Rhino Tourist Camp

Rhino Tourist Camp

Kenyatta Avenue 3rd Floor, Phoenix House, Maasai Mara National Reserve 20014 Kenya
Traveler (155)
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#35 of 52 lodges in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
3.7
Service
3.6
Value
3.9
This is an exclusive tented camp for those who want a true wild experience. The camp is situated within the Masai Mara Eco-system and near Ololaimutia Gate near sopa lodge and 230kms from Nairobi. Approximately 5 hours on tarmac and all weather Murram Road, situated outside the park. Flying is one hour to the nearest airstrip which is 30 minutes drive to the lodge. WE ALSO OFFER 3 DAYS/2 NIGHTS PACKAGE ON REQUEST AT REASONABLE PRICES.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Public wifi
Restaurant
Massage
Mosquito net
Outdoor fireplace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili

Location

Kenyatta Avenue 3rd Floor, Phoenix House, Maasai Mara National Reserve 20014 Kenya
Getting there
Mara Lodges Airport
29.3 mi
See all flights
Olkiombo Airstrip
23.1 mi
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 5 miles
159Reviews7Q+A33Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 44
  • 53
  • 36
  • 13
  • 13
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
kate_rugby wrote a review Jan 2023
Rugby
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It's good value, just 10 minutes outside the mara gates. Stayed in a tent, which was basic, but functional. Three snags which could have been avoided: 1. tap to turn shower water on was next to shower head, and at 5 foot 2, I couldn't reach it ( also it stayed cold, despite following instructions on how to make it warm) ... luckily my boyfriend is taller than me and could reach. 2. Toilets by dining room didn't flush and we're obviously not cleaned - either make them fit for use, or put out an 'out of order' sign up. 3. Food is very much on a 'first come, first served' basis and if you're late and there are lots of other guests, there may not be much left. But overall, for a few nights, given its proximity to the park, it's fine. Packed lunches were good, and there's a bar that serves beer, cider, and sodas. No shop on site that I could see, so bring what you need.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring a torch for the site (and binoculars for the park - this will increase your safari...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from david mugeke, Owner at Rhino Tourist Camp
Responded Jan 12, 2023
Thank you for your feed back and its our pleasure to clarify the issues therein. The main water pipe connecting the dining hall toilets was leaking reducing water available and its unfortunate we had not seen the leak. This has now been resolved . We serve our dinner from 7 pm to 9 pm and make sure food is available at all times . After 9 pm the hot pot are removed from the serving area but food is still available on request basis. We have now lowered the bathroom taps
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AJV wrote a review Sep 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Accommodation was very basic. The beds were not comfortable. The buildings are not well maintained. The paint is chipping and there are cracks in the floor. The shower does not get very hot and the food was not great. Not a lot of options to choose from and it made some people sick.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from david mugeke, Owner at Rhino Tourist Camp
Responded Sep 27, 2022
We Value your feed back. Your concerns have been brought to the management and will be addressed immediately . However on a positive side we are grateful you gave us 3 stars out of 5 stars.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Xavier D wrote a review Dec 2023
Namur, Belgium
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice food considering the remote place you are in. Very good service from Georges who is your cook too.
The room is clean with toilets and lukewarm showers. The housemaid take very good care of the cleaning.
In the area, most probably the master choice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Mukua, Owner at Rhino Tourist Camp
Responded May 25, 2024
Thanks for the positive review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joyce M wrote a review Sep 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 2 nights while on safari at Maasai and enjoyed our stay. The staff were all pleasant and kind, especially Rachel who welcomed us on arrival and the main chef in the dining room who helped prepare the buffet breakfasts, packed lunches, and buffet dinners. The food was very good. The beds very comfortable each with mosquito nets. Decent but of course not much more can be expected for a 1 star accommodation. Very simple comfortable room with 4 single beds, separate room inside with toilet, partition with sink, and partition for shower. We stayed in a “cabin” not a tent. Lights out after 10pm-5:30am I believe. No WiFi. We would stay again. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ernie k wrote a review Sep 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
spent two nights here while on safari in massai mara, tent was comfortable and clean, food was basic but reasonably good. there seemed to be some problems with electricity and hot water, both were hit or miss. on a down side i was seriously scammed by one of the female staff there, but hey, what doesnt kill you makes you stronger
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: watch out for honey trap girls at firepit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from david mugeke, Owner at Rhino Tourist Camp
Responded Sep 14, 2023
Thank you for your feed back. There was an issue with power supply around the time you were there but the issue was resolved. I am glad you were comfortable at the camp and the food was good. On there other issue we are investigating and will get back to you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SIRAJNairobi_Kenya wrote a review Jul 2023
Nairobi, Kenya
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is one of the best camps we often book in our guests. We are 100% sure that our guests will be well taken care of. It is located in a serene area with its border next to Masai mara n reserve, the ambiance is pure wilderness , at night you hear noises of hyenas, lions, zebras, etc. guests can choose to spend night in a superior tent or deluxe room, accommodation is marvelous, a wide choice of well-balanced meals, variety of beverages, very good service, etc. We highly recommend it to anyone interested in spending their holidays.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: It is a very good camp for the value of your money.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
e.88 wrote a review Sep 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff were lovely but the accommodation really needs improving, shower was freezing, did not warn up at all!! Bathroom really needs attention. Food was okay, luckily we Only stayed for two nights so it wasn’t that bad. Wifi is only on late evening!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from david mugeke, Owner at Rhino Tourist Camp
Responded Oct 11, 2022
We appreciate your feed back. We have looked into your concerns about the state of the bathrooms and relevant repairs have been made .As for the showers we use instant showers which is regulated by the water pressure. We have checked the issue in the room you stayed and have resolved any issues that may have arised as the other clients had no such complains. We sincerely hope that in the future you try again and pay us a visit. Incase of any other issue you can reach us directly on info@rhinotouristcamp.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nickson Bokello wrote a review Aug 2022
Nairobi, Kenya
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 3 days tour at Rhino Tourism Camp Maasai Mara courtesy of Lamaratourism. Its a nice place.Good food,serene environment and secure accommodation. If you visit Maasai Mara for Wildebeest migration, stay at Rhino camp,Its affordable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shibu Kuttan wrote a review Jan 2020
Jaipur District, India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in the camp with my wife. Everything in this camp is just perfect. The staff members are professional, very friendly and took really good care of us. The good there was also delicious and very well cooked.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya S wrote a review Nov 2023
Wf1 4sr
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely little camp- great service especially from the chef! Great for a budget stay when on safari- clean facilities. There is also a camp fire on site if not raining. Seemed nice and quiet and was a decent place to chill after a full day on safari
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Mukua, Owner at Rhino Tourist Camp
Responded May 25, 2024
Thanks for your review . You most welcome to visit us again in future
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hazelbradbury asked a question Mar 2024
Cardiff, United Kingdom340 contributions81 helpful votes
Does each room come with its own toilet and shower? Are they actual tents?
Answer from David Mukua
8 contributions
Hi. Yes . Each room has flush toilets and showers
Julie B asked a question Aug 2019
Bristol, United Kingdom
Hi does the accommodation have power points for charging etc
Answer from Krutika Moses
Moscow, Russia4 contributions
Yes We have power points for charging
Skdoeifhth asked a question Apr 2016
Is there electricity?
Answer from rhinotouristcamp
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Yes there is electricity powered by Generator
wincate asked a question Jan 2015
Nairobi, Kenya17 contributions
that price is fill board basis or halfboard
Answer from Jackson J
full board
Ashley A wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"To take breaks after an adventure and stay hydrated to avoid jet lag."
Read full review
ernie k wrote a tip Sep 2023
9 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"watch out for honey trap girls at firepit"
Read full review
kelvin m wrote a tip Sep 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Travel to the place its beautiful"
Read full review
Dennis W wrote a tip Sep 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They should try out the place. its beautiful"
Read full review
Maria_L wrote a tip Jul 2023
Hamburg, Germany3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you inform your tour agent of any allergies or special dietary needs."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Maasai Mara National Reserve area.
PRICE RANGE
$97 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaRift Valley ProvinceMaasai Mara National Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RHINO TOURIST CAMP - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Rhino Tourist Camp
Which popular attractions are close to Rhino Tourist Camp?
Nearby attractions include Ngatuny Safaris (1.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rhino Tourist Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a 24 hour front desk, and an outdoor fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Rhino Tourist Camp?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Rhino Tourist Camp?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Rhino Tourist Camp?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swahili.
All Maasai Mara National Reserve HotelsMaasai Mara National Reserve Hotel DealsHotels near Rhino Tourist Camp
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars