We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Westwood Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Westwood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 27: English reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I had a blast soaking in the scenery in their beautifully manicured garden enjoying their mouth watering pork. All this was however short lived as what seemed like an altercation between some male supervisor and a female wait staff right there in front of us resulting to a better exchange of words. It left a very foul... More 

Helpful?
Thank maryodhiambo05
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a really nice hotel well located in Westlands Nairobi Rooms are large and comfortable. Rates are competitive It's very secure and the outdoor area makes you feel your in the bush. Staff efficient and typically Kenyan friendly Will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Charles J
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went there on Christmas 2015 with my wife and baby and had a great time. The Christmas buffet was great value for money. Would definitely come back. We got to sit at the terrace overlooking the garden - awesome!!

Helpful?
Thank Stephen_254
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

This is a a little botique hotel. Great relaxing ambiance. Rooms could do with a good cleaning. Due to solar heating system, I did not get hot water any of the 3 days of my stay. Breakfast was tasty and well prepared however the menu is very limited. The rooms are fairly large and have a mini bar as well... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Arista S
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

The outdoor setting is beautiful and has amazing architectural looking, but the inside settings especially on the way to the rooms does not match the outside one. The room was clean though, but the hot water took minutes to run. But the most disappointment was about the meal, it took ages to prepared and the taste was inconsistent. Luckily, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tina E
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2016 via mobile

Pathetic service Slow and poor and unfriendly Had to wait ages for menu, food, Bill Too bad as the venue is great and relaxing. Decoration is nice Looks great venue for rest and meditation at the Centre of the town Wasted opportunities Well will try to give it one more try one of those days

Helpful?
Thank Christian d
West Wood H, Manager at Westwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christian, Thank you for informing us about your recent experience at West Wood Hotel. I am truly apologetic about the dismal service experience; our goal is to provide a consistently, reliable and exemplary level of service. Based on the event you have described, we did not meet our goals in delivering exemplary service. Your comment regarding the experience will... More 

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2016

Wonderful grounds on the edge of Karura Forest. Nicely tiered gardens with options to sit on four different levels among the trees and monkeys. The food menu is simple and wanting for choice, depth and substance. The atmosphere would lend itself to being very busy on a Sunday afternoon, however, when we visited it was only at about 25% occupancy.... More 

Helpful?
Thank NorthandSouthTravel
West Wood H, Manager at Westwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us. More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2016 via mobile

I'm literally writing this review as I sit in the hotel. The level of unprofessionalism and extremely bad service cannot be accurately described. Nobody picks up the phones i.e. housekeeping/room service etc. Simple things take hours to do. We requested for a cup of black coffee - my colleague left before he got it because it literally took half an... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank njorogekui
West Wood H, Manager at Westwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We strive to provide a really high level of service and especially pride ourselves on providing best service that suit each customer so I was devastated to hear that you weren't completely happy with the delays. I'd love you to give us a second chance, so please... More 

Busia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

Beautiful forest setting, with monkeys peddling their wares!. If you find the place you will understand why monkeys play tricks. The hotel is called Westhouse in Westlands, but the sign board to the hotel reads "Westwood"! oh come on why play tricks on a weary traveler longing for a good rest! The breakfast is very very unrelated to the name... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cta P
West Wood H, Manager at Westwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. It is a pleasure to announce that we will be implementing many of... More 

London, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

If you are looking for a 5* hotel with impersonal service then this hotel is not for you. However, if you are looking for a tropical forest experience in the middle of Nairobi then this will definitely be for you. We stayed for five nights at this hotel. Our check in was efficient and quick. The room was very specious,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank safarisurfers
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
The Zehneria Portico Nairobi
0.7 mi away
Bidwood Suites Hotel
Bidwood Suites Hotel
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Orchid Azure
Hotel Royal Orchid Azure
#55 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Concord Hotel & Suites
The Concord Hotel & Suites
#36 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
#32 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.9 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Westlands
PrideInn Hotel Westlands
#129 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Westhouse - A One Degree South Hotel is one-of-a-kind site on the edge of Karura forest, our boutique hotel embodies the urban vibe fused with the serenity of the forest. The old-world glamour of our historic building seamlessly blends with stylish comfort. Our boutique hotel hosts 30 beautifully decorated superior standard rooms. Which boast of all the comforts of home accompanied by a touch of class that will leave you feeling pampered. We are also home to a wonderful restaurant and forest bar that serves up menus that range from the west to the east with continental, Asian foods and everything in between, all served up with a flair. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Westwood Hotel

Address: off Eldama Ravine, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $94 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing