We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Karen Country Lodge

Save
Traveler (54)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (8)
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good18%
  • Average0%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Hot Tub
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Karen Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
66
17
0
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
66
17
0
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesgreat accommodationhuge bathroomrooms are lovelyone night stayserene environmentgreat place to stayelephant orphanagehome away from homebusiness tripweddingfireplacekclgueststubsecurityprivacy
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 91 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2016

Three of us called in for lunch and were disappointed. The food took nearly an hour to arrive and was below average in quality - despite our being the only people there. The interior was in darkness. We sat outside, under a large cover that...More

Thank SimonF1950
Response from Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country LodgeResponded December 20, 2016

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are highly appreciated We have always received great comments concerning our food and venue. Please accept our sincere apology for your experience. On that particular day we were experiencing a slight electrical fault.I would like to assure that...More

Reviewed November 29, 2016

I had a one-night stay at the Karen Country Lodge and found it to be a delightful area and a spacious and comfortable cottage. It was a last minute reservation due to arriving back in Nairobi a day early from a safari. The cottage had...More

Thank photoguyUpstateNY
Response from Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country LodgeResponded December 4, 2016

Thank you for your feedback about your stay in our boutique cottages We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your entire stay. It was a pleasure hosting you We apologise for the mishaps that you saw and experienced and these are things that we...More

Reviewed November 23, 2016

My wife and I had our wedding reception here, and our experience was amazing from start to finish. Dealing with KCL was easy, the staff are friendly and eager to help, and the rates were reasonable. The grounds are beautiful, secluded, serene. The rooms are...More

Thank Robert R
Response from Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country LodgeResponded November 30, 2016

Dear Robert, We appreciate you positive feedback about your wedding experience with us. We hope its not too late to say Congratulations on your wedding It was a pleasure hosting your special day Thank you for the compliments about our great staff, reasonable prices and...More

Reviewed November 4, 2016

Upon arrival at close to midnight after just arriving after 17 hours of flying and without Kenya Shillings, it was suggested that we might want to take a tour the next morning to the Karen Blixen house, a giraffe refuge and elephant orphanage. We were...More

Thank sherdenacofield
Response from Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country LodgeResponded December 27, 2016

Dear Sherdena, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our boutique cottages It was very unfortunate that this happened however we as Karen Country Lodge would like to let you know that the day excursions are...More

Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days on a business trip. Beautiful and tranquil. Rooms at the residence are clean and well equipped. Warm water bottle provided in your bed on chilly nights. Board room facilities up to standard except the wi-fi which couldn't connect in the...More

1  Thank OdeliahS
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Conference Facilities
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Business Center with Internet Access
Self-Serve Laundry
Babysitting
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
$199 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms, Kitchenette
Details
Price range
$199 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (54)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (8)
Business Center & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MikeVarel
May 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jedidah N | Property representative |
Hi Mike .Thanks for this question. No we do not have a gym however as Victor recommended we have a place nearby with a gym and swimming pool that we can recommend.
0
Votes
Deb W
July 17, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Skibumdude | Reviewed this property |
We also traveled with OAT and stayed at the lodge. Our flight, on a small 12 seater did not leave until mid afternoon. Our group of 8 went to the giraffe refuge, baby elephant orphanage and the Karen Blixen home/museum. The... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"The cottages by the lake have a beautiful view."
Read review
"Lodges 5 and 6 overlook the lake"
Read review
"I had room 1 lay's as last on a row of 5"
Read review
"Try to get a room overlooking the pond"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing