We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ololo Safari Lodge

Save
Share
Nairobi National Park P.O. Box 15273, Nairobi, Nairobi 00509 Kenya
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com
StayForLong
Booking.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (316)
Dining (37)
Pool & Beach (13)

About

#3 of 378 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Ololo Lodge is a 12 room Safari Lodge on the edge of Nairobi National Park (the only park within a City). Perfect for Nairobi layovers, daytime visits, and airport transfers as well as wildlife enthusiasts, Small private conferences, functions, families and groups.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Shuttle bus service
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili
255Reviews11Q+A57Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 223
  • 19
  • 7
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Koki wrote a review Jan 21
Nairobi, Kenya3 contributions
My stay at Ololo Safari Lodge with my friend was nothing short of amazing! The food was very well cooked, and I particularly loved the farm tour that we had done earlier in the day. Noticing a few things from the organic farm on my dinner plate like the baby lettuce was a nice surprise. Joanna is very warm and welcoming and created an atmosphere of a lovely home, away from home. Her beautiful mood is also felt throughout all her staff who are equally warm, friendly and always ready to help. I foresee myself holding several personal events, day trips and more nights at Ololo Safari Lodge. Everyone deserves the oasis that is Ololo, a welcome break from the normal life routine. Thanks for the pleasant stay Ololo Safari Lodge!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Antonia wrote a review Dec 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates4 contributions1 helpful vote
Ololo is a magical piece of paradise, and cannot be recommended enough. The national park location is perfect for reconnecting with nature, the rooms are comfortable and gorgeous, the staff is extremely attentive, the food always delicious, and Craig and Joanna the most wonderful hosts.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Joanna Chapman, Owner at Ololo Safari Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Antonia, It was lovely having you all stay with us at Ololo. Your two boys were so sweet and I am glad to hear that you felt comfortable here. We would love to welcome you back again anytime and thank you for this very kind review! All the best for the new year and lets hope that 2021 is a big improvement on 2020! Joanna & Craig
Read more
chadpond wrote a review Aug 2020
Nairobi, Kenya164 contributions51 helpful votes
Ololo staff and food are amazing. They use fresh produce grown on their own farm. The outlook is tranquil and perfect for lunch or a stay. It is a short drive from the main NNP gate. Our safari guide was excellent. Despite being surrounded by nature it is unfortunately under the flight path.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The ground floor room can have other guests dining or exploring in front of you.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
John Kubacki wrote a review Mar 2020
Oakville, Canada11 contributions6 helpful votes
We travelled to Kenya from the Toronto area of Ontario, Canada, and it is a long trip. To get our feet under us, we stayed at Ololo for a night before heading into the bush. It is just what we needed! We did the same thing in 2016, and this time it was just as good, even better. Getting game drives from and to the airport is a bonus. Lammie and the staff were only too happy to meet our needs, with grace and humour. The food and drinks were first class, service was exceptional, so we have nothing but good things to say. It was a lovely spot to catch our breath before heading out. Thanks to everyone at Ololo for making our short stay memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Vanessa600 wrote a review Mar 2020
Manama, Bahrain125 contributions41 helpful votes
2.0 Disappointing & Not Value for Money! Liked · The food was very good and the staff, particularly the Manager were friendly and professional. Disliked · The Tower room was very small and the 'private rooftop terrace' was extremely disappointing, as it was also small and was not furnishedwith any comfortable seating area. On arrival, the wardrobe had only one bathrobe for two guests and 3 coat hangars, although additional hangars and a bathrobe were provided later. As the usual hotel amenities such as slippers,hairdryer, fridge, drinks, air conditioning (there was a standing fan) telephone, television etc. were not provided, it is extremely difficult to determine how this room merits its USD800 per night price tag. If the fully inclusive rate included professional safari guides with purpose built safari vehicles, the price may be more understandable, but we did not experience this for our stay. The bed was also very uncomfortable, as it had a huge dip in the middle, probably from not changing the mattress around frequently enough. The main guest hall, seating area was not available for the first day of our visit and as there were no sun loungers or chairs with foot stools by the pool or in the Tower room, there was nowhere to relax with our feet up, not good after a long flight or game drive. Overall, lovely staff and excellent food but disappointing in terms of value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: No. The Tented Room had a large dead spider in the bath tub and a very much alive centipede...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Joanna Chapman, Owner at Ololo Safari Lodge
Responded Mar 10, 2020
Dear Vanessa, We are sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience at Ololo Lodge. However, clearly you did not choose carefully enough when you made your booking. Yes, we do not offer TV, bar fridge, telephone, air con in our rooms. (our fully stocked restaurant bar is just a short hop from your room) This is not the style of accommodation most people want when they book a safari experience. It is particularly strange for you to complain about us not offering a professional safari experience. This is what we specialise in and it is promoted on our website. We have 3 specially fitted out vehicles, two Toyotas and a newly refurbished Land Rover (which is very sought after). When you complained that there were children staying at the lodge then we provided you with your exclusive use of vehicle and guide. So your comments saying the opposite are a little incredulous! To relax by the pool we have a choice of canvas deck chairs or wooden lounge chairs that slope back. Again, we do not want to copy the city hotels with the standard sun lounges. Ololo Lodge prides itself on offering a range of different room options. We are an eclectic lodge not purpose built as such, but unique in the fact that it has a particular style being an converted old family home. We have many delightful comments from guests regarding our rooms and style of the fit out at Ololo. The Tower Room that you stayed in has never had a complaint such as yours and in fact is one of our most sought after rooms. We have made several of the wardrobes that you mentioned, for guests that have loved it's uniqueness and that it was designed and made here at Ololo by our clever fundi carpenters. When you complained about your room not having a bath we then offered you a very spacious Tented Cottage with bath and shower. Lemmy our assistant manager indeed went the extra mile to accommodate your 'wishes'. If you compare our prices to other similar lodges you may find that we are in fact excellent value. You have forgotten to mentioned in your review that your stay with us at Ololo is just not just our delightful accommodation, but is inclusive of a package with 3 delicious meals per day - breakfast, a two course lunch and three course dinner, house wines and selected spirits and all non alcoholic beverages, return transfers from your arrival and departure points, Game Drives in the Nairobi National Park with bitings and sundowners, trips to the different sessions of Sheldricks Elephant Orphanage located 30 minutes drive, complimentary laundry service, guided walking trips to Kitengela Hot Glass Studio, tours of the Ololo Farm, & complimentary Wifi. It is worthy to note you enjoyed our food and friendly staff. We do our best to appease guests who have issues with their room or game drives. However, Ololo prides itself on being a family friendly lodge and maybe this was obviously not what you were looking for - you made this very clear at Ololo. The direct access to game drives in Nairobi National Park is our uniqueness, not TV’s, telephones, air-con. Although we do have hair dryers! Craig Chapman (Owner)
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$393 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaNairobi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ololo Safari Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Ololo Safari Lodge?
Nearby attractions include David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (4.2 miles), David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage (4.1 miles), and African Heritage House (4.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ololo Safari Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Ololo Safari Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ololo Safari Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ololo Safari Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Carnivore Restaurant, Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant:, and Soaring Eagle Spur - Nairobi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ololo Safari Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Ololo Safari Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Ololo Safari Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ololo Safari Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swahili.
Are there any historical sites close to Ololo Safari Lodge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages (8.7 miles), The Galton-fenzi Memorial (7.1 miles), and Dedan Kimathi Statue (7.4 miles).
Does Ololo Safari Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.