We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing

Save
No. 6 Dengcao Hutong,Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010 China
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (117)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (3)

About

#10 of 1,704 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Fly by Knight Courtyard is a beautifully renovated traditional Chinese courtyard house.It provides clean and comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and clean common areas.It is located in the heart of Beijing City, with easy access to public transportation such as the subway (Dong si station) and many major city bus routes. The courtyard is located in Hutong, in one of the most famous government preserved areas. The surrounding houses are all local Beijing residents.We understand how important it is to start your day with a good meal, therefore everyone gets a free set of western breakfast in the morning (bacon, sasuage, hash browns, eggs and toasts)Every staff member in the courtyard is fully trained in helping travellers and they speak both fluent English and Chinese.Fly by Knight Courtyard is a guesthouse founded by a traveler whose passion for martial arts brought him to China to broaden his experience. If you have come to China to study martial arts and need assistance, let us know and we will be more than happy to help. We also provide practice areas and equipment.Fly by Knight Courtyard respects all artists. If you are any type of artist; a martial artist, a painter, a singer, a performer, a poet, a writer,etc, let us know because we would love to exchange your talents for accomodations!This benefit applies to dorm users. Private room users may contact us for more informationFly by Knight Courtyard loves animals; so bring your pets; dogs, cats, polar bears (if you have the right license). just make sure you email us first so we can make preparations for your little guy (or big guy).Fly by Knight Courtyard Believes in traveling eco-friendly. Please bring your own personal hygiene products such as tooth brushes. We don't provide any one-time-use products. We do offer market priced products which, if purchased, please re-use them.Fly by Knight Courtyard provides low prices, but not at any price. We don't offer unfair trade products or food. we pay our taxes and we monitor our quality.Fly by Knight Courtyard offers very low priced international calls, but if you need to call your mommy, we will let you call for free. We know you must miss your mommy!
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Snack bar
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Fax / photocopying
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Vending machine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese
171Reviews6Q+A27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 120
  • 41
  • 5
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Great experience to stay at a Hutong. If you are looking for sound proof room or easy to access hotel, this is not for you. BUT if you are looking for the historical and cultural feel, please do stay! Highly recommended to stay here at Fly By Knight. But please prepared to walk for about 5-7 minutes from the main road, which is no big deal even for a family with 2 kids and 4 luggages.
Read more
an incredible universe right in China! We appreciated ! Total respect for old structures! I recommend ! the employees are adorable and helpful, do not hesitate to spend time here! Hope to come back there very soon
Read more
+1
My partner and I spent a week in this oasis! We have been so good, to forget the superficial cleanliness! Hour room was large and quiet; the bed was huge! The young employees are very nice and sociable; they speak English and French; always ready to help you for anything. The common areas are very welcoming and it’s easy to make friends with people from all over the world. They have free classes of writing and Kung-fu. The hotel is 10 minutes walk distance to Dongsi metro station, with two lines (5 and 6).
Read more
My family was originally booked to stay at the Fly By Knight Courtyard Hotel in Beijing in early December. I selected this hotel as we wanted a Courtyard Hotel in an authentic hutong, close to public transport and most importantly suitable for four people (2 adults and 2 kids). We had booked this accommodation months in advance after many weeks of research and we booked through booking.com (the last time i’ll trust them too). The hotel made first contact with me on a few days before my stay. Mid afternoon they contacted me to clarify bedding requirements - I responded immediately and all appeared good. Imagine my horror when a few short hours later, when packing the car to go to the airport that I get an email (not a phone call!) suggesting there is a problem with my booking and that I have two options – cancel or move to another hotel for part of my stay. They said they were shooting a TV commercial at the hotel (that they had just organised????) and that they would need to relocate me to a sister hotel for the first two nights and then I shift back to the original hotel for the last four nights (i.e a real pain when you are lugging luggage around with young kids). The hotel they wanted to transfer us two had 2 beds having my son on a fold up bed, and my daughter sharing with my wife and I. This despite us booking bedding for four people. In the hours we had before we flew out, my wife and I frantically searched for alternative accommodation (always made more difficult when you don't have time to research where hotels are) however many were either outside our price range, not available or not suitable (number of beds). We were unwilling to move to one of the "western" hotels as that defeated the purpose of our trip - that is to show our kids a more authentic Chinese experience. After numerous calls to and from Booking.com, we reluctantly agreed to the hotels request to move us to the sister hotel. What other option had they given us at this late stage???? While we accepted the move they hardly gave us any other option and suggesting a free cancellation was hardly a favor. What decent hotel effectively forces you to cancel or accept a lesser quality visit at such short notice? This hotel had no concern for our welfare or comfort and was more interested in revenue from their TV commercial shoot. To the hotels credit, the sister hotel was cheaper and they dropped the price by 10% however in hindsight this was a poor token effort. Had we been given the courtesy of more notice I would have cancelled on principal as I don't appreciate shifting hotels half way into our stay when day tour pick ups had already been arranged. Upon arriving at our temporary stay - the sister hotel was fine, other than the bedding did not meet our requirements. The staff there were beautiful. For what we paid, we were relatively happy. We should have stayed there! For the third night we dragged our bags to the next hotel - Fly by Knight and were surprised to see the TV commercial still shooting. Given we were going out during the day we thought we would let it rest and they would be gone when we returned later that night. They didn't. At 10:00pm that night I went and spoke to the hotel staff (there didn't appear to be anyone else staying there at the time) politely asking when the noise would stop. They spoke to the workers and asked them to keep it down. While they were quiet for 5 minutes or so, within no time they were back up on the roof (immediately above our room), shovelling "fake" snow off the paving and generally making unreasonable amounts of noise in what is supposed to be a quiet hutong hotel. The fake commercial had a snow like setting so the roof and courtyard hotel had fake snow everywhere which they had to remove by whatever means (think shovel along a concrete floor). The hotel resembled nothing like the pictures on their website. After the commercial was cleaned up, we then saw maintenance work (painting, floors, bathrooms) all being performed resembling more of a construction period than an operating hotel. At one stage we had to ask them to turn the water back on as they were doing works and we needed to flush a toilet. If works were so planned, why wasn't the hotel shut down or the bookings accepted AFTER advising people of the intended works. They didn’t shut down as their management is greedy and wanted to maximise their return! Our bathroom appeared mid renovation and while clean and tidy inside the room, it was not in any way worthy of hotel status. To be fair to the hotel, the staff were friendly and empathetic (David was helpful) and I did toy with not "complaining" as such, but I now realise on reflection we were very flexible when we shouldn't have to have been and this hotel added stress during a period where I was supposed to be on a "break" and focus on my family. I did await a response from the hotel (through Booking.com) before posting this review and was effectively fobbed off and told it shouldn’t have happened. It was our holiday and we were stuffed around not only with the change to our booking, but also with the noise and lack of amenity. For the inconvenience of them keeping my kids up hours past bed time, we did gratefully accept one load of free laundry (David again deomonstrating he was concerned about the way we were treated), however his management couldn’t care less. The hotel staff at Fly By Knight were lovely – I can’t fault them and I hope for others sake, this was just a one off incident. Regrettably, the management of the hotel clearly have NO IDEA of what customer service is and will do anything to fill their rooms. By all means book with the hotel, but don’t be surprised if at the last minute they cancel to make a quick buck. A dishonest hotel that ruined part of our stay – I will tell everyone I know to avoid them.
Read more
+1
我喜歡這地方,因為我個人喜歡老房子,讓我漫遊過去的時光,小小的四合院充滿過去的歷史回憶,夜奔北京還有提供早餐,免費咖啡,大大的桌子,大家一起用餐聊天,挺不錯的。I personally like to visit old house. This is a classic Chinese house, close to MRT. Every Saturday afternoon, they give free KungFu class. It is quite interesting, and make you understand how powerful the Chinese KungFu. In the Sunday afternoon, there is Chinese writing class for free. Inside the room,clean and comfortable, not big but enough. I do enjoy to walk around the old street near by. These old street may disppear someday. About the breakfast, they offer western and Chinese set. A big table in reception for me to work and read. Coffee and music relax a lot after weeks of pressure.Come and stay If you drop by 北京。
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$68 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ChinaBeijingTian'anmen / Wangfujing
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing
Which popular attractions are close to Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing?
Nearby attractions include Shijia Hutong Museum (0.2 miles), Duke Gui's Mansion (0.3 miles), and Beijing Courtyard of Lishi Alley (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a snack bar.
What food & drink options are available at Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing?
Conveniently located restaurants include 159 Hutong Restaurant, Courtyard Bistro, and Taste - the delights of Yunnan flavor.
Are pets allowed at Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Temple of Heaven (2.5 miles), Tian'anmen (1.6 miles), and Gong Wang Fu (2.2 miles).