We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hemingways Nairobi

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hemingways Nairobi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 357: English reviews
South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is fairly new and very well appointment. Set in beautiful gardens, the hotel is reminiscent of a bygone era. The colonial references and atmosphere are very evident. The rooms are beautifully appointed with great attention to detail and have the most luxurious bathrooms. Our room had a lovely view across to the Ngong Mountains of 'Out of Africa'... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Jenny M We have noted your comments about the food during your stay and will look into it. We are glad however that the rest of the experience was a pleasant one. We hope to see you again at Hemingways Nairobi. Regards Simon H More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

On the 12th Sep 2016 my husband and I wanted to treat my mother, whom had just arrived to Kenya, to a relaxing Sunday lunch. I will never forget the way we were treated my the staff at the gate. We arrived at the gate and told that we cannot enter the grounds as the restaurant was fully booked, disappointed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tee L
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Tee L Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are extremely disappointed to read it particularly due to the fact that we go to great lengths to consistently provide an exceptional experience for all our guests. In this instance it is true that we were fully booked and were busy with private functions as well... More 

Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Arrived after 1130 PM. Security was very evident. Personal and speedy check in. Escorted by golf cart to room. Room quickly explained. Huge bath. Fully stocked bar. All features you would expect for a five star property. Breakfast was outstanding. Very professional property and staff. Only one drawback is the distance from airport, but at 11:00 PM traffic was not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank zouavepa
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear zouavepa Your review heading aptly describes Hemingways Nairobi. Thank you for your appreciation of this; we are delighted! We hope you will visit us again. Best regards Simon H More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Clearly encountered manager on a bad hair day. She couldnt have been more rude or insulting. Made my family feel totally unwelcome, and as if I should be grateful they let us in the gate. Giraffe Manor is a much better option - better service, magnificent staff and giraffes in the front yard. Much better

Helpful?
Thank awbale
Chicago
Level Contributor
284 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wish I had longer to enjoy Hemingways! We were on a tight schedule anyway and a delayed flight meant that we only had a very short overnight here. But it was enough to realize what a great place this is. Gorgeous lobby and common areas in a very upscale, colonial-yet-modern style. Nice breakfast (could have a few more vegetarian... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sunny77777
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Sunny77777 Our location is indeed great for flights both from Wilson and with the new bypass from JKIA too.I am glad to note that you enjoyed the stay and hopefully you will get the opportunity to return for a more leisurely visit. Best regards Simon H More 

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

absolutely amazing serene place to be … The rooms were morden and comfortable.. love the closet bathroom combo.. I must say the tv in the trunk trick was a first for me :) .. we loved every minute.. would have loved a dip in the pool but unfortunately it ws a little too cold for that … If you and... More 

Helpful?
Thank fromAfrica75
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear fromAfrica75 We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that it provided an opportunity to relax; please do visit us again next time you are in Nairobi. Regards Simon H More 

Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have traveled with my husband for many years. As a diplomat, his work has led us to many beautiful hotels all over the world, but this August, Hemingways became our new favorite! It's architecture is open, full of light, airy and spacious, elegantly beautiful, though not pretentious, with lovely vistas of quiet, green gardens and rolling hills. The peace,... More 

Helpful?
Thank hr16494
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear hr16494 It was an absolute delight to have you stay with us as well as read your glowing review and kind sentiments. Thank you for the opportunity to be of service and we are very glad indeed that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope that we will see you again soon and in the meantime we wish you... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the hotel is very attractive both from the interior and exterior. the gardens are exciting and the room are comfortable. sure to go back again and experience the rest of the hotel services that i had no chance to. All they say in their site is quite true

Helpful?
Thank emkogi
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear emkogi We look forward to welcoming you again to Hemingways Nairobi and are sure you will enjoy the rest of what we have to offer in this unique property. Thank you for your kind feedback. Regards Simon H More 

Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent six nights at Hemmingways at the end of August beginning of September. It was everything that their website describes it to be. From the moment I arrived, during my stay and the ride back to the airport the staff all treated me like a "queen". Beautiful room with superb bathroom and gorgeous view from the balcony. The service... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank shellb56
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear shelb56 Thank you so much for the great review and for recommending us! We are delighted to learn your six night stay was fantastic. We hope you will be able to stay again. All the best, Simon H More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was a welcome accommodation after the flights from the US. The views of the property and gardens are beautiful and the room was comfortable and well decorated. I enjoyed having a soak in the bath tub very much as well. Loved the Sheldricks/elephant decor and themes of the suites.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Michelle D Our gardens and views are indeed amazing and I am glad you enjoyed them and your stay. Regards Simon H More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

293 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (266)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boma Nairobi
#5 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#8 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, Hemingways Nairobi has a sophisticated and tranquil ambiance. Set between Nairobi National Park and the foot of the Ngong Hills, Hemingways Nairobi is an exclusive 5* luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen far from the bustle of central Nairobi. An all-suite property providing full butler service, a brasserie, a sunset bar and lounge and a spa, this plantation style property is perfectly placed for trips to Nairobi National Park, the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust and the capital. Each of the 45 suites is a generous size with en-suite bathrooms with walk-in closets, personalised mini bars, and a private terrace with magnificent views of the iconic Ngong Hills. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Address: Mbagathi Ridge | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $324 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay