We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Tamarind Village Apartments

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tamarind Village Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 89: English reviews
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
203 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

We have stayed in Tamarind for several days with friends. The location is great. The staff was very professional and friendly. Apartments are large and very well maintained. It will be my choice to stay during next visits.

Helpful?
Thank nbalsari
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Tamarind Village. We are so glad you found the location appealing, the apartments large and well maintained and the staff to be professional and friendly. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and will even do so during your next visit. We look forward to... More 

Kingswood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

These apartments are run on an hotel basis. Self contained with kitchen, terrace umpteen bedrooms and fully furnished but with the added benefit of being staffed and managed as if it was a hotel. It is best described as idyllic. The Tamarind is located on the approach to Mombasa creek in Nyali. The whole hotel/apartment complex faces the ocean. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. We really appreciate your positive comments regarding the apartments, the customer care and the restaurants. We are delighted that you find the Village ideal for a relaxed family time. Our staff members take their roles very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality personalized customer... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here whilst in Mombasa on business. Staff very friendly and helpful, but let down by poor A/C in room, it was like a sauna. Furniture looking very dated and worn. Massive room, and bed okay, just felt strange having an apartment with three bedrooms , two bathrooms, a kitchen and a lounge. Would rather have stayed in a normal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Huw C
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are concerned to hear that your experience was let down by poor A/C and that you felt the furniture in your apartment looked worn and outdated. Your comments have been shared with the apartment owner and management team so that appropriate action can be put in place. We appreciate your candid feedback. More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2016

Tamarind use to be the kind or apartment/hotel that was very prestigious. I tend to visit mombasa every other weekend. I always liked staying at the tamarind. But lately the standards have really dropped. It has one of the best views in the room or living room or just relaxing in the balcony. But now the place is dusty, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank zulekah
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are extremely concerned to hear that you had such an unpleasant experience at Tamarind Village and felt that the standards have dropped. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings which you have mentioned. I assure you your feedback has been shared with the entire team, as well as apartment owners and the appropriate... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2016

Horrible experience. Was downgraded and charged extra, while staying there - against a standing agreement. Had to move out or pay almost double. Even after paying in full at reception. Seems like a scam.

Helpful?
Thank 22330005DB
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this review

We are extremely concerned to hear about your unfortunate experience and the fact that you were downgraded and charged extra whilst staying at Tamarind Village. We have launched an investigation and assure you that your feedback has been taken seriously and corrective measures are being implemented. Many thanks again for sharing your valuable comments and I truly hope that you... More 

Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016

self catering facilities available a mini bar, fantastic sea view and well kept swimming pools.dedicated staff and clean apartments.how could i forget the restaurants?two restaurants at the establishment offering sea food served at its best apt 144

Helpful?
Thank hezzkish
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate your feedback about the dedicated staff, clean apartments and the fantastic sea view, which by the way is visible from every apartment. Also glad you enjoy the seafood from the Tamarind restaurant. Many thanks again for taking the time to review. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2016

Whenever I am in Mombasa I try to stay at the Tamarind. This is one of the oldest hotels in this area but well kept and clean. The key is to get one of the newer (renovated) apartments as some of the older ones are getting a bit tired. The rooms are massive and offer AC and balconies with stunning... More 

Helpful?
Thank HolgerMM
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review! We are delighted that you always try to stay at Tamarind Village whenever you are in Mombasa and that you enjoy your experience noting that the staff are always friendly, and the security is safe. Your praise about the Tamarind restaurant and accommodation have been shared with the team who... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2016 via mobile

A friend recommended Tamarind Village and it did not disappoint. The apartments are quite spacious and worth the price. The service was exceptional, with Monica at the reception being most helpful in many ways. Alex, too, took special requests and assisted in how and what he was able to do. The room service was good and on time with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lenchipai N
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We are happy that your stay lived up to expectation and that you found the accommodation, service and food to be good. We appreciate your complimentary feedback which has been shared with the team on the ground who are truly motivated by your praise. Many thanks again for taking the time to review. More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2016

We needed to sleep in Mombasa as our flight was early and the resort we were staying booked for us here. Positively surprised form the very nice place. Bit overpriced but at least we had an amazing sleep in the big bed we had in the one bedroom apt.

Helpful?
Thank CV1974
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review about your stay at Tamarind Village. We are happy to hear that you thought the one bedroom apartment in which you stayed was very nice. Your comments have been shared with the team who will be inspired to ensure our standards remain at a high level. Many thanks again for your feedback. More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2016 via mobile

Well, Nyali is a great location to stay..this was my second visit to Kenya. Went there with a few friends. Decided to take an apartment at Tamarind Village. And i must say, it was a great decision. The rooms are really large and spacious with facilities except breakfast which is paid. We took a 2 bhk but because of unavailability... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abhinav P
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Village Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you decided to stay at Tamarind Village and enjoyed your experience with us. We have shared your comments with the team who are always motivated by such positive feedback. Despite the best beaches being far we hope you liked the fabulous view of the Old Town for which we are known.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
6.0 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Creekside Hotel
5.7 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bahari Beach Hotel
Bahari Beach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
1.3 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
#12 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Tamarind Village Apartments

Address: Mombasa, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Price Range: $153 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tamarind Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Village Apartments Hotel Mombasa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay