We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Masai Lane & Bogani Road, Nairobi 00603 Kenya
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (163)
Room & Suite (61)
Pool & Beach (19)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#17 of 364 hotels in Nairobi
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
House of Waine is a family owned property and this is reflected in the name Waine which is made up of the initials of the family members. Originally a family house, it was lovingly converted to a boutique hotel and eventually opened in 2004. The interior design takes its cue from the Matriarch of the family and is imbued with a timeless elegance much like her.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Dining area
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Minibar
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian, Swahili
312Reviews6Q+A83Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 245
  • 56
  • 6
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
AustralianHelen wrote a review Jul 2022
Canberra, Australia92 contributions63 helpful votes
We were so impressed by the attentiveness of the staff prior to our check in at the House of Waine and equally impressed by the helpfulness, professionalism, and customer focused staff during our stay. The Malaika Suite is beautifully designed and furnished, with a private balcony, sublime bed, deep bath and a quiet minibar. We loved it. The staff spoiled my husband and I by suggesting we had dinner in a private dining room, we had some of the best wait service we have ever experienced. Polite, unobtrusive and attentive. On a cold night in Karen, the indoor heater made our intimate dinner very warm and cosy.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
CSP wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
We were in Kenya for several weeks, and our work included travel around the country. We started and ended at the House of Waine, and also had a stop there mid trip. Everything about the hotel and staff were perfect for our needs. The setting is beautiful and quiet; the staff were helpful and very friendly; the food was excellent - we had breakfast there every day and lunch or dinner some days, and they accommodated some special dietary requirements very graciously and professionally; our rooms were lovely, comfortable, and clean - the housekeeping staff are exceptional! The grounds and pool are lovely, a wonderful place to relax after a busy day, with all needs attended to! Everyone at HoW made us feel most welcome and well cared for. I would highly recommend it for business or personal travel
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: We were in the Cottage, which was lovely if more space than we actually needed. It would be...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Hannah wrote a review Jan 2022
Windsor, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed at House of Waine with my family for 4 nights just before Christmas. It's a very special place - quiet, and relaxing and a more intimate place to stay where the staff are not only very welcoming and friendly but are extremely helpful and will go that extra mile to make your stay perfect. The hotel has recently been completely refurbished to an extremely high standard. Management have done a fantastic job in managing to retain such great, professional staff during these very difficult and quiet Covid-times, whilst other hotels in Nairobi have been forced to close. Our rooms were spacious and of a very high standard and the interconnecting rooms worked well with our 2 boys. All of our meals at House of Waine were delicious and our boys particularly loved their time spent in the attractive swimming pool. Thank you to all of the staff for a great stay. We were very sorry to leave and hope to return one day.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Virginia L wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions
We only had one night in Nairobi at the start of our honeymoon and had the pleasure of staying here! The Maliki room was gorgeous, with a large balcony, and they thoughtfully decorated the room with rose petals for our celebration! The staff was incredible, very helpful and kind. The property is immaculate and beautiful, it feels very serene here! Great for couples or families.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from House of Waine, General Manager at House of Waine
Responded Dec 17, 2021
Dear Virginia, We do appreciate you choosing to stay with us on the first day of your special night as you start the journey to a blissful matrimony. We were honored to host you and making the stay as magical as we could through the VIP room decorations and amenities provided complimentary with the room. Our staff are delighted to hear that their service met your expectations and are happy to be of service in the future. Thank you for the review of the property and the recommendation much appreciated. From all of us at the House... Congratulations and Karibu Kenya. House of Waine Team
Read more
Lois D wrote a review Nov 2021
7 contributions8 helpful votes
This hotel was so special. From the grounds to the staff to the beautiful accommodations we loved it all! We were so sorry we only stayed one night at the end of our safari. It would have been nice to have an extra day to unwind there and never leave the property. Express check in with a delicious welcoming drink started our experience. To make it even more convenient, the lab was waiting for us and did the Covid testing as soon as we checked in, no need to go to a lab. Such a nice touch. We were celebrating an 81 st birthday and 51st anniversary. We were upgraded to the Malaika Suite a beautifully appointed suite with living area, large bedroom, dressing room, large bath with soaking tub and walk in shower and a deck overlooking the grounds and pool which are both private and beautiful. It was strewn with rose petals and the bed was decorated in celebration. There were homemade cookies waiting for us and when we returned from dinner there was a bottle of gold flecked sparkling wine and a dozen roses waiting for us. We can’t say how much we appreciated these personal touches. All the staff were lovely, helpful and professional. The ladies at the reception desk printed out and collated all the Covid paperwork for us. Our waiter Dennis? And George who took care of our room and all the extra touches were ever present without being intrusive. Our dinner was excellent and breakfast was perfect. For lunch we opted to dine on our patio. We asked for something lighter then a four course lunch and they made us delicious steak and chicken grilled panini sandwiches with a lovely pepper salad. After lunch they presented us with a beautiful - and delicious- birthday/ anniversary cake. My husband and I have travelled extensively throughout the world and stayed in many fine hotels. House of Waine ranks at the top of our list. We can’t express enough what a special place this is.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from House of Waine, General Manager at House of Waine
Responded Dec 3, 2021
Dear Lois, Thank you for making us a part of this auspicious occasion in your life as you celebrated your 81st birthday and 51st wedding anniversary with us. We had an awesome time hosting you and making your stay at our boutique luxury hotel memorable in the true spirit of modern Africa. Our staff are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the professional and safe service extended to you during your stay. We are happy you enjoyed the small and thoughtful surprises we planned for the two of you with the VIP amenities and room upgrade on your special day. We remain always at your service and we will be waiting to welcome you back next year when you commemorate the birthday and wedding anniversary. We feel honored to have met your expectations and exceeded them in making the stay memorable. From all of us at the House we say... Asante Sana. House of Waine Team.
Read more
J K wrote a review Nov 2021
Denver, Colorado69 contributions73 helpful votes
The House of Waine is a small, intimate hotel housed in a 2 story converted estate home. The hotel has a small number of rooms and a CONFERENCE Room - the latter can be VERY problematic. The Conference Room is located on the main level, in the center of the hotel. We Booked 2 day rooms, to recoup from Safari before our long flight home. Upon check-in my wife and I were assigned the Bustani room, which is a main level room (they have two rooms on the main level, the others appear to be located on the second level). We were told to have lunch in the courtyard since they had a large group in the casual dining room. Food was very good, although there were a number of "guests" that were outside talking loudly on their cell phones...didn't think much about it at the time. When we arrived in the room and were settling in, we noticed voices coming from somewhere outside the room. I went to the front desk to discuss the noise and the woman said they had a "Conference" going on, but she would talk with them about keeping noise down. She must have done that, since things settled down and with the A/C on it helped with the distraction. Latter I found out that the Bustani Room shares a common wall with the Conference Room which must have little to no soundproofing. A few hours later, the Conference adjourned to the small garden (outside our room). The conference goers consisted of loud, oblivious, local businessmen - you know the type. They were so loud that my wife left the room in search of someplace quiet to relax....totally unacceptable. I discussed this with the Manager (Paul). He explained that it was an "oversight" that we were in that room with a conference scheduled, hopefully they would be coming inside soon and apologized for the "inconvenience".....end of conversation. Management could use a little more training in guest servicing. I can see the potential for a nice stay at the House of Waine - with no conference. The room was nicely decorated, comfy bed and spacious bathroom. Before booking I would recommend checking to see if a conference is scheduled during your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Room Tip: Avoid Bustani, ask for a room on the second level
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Omache, General Manager at House of Waine
Responded Nov 18, 2021
Dear Jerry, Thank you for sharing the review with respect to your stay at our exclusive property in Karen suburbs. We do appreciate the time you have taken to highlight the key areas of your stay even after resolving the negatives at the hotel and making peace. First of all, we would like to apologize in writing as much as we apologized to you in person when you and I were in the presence of your family as you were preparing to have your dinner. You will note that the conference afternoon tea set up in the gardens away from the main building but unfortunately it started to drizzle with light showers and the group had to come back into the conference area for cover. This led them to being excited about the rains ending up to be loud during the movement which we mentioned to you and apologized for having not been prepared for the rains hence the oversight... It was raining on a sunny day. Unfortunately the damage was already done by the time management stepped in which was a regrettable inconvenience to you. We did an apology to you and gave a souvenir shawl, and executive pen from the hotel to each of your family members as a show of our sincere apology. However, we do acknowledge your sentiments and you have every right to share feedback on your stay both positive and negative. We do have utmost respect and courtesy to all our guests and where we err, we do correct and do our best to make things right while maintaining serenity amongst all guests present. We do value all our clients and conferences are usually not held in the hotel during peak season which we mentioned to you. The weather was unforeseen and the reaction of the other guest was not anticipated and the same was a great inconvenience to both ourselves and you as well as your family. Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for the same. We wish to confirm that this is not our modus operandi and our perfect guest stays over the years are a veritable testament to our hospitality. We are happy to note that you all got home safely and believe that the souvenirs you got would be a reminder of our promise to redeem ourselves in the coming future should you choose to give us a chance to host you and your family and show you our hospitality in the true spirit of modern Africa. From All of us, thank you for staying with us. Best Regards, House of Waine Team
Read more
kenhatton wrote a review Oct 2021
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania9 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed here for our first and last nights between our safari trip. The hotel and staff are warm and welcoming and made our first introduction to Kenya memorable one. The staff was attentive and helpful and made us feel comfortable. The food was delicious and elegantly presented. Thanks for making the beginning and the end of our trip a wonderful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Omache, General Manager at House of Waine
Responded Oct 23, 2021
Dear Ken, Thank you for the great and honest review of our luxury boutique hotel in Karen on the suburbs of Nairobi. We do appreciate you choosing to stay with us Pre & Post Safari. It is our mission to always make guests stays pleasantly memorable in the true spirit of modern Africa. We were happy to host you and make you feel a warm welcome to our beautiful country Kenya. We have mentioned to the staff your good compliments of their service and they are delighted. The kitchen team is ecstatic to note that you loved the meals and presentations. You are very much welcome and from all of us we say... Karibu Tena Kenya. Best Regards, House of Waine Team
Read more
Grant C wrote a review Sep 2021
Tempe, Arizona10 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed at this property for 2 nights while passing through Nairobi on our honeymoon. The property is gorgeous and very spacious, they upgraded us to the master bedroom suite and then showered our room in rose pedals and left us a bottle of champagne. The first night they set up a private candlelight dinner in a separate room and the food we had both nights was wonderful. The staff was so attentive and helpful, I just wish we would have had more time at this property.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Omache, General Manager at House of Waine
Responded Sep 23, 2021
Dear Grant, Thank you for making us a part of this wonderful milestone in your life as you celebrated your honeymoon with us. We had an awesome time hosting you and making your stay at our boutique luxury hotel memorable in the true spirit of modern Africa. Our staff are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the professional and safe service extended to you during your stay. We are happy you enjoyed the small and thoughtful surprises we planned for the two of you with the VIP amenities and room upgrade on your special day. We remain always at your service and we will be waiting to welcome you back next year when you commemorate your wedding anniversary. From all of us at the House we say... Asante Sana. House of Waine Team.
Read more
JeanLouiseFinch wrote a review Sep 2021
Fernandina Beach, Florida66 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
We spent the first night of our three week trip to Africa at House of Waine, and could not have had a nicer location to unwind after traveling about 40 hours. The staff was very welcoming on arrival – my journal says “Staff on arrival are amazing, inviting….!” We were given the largest room, the Malaika suite, and we enjoyed every inch of it! There was a large, beautiful terrace where I enjoyed a little napping and listening to the breeze and birds. The bathroom was as large as a normal hotel room, with a shower that was divine. We very much enjoyed walking the beautiful grounds. The menus were enticing, and the meals fabulous. The staff took such good care of us, without being overbearing. I believe the interior photos on the hotel’s web site are prior to renovation, but the exterior is the same. It is located in the safe Karen neighborhood. We had a marvelous experience at House of Waine.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Omache, General Manager at House of Waine
Responded Sep 9, 2021
Dear Jean Louise, Greetings of the day from sunny Nairobi hoping you are well. We do take this opportunity to appreciate you for giving us the chance to host you and making your stay at our boutique luxury hotel memorable in the true spirit of modern Africa. Our staff are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the professional and safe service extended to you during your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the rich flora and birdlife in the hotel in the serenity of our plush manicured gardens as the birds sang their melodies. The rooms are newly refurbished as you rightly noted and we are soon sharing the photography for the new face of the hotel once we are fully done with renovations as we are currently 98% completed pending final fittings. We remain always at your service and ensure that when you plan a return visit, we will be waiting to welcome you back home. From all of us at the House we say... You're always welcome. House of Waine Team.
Read more
WILLIAM J wrote a review Jul 2021
Arkadelphia, Arkansas190 contributions73 helpful votes
The House of Waine is a spectacular location in the Karen suburb of Nairobi. It is approximately 40-45 minutes from JK airport. The rooms are surrounded by gardens, grasses, and blooming plants. I stayed in the Cottage, a two bedroom bungalow toward the rear of the property that included a kitchenette. The other rooms are located in the main house. I was shown the Victoria room and it would have justified her presence. The staff are all very polite and ready to assist. They look after the guests without being overbearing. The restaurant served a very good Red Snapper and the bar is always open. In fact, the staff is on 24-hour call to serve. I highly recommend the House of Waine. If you have never been to Kenya then a hired automobile will be necessary.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Probably going to need a taxi
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Omache, General Manager at House of Waine
Responded Aug 5, 2021
Dear William, Thank you for taking your time to review our luxurious boutique hotel. The Cottage is our piece de resistance and we are glad that you got to stay and experience the serenity we offer. Our environs as you have perfectly summarized is kept in pristine conditions and we do our best to ensure that guests get the full African vibe and experience. The hotel proximity to the airport has also been made more accessible through the newly built and completed express highway that links the airport road and the great southern bypass which reduces the travel time to the hotel. Our service staff are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that the service rendered to you was satisfactory in the true spirit of modern Africa as our hotel motto reads. We are always ready to serve and would be ecstatic to host you once again in the coming future. Much appreciation for your recommendation of our hotel. From all of us at the House, Karibu Tena Sana (You're always welcome). House of Waine Family.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$494 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
house of waine hotel nairobi, hotel of waine, of waine hotel
LOCATION
KenyaNairobi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about House of Waine
Which popular attractions are close to House of Waine?
Nearby attractions include Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (3.9 miles), Giraffe Centre (2.2 miles), and Nairobi National Park (4.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at House of Waine?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at House of Waine?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at House of Waine?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at House of Waine?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to House of Waine?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tamarind Restaurant, The Talisman Restaurant, and Tamambo Karen Blixen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at House of Waine?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does House of Waine have an airport shuttle?
Yes, House of Waine offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does House of Waine have airport transportation?
Yes, House of Waine offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at House of Waine?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does House of Waine offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.