quiet; the bed was huge! The young employees are very nice and sociable; they speak English and French; always ready to help you for anything. The common areas are very welcoming and it’s easy to make friends with people from all over the world. They have free classes of writing and Kung-fu. The hotel is 10 minutes walk distance to Dongsi metro station, with two lines (5 and 6).
My family was originally booked to stay at the Fly By Knight Courtyard Hotel in Beijing in early December. I selected this hotel as we wanted a Courtyard Hotel in an authentic hutong, close to public transport and most importantly suitable for four people (2 adults and 2 kids). We had booked this accommodation months in advance after many weeks of research and we booked through booking.com (the last time i’ll trust them too). The hotel made first contact with me on a few days before my stay. Mid afternoon they contacted me to clarify bedding requirements - I responded immediately and all appeared good. Imagine my horror when a few short hours later, when packing the car to go to the airport that I get an email (not a phone call!) suggesting there is a problem with my booking and that I have two options – cancel or move to another hotel for part of my stay. They said they were shooting a TV commercial at the hotel (that they had just organised????) and that they would need to relocate me to a sister hotel for the first two nights and then I shift back to the original hotel for the last four nights (i.e a real pain when you are lugging luggage around with young kids). The hotel they wanted to transfer us two had 2 beds having my son on a fold up bed, and my daughter sharing with my wife and I. This despite us booking bedding for four people. In the hours we had before we flew out, my wife and I frantically searched for alternative accommodation (always made more difficult when you don't have time to research where hotels are) however many were either outside our price range, not available or not suitable (number of beds). We were unwilling to move to one of the "western" hotels as that defeated the purpose of our trip - that is to show our kids a more authentic Chinese experience. After numerous calls to and from Booking.com, we reluctantly agreed to the hotels request to move us to the sister hotel. What other option had they given us at this late stage???? While we accepted the move they hardly gave us any other option and suggesting a free cancellation was hardly a favor. What decent hotel effectively forces you to cancel or accept a lesser quality visit at such short notice? This hotel had no concern for our welfare or comfort and was more interested in revenue from their TV commercial shoot. To the hotels credit, the sister hotel was cheaper and they dropped the price by 10% however in hindsight this was a poor token effort. Had we been given the courtesy of more notice I would have cancelled on principal as I don't appreciate shifting hotels half way into our stay when day tour pick ups had already been arranged. Upon arriving at our temporary stay - the sister hotel was fine, other than the bedding did not meet our requirements. The staff there were beautiful. For what we paid, we were relatively happy. We should have stayed there! For the third night we dragged our bags to the next hotel - Fly by Knight and were surprised to see the TV commercial still shooting. Given we were going out during the day we thought we would let it rest and they would be gone when we returned later that night. They didn't. At 10:00pm that night I went and spoke to the hotel staff (there didn't appear to be anyone else staying there at the time) politely asking when the noise would stop. They spoke to the workers and asked them to keep it down. While they were quiet for 5 minutes or so, within no time they were back up on the roof (immediately above our room), shovelling "fake" snow off the paving and generally making unreasonable amounts of noise in what is supposed to be a quiet hutong hotel. The fake commercial had a snow like setting so the roof and courtyard hotel had fake snow everywhere which they had to remove by whatever means (think shovel along a concrete floor). The hotel resembled nothing like the pictures on their website. After the commercial was cleaned up, we then saw maintenance work (painting, floors, bathrooms) all being performed resembling more of a construction period than an operating hotel. At one stage we had to ask them to turn the water back on as they were doing works and we needed to flush a toilet. If works were so planned, why wasn't the hotel shut down or the bookings accepted AFTER advising people of the intended works. They didn’t shut down as their management is greedy and wanted to maximise their return! Our bathroom appeared mid renovation and while clean and tidy inside the room, it was not in any way worthy of hotel status. To be fair to the hotel, the staff were friendly and empathetic (David was helpful) and I did toy with not "complaining" as such, but I now realise on reflection we were very flexible when we shouldn't have to have been and this hotel added stress during a period where I was supposed to be on a "break" and focus on my family. I did await a response from the hotel (through Booking.com) before posting this review and was effectively fobbed off and told it shouldn’t have happened. It was our holiday and we were stuffed around not only with the change to our booking, but also with the noise and lack of amenity. For the inconvenience of them keeping my kids up hours past bed time, we did gratefully accept one load of free laundry (David again deomonstrating he was concerned about the way we were treated), however his management couldn’t care less. The hotel staff at Fly By Knight were lovely – I can’t fault them and I hope for others sake, this was just a one off incident. Regrettably, the management of the hotel clearly have NO IDEA of what customer service is and will do anything to fill their rooms. By all means book with the hotel, but don’t be surprised if at the last minute they cancel to make a quick buck. A dishonest hotel that ruined part of our stay – I will tell everyone I know to avoid them.…
我喜歡這地方，因為我個人喜歡老房子，讓我漫遊過去的時光，小小的四合院充滿過去的歷史回憶，夜奔北京還有提供早餐，免費咖啡，大大的桌子，大家一起用餐聊天，挺不錯的。I personally like to visit old house. This is a classic Chinese house, close to MRT. Every Saturday afternoon, they give free KungFu class. It is quite interesting, and make you understand how powerful the Chinese KungFu. In the Sunday afternoon, there is Chinese writing class for free. Inside the room,clean and comfortable, not big but enough. I do enjoy to walk around the old street near by. These old street may disppear someday. About the breakfast, they offer western and Chinese set. A big table in reception for me to work and read. Coffee and music relax a lot after weeks of pressure.Come and stay If you drop by 北京。