We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Masai Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621 Kenya
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (660)
Room & Suite (135)
Dining (50)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#47 of 166 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Royal Mara is a luxury safari and game viewing lodge located in Kenya's world famous Masai Mara, home to the annual Great Migration of the Wildebeest. We are situated directly on the Mara River with eight riverfront guest suites. All suites are raised upon wooden decks with full mahogany flooring and original hand carved furniture. See the same wildlife-rich areas as broadcast on the BBC Big Cat Diary.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Parking garage
Internet
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Italian, Swahili

Location

Full view
Contact
Masai Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621 Kenya
Getting there
Mara Lodges Airport19 miSee all flights
Kichwa Tembo Airstrip10 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
466Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 428
  • 27
  • 6
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Attic Tours and Travel Ltd wrote a review Oct 2020
Kenya41 contributions20 helpful votes
Polite staff. Beautiful and spacious rooms,rooms are built using eco friendly materials Beautiful view The carvings on the doors were beautiful and very artistic Would highly recommend.Thank you for the experience
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Best views
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Fiona B wrote a review Jan 2020
Fort Portal, Uganda3 contributions
The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming, the accommodation very comfortable and spacious with plenty of privacy, very good food and a great location within the Mara North conservancy, with the game drive starting at the front door with hippos in the river in front of the cabins and giraffe, warthog, impala and more on the opposite bank. We spent 4 very relaxing days here over Christmas and I would highly recommend it. Only thing to be aware of for families is that it is not possible to walk around the grounds without an escort or guard because of the wild animals, young children may find this restrictive being unable to play outside or move between cabins.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin Maina, Owner at Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Responded Mar 5, 2020
Dear Fiona, Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to give a feedback. We are glad you had a good time with us and are humbled by your five star ratings. It was a pleasure hosting your family reunion in such a quiet, serene and relaxing environment. Hoping to host you again
Read more
Vicky Morris wrote a review Dec 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I wanted to give this place five stars but because of Benjamin, the manager, I'm afraid I had to take off two stars. First, let me begin with the positives. The Royal Mara Safari Lodge is a beautiful lodge and you'll definitely have an encounter with nature since the Lodge is not fenced in. We loved hearing the wildlife at night and also enjoyed our game drives. This was my husband's first trip to Kenya and the Mara and we received great customer service from the staff there. James, our driver for the safaris, was amazing. He was very knowledgeable about the animals and gave us a wonderful experience. I don't know how he did it but he managed to find us all the animals we wanted to see and my husband had a wonderful time riding with him. We would definitely recommend him for future trips at Maasai Mara. Simiyu, our server, always made sure to take care of us. He provided great service when it came to our food and was so incredibly attentive to our needs. He and Josephat were always kind and hospitable, and the food was incredible. My husband and I were more than satisfied after every meal. Samuel was the guard who usually walked us around the Lodge. Because it's not fenced in, you have to have a guard walk you everywhere you go. Samuel was always so gracious and also informative about the Maasai Mara and the experiences he's had while there. We loved him! Unfortunately, our trip was dampened by one person, Benjamin, the manager. We arrived at the Lodge and after our passports were taken, we were told that he would meet us at the restaurant to give us a run through, welcome us, and also return our passports. Let me also mention that the lodge only had two other groups checked in because it wasn't the busy season. That evening when we arrived we waited and waited for our passports. We never heard from Benjamin until we sent our driver to get him. I was concerned about getting our passports back. After asking our driver to run after him a couple of times, he finally decided to return our passports and later on come to our table to welcome us during dinner. I thought his behavior was odd but I dismissed it and I decided to enjoy the rest of the trip. On our last night there, he tried to charge us for four game drives even though we only went on two. After we clarified, he changed it and we were also charged for using their land rovers. I had no issue with paying. The only issue I had is that this was NEVER communicated to us. I also thought that it was strange that he was sitting in the same dining area as us but chose to send Josephat as his messenger instead of coming to talk to us directly. I thought it was terrible customer service. I saw him repeatedly talk to other groups the two nights we were there but he wouldn't even approach my husband and I to talk about the matter. I was not impressed with his attitude, his tact, or his management. This place deserves five stars but unfortunately, the management needs to do better.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin M, Manager at Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Responded Jan 2, 2020
Dear Murugi, Happy new year. We normally give back passports to our guest after we photocopy them and in the lodge power is not on throughout. Mara North conservancy have a policy in regard to the type of vehicles that are allowed to conduct game drives within the conservancy whereby game drive vehicles have to be strictly 4x4 land cruisers or land rovers and must be jungle colour. This policy is well communicated to all tour and travel agents.Mine is to enforce the policy and at times i know its not very popular. You came in a mini van (white in colour) and your agent creek new very well the games he was playing with you! I called him on your arrival but unfortunately he resulted to being dodgy for the two nights you stayed with us. Your van guide new something was amiss on your transport arrangement the reason he sat with you all along so that i couldn't get an opportunity to talk to you about the ordeal and that is why you felt that i gave the rest of the clients more attention. Most hotel services are charged per person and so was the 2 game drives for the 2 of you making it 4. Charging the game drive on you was as a last result after there was no response forthcoming from your agent: the bill had to be paid and again as the manager i had to enforce our company policy. It is unfair that someone messed your transport arrangement but you want to blame Benjamin for that even after i offered you alternative game-drive vehicle at the best rates possible. Glad you enjoyed every facet of our hotel products and services. .
Read more
Yofi Adventures wrote a review Dec 2019
Nairobi, Kenya11 contributions
Thank you Mara Safari Lodge for the incredible team and experience!! The tents are great, spacious and luxurious. The staff from the Manager to the security to the game drive guides are very welcoming. Oh and the Mara River views,the hippos,real Adventure. I definitely want to be back and bring clients to experience the great place.Asante
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin M, Manager at Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Responded Jan 3, 2020
Dear Our Business partner, Thank you for taking your precious time out of your busy schedule to write to us such a valued feedback. We are grateful and look forward to hosting your clients in volumes while we gift to them wonderful lifetime memories Karibu tena
Read more
Sunil Tiwari wrote a review Nov 2019
Pune, India13 contributions22 helpful votes
“Jambo" - Benjamin/James/Simon/Memusi/Joseph, and “Asante Sana” for the wonderful experience at Royal Mara!! It was a dream come true, having thought of making it to an African Safari for so long, finally could make it in last week of October 2019. This experience wouldn’t have been as Fantabulous as it turned to be, but for the wonderful people at Royal Mara Safari Lodge. We spend 2 nights and 3 days @Royal Mara Safari Lodge, took 5 safaris including one night safari and in between safaris, enjoyed great food, excellent accommodation and relaxation on the banks of Mara River. The camp is deep inside the bushes and is not fenced at all. That means wild animals can walk-in anytime without an invitation and roam freely inside the camp grounds. The whole camp appears like a triangular piece of land, surrounded by Mara River on two adjacent sides and the open jungle forming the base. True feeling of living in the open grass land – Savannah. On the very first safari, we witnessed a kill by Hyena, barely 500 meters from the main gate of the camp. Being in private conservancy means less vehicles and almost guaranteed sighting of big game in close proximity of lodge and you don’t have to drive whole day for sighting. We could see Cheetahs, Lions, Elephants, all types of Antelope, Wildebeests, Hippos, Giraffes, Hyenas, Jackals and hundreds of Zebras. All in all, it was a once in lifetime experience for us to be on the safari in Masai Mara, and Royal Mara made it an unforgettable one.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Benjamin M, Manager at Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Responded Jan 3, 2020
Hey Tiwari, Fantabulous indeed! We cant thank you enough for your generous affirmation that we are the real deal when it comes to authentic safari experience. I note with appreciation that you have given a detail account of every aspect of your stay much to the delight of travellers who very much need that info to make informed choices. Glad to have turned moments into lifetime memories and given an other chance we would do it even better. We welcome you again.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$433 - $900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal mara safari hotel maasai mara national reserve
LOCATION
KenyaRift Valley ProvinceMaasai Mara National Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Mara Safari Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Mara Safari Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Mara Safari Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Mara Safari Lodge?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
Does Royal Mara Safari Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Royal Mara Safari Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Mara Safari Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Mara Safari Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, and Swahili.
Does Royal Mara Safari Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.