We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Safari Park Hotel & Casino

Save
Share
Thika Road, Kasarani P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi Kenya
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$203
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/04/22
Booking.com
$164
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
$203
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/04/22
Priceline$164
Hotels.com$203
ZenHotels.com$219
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (621)
Room & Suite (109)
Pool & Beach (64)

About

#48 of 362 in Nairobi
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.0
Value
3.6
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 40 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Casino and Gambling
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Charming
686Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 209
  • 296
  • 114
  • 44
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bettie G wrote a review May 10
Kiambu, Kenya46 contributions1 helpful vote
Currently attending a few days of meetings at the hotel. I haven't visited for many years and was surprised by state of the hotel. The hotel sits on a big property, several of the others guests commented the space is great for morning walks. Grounds are not well tendered. It's an old hotel that has not benefitted from updates. The meeting rooms while large are musty and got very hot. The room had an old noisy air conditioning unit. The lunch buffet was horrible. The food was lukewarm, and the taste so bland. The chicken consume soup was salted water, the buns that accompanied the soup were cold and hard, almost old. Cafe kigwa the restaurant has old carpeting and is rather dark. The tea time set was OK. The mandazi however were very tasty. The pool had near green water with soil residue settled on the pool floor and dirt everywhere on the sides. Not appealing at all. I Would not recommend the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Park Hotel, Other at Safari Park Hotel & Casino
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Bettie, Greetings from the African Paradise! We greatly appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us, it is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests. I am however sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and for that; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. The hotel continuously strives to be a paradise of comfort; please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns. Thank you once again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Read more
Black Lion wrote a review Jan 2022
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia326 contributions73 helpful votes
Instead of going to the Carnivore, I chose this place for my fam since it had the meats AND a dinner show. I had been here about 7 years before and had a great experience. This time the service was not good. Our server knew it and apologized at the end of our meal. He said he was very busy. I appreciated the apology, but it wasn’t just him. The whole team was slow. When we arrived there was no explanation of how things worked. The salads, sides, etc. came out sporadically and after quite a delay. The meat carvers came by a few times and then basically stopped until I flagged then down multiple times. And this was even with us being one of the tables closest to the grill. I also had to ask them to bring specific things which were on the menu but had not yet been brought to our table. It was very frustrating to have an empty plate for at least 10 minutes in an all-you-can-eat place. My wife ordered a drink and had to go to the bar twice to get it to come. So…the service was a 2/5, while the taste of the food was a 5/5. The show was entertaining. My kids especially liked the acrobats. As a dad and husband, at the end of the day what matters is how much my family enjoys an experience. They had a good time, so I was happy. But, it was not as enjoyable for me. Instead of feeling cared for, I felt like I had to speak up all night to get the experience we paid for. An average rating would take away form the performers, so I’ll round up to a 4.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Park Hotel, Other at Safari Park Hotel & Casino
Responded Feb 11, 2022
Greetings from the African Paradise, we thank you for the candid review of your recent visit at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us; as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We have noted your concern and apologize for the slow service, our human resource department has taken note and action will be taken. An investigation will also been conducted to know what happened, kindly let us know the exact day of dinner. I hope that I can convince you to change your mind and plan another visit to our property. Please reach out to me directly through pr@safariparkhotel.co.ke.Kindly give us a chance to turn your experience around, it would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back and give you and your family a memorable experience.
Read more
Klafoodie wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Stayed 8 nights for meetings. The Guest Relations team at the entrance are phenomenal. The porter Paul Mwaka went out of his way to accommodate my special requests, was very attentive to the point of taking notes to make sure he got things right. Daniel too was very kind and supportive and whatever may not have gone quite right was somehow made better by this team. The laundry team also took care of my clothes with special needs. Restaurant chefs at the meat feast restaurant are also very friendly and make you feel at home. I would return thanks to this team's positive energy and warmth.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: I misplaced my key and was threatened with a $10 fine by receptionist and yet my European...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Park Hotel, Other at Safari Park Hotel & Casino
Responded Nov 12, 2021
Greetings from Safari Park Hotel. Thank you for the detailed review, we are glad your stay was memorable. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. #keepsafe
Read more
CarinaSkauenborg wrote a review Sep 2021
Odense, Denmark8 contributions2 helpful votes
Really beautiful hotel, the area is very green and the pool beautiful. Rooms are nice, bed is a bit hard and the water in the bathroom didn’t get warm - but nothing that affected our stay negatively. Also a very nice gym. We enjoyed our two nights at Safari Park a lot. The staff was always helpful and very welcoming!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Park Hotel, Other at Safari Park Hotel & Casino
Responded Oct 9, 2021
Greetings from the African Paradise! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We have noted your concern and rectified the water heating issue, we also have soft mattresses which are availed upon request. However, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Read more
MRSlowLoris wrote a review Jul 2021
Nairobi, Kenya122 contributions73 helpful votes
The hotel is beautiful, a former British officer club in its own large gardens. The rooms are large and comfortable and you have plenty entertainment and good food options. The hotel caters to tourists. It's located a bit off the beaten path but if you plan to primarily relax and stay in its ideal.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Park Hotel, Other at Safari Park Hotel & Casino
Responded Oct 9, 2021
Greetings from the African Paradise! Thank you for the great review, we look forward to hosting you again. Stay Safe...
Read more
Dee. wrote a review Jun 2021
Nairobi, Kenya3 contributions
Will start with a positive review,the ambience is to die.However,the food was horrible! We ordered sirloin steak,pork chops and fried chicken from cafe kigwa,the meats were not tasty at all,poorly marinated, incredibly tough and the portions were just plain mean. Good gesture they replaced our meats when we complained but there wasn’t much improvement in the quality. The waiters were okay and helpful. Access to the restaurant could be made better for wheel chair clients . Ramps are very few and the ones available takes a longer route. We had a baby stroller and struggled with access into the restaurant. The management has also not responded to our complaint several weeks later
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Park Hotel, Other at Safari Park Hotel & Casino
Responded Jul 6, 2021
Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your visit and indeed pleased to read that you enjoyed the ambience. We are very sorry to hear that several things during the visit did not meet your expectations and will surely work towards the concerns raised. However, we tried calling you and not able to reach you, we will keep trying to reach you and hopefully regain your confidence.
Read more
Ann Wanjiru wrote a review Apr 2021
Nairobi, Kenya8 contributions15 helpful votes
Dirty rooms on check in, very uncomfortable beds, residents don't enjoy spa and gym services they have lots of paid up members who fill the place all day, covid protocols generally ignored, then after staying with them 6 nights notified booking.com that I was never there, simply because I told their Front Office Manager that I was dissatisfied..... . Can't have a massage in peace too much noise around, demoralized waiters complaining about management all the time, water drops on the floor in the bathroom very dangerous. Place needs a total overhaul. Been there several times before but this time was terrible..
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Park Hotel, Other at Safari Park Hotel & Casino
Responded Apr 21, 2021
Greetings from the African Paradise. Thank you for choosing us as your destination and taking the time to review us. The hotel has been constantly renovating so as to ensure a paradise of comfort is available to all our guests. We have noted your concern on the beds, all rooms have high density mattresses, however, soft mattresses are available upon request. Action has also been taken in the spa area to ensure comfort for all. We always strive to ensure that we offer unmatched superior services to all our clients. We however apologize for the inconvenience caused and look forward to hosting you once more.
Read more
Adventure hope wrote a review Dec 2020
Kampala, Uganda3 contributions
I booked to spend a weekend at SAFARI PARK HOTEL KENYA with my husband for his birthday in August 2020. Before i even moved to my room to unpack i asked to speak to the restaurant manager to book for a nice birthday dinner for my husband. We spent 40mins going through the menu, the drinks, I asked for a cake a bottle of champagne and identified the table that should be set for us. So the final day comes, me and my husband spend time at the pool, had a light meal for lunch because we were preparing for the amazing dinner. Oh my Lord, I got the shock of my life when we came down to the restaurant and apparently “THEY FORGOT “ I couldn’t believe it. Nothing was made. there was no cake, no champagne no table set I couldn’t stop crying. So we went back to the room all disappointed and had chips for dinner on my husband’s birthday. The next morning i asked to speak to the manager who was not at work so I spoke to the PR manager who advised me to write this on trip advisor, how unbelievable 😱😱😱 So we checked out and went back to our beautiful home and i cooked a nice birthday dinner. I would NEVER EVER GO BACK TO SAFARI PARK HOTEL KENYA. Worst service, forgetful staff, no one picks the call on room service and i had the worst experience ever. Not even the manager called to apologize.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Park Hotel, Other at Safari Park Hotel & Casino
Responded Dec 15, 2020
Dear Keto, Greetings from the African Paradise! We are deeply remorseful about the regrettable experience you had during your stay and would like to take the opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience made. Every comment from our guest is taken very seriously and the issues you mentioned were looked into and handled before your departure, we hope we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence back in the near future.
Read more
Jennifer L wrote a review Feb 2020
South Africa673 contributions199 helpful votes
+1
I stayed here 3 nights for a big workshop, and enjoyed the stay. The hotel (well outside Nairobi city center) is enormous and spread out over large lush grounds, with lots of greenery, different buildings containing rooms, several restaurants, a casino, reception, bars, etc. As we were in all-day meetings we did not leave the hotel grounds, so I appreciated that the grounds were so lush and big, with lovely pools and walking paths (looking more like a resort than a conference hotel). I did get lost continually, despite having a map, but that was an excuse to get in more walking each day. The hotel has a gym, though I did not try it. A highlight was the walking/running trail all the way around the property (about 2km), which was very nice for jogging in the early evening. Breakfast and restaurant meals were fine, with one nice dinner spent at a table next to a large pool on the garden terrace. My room was large and well appointed, with a mini fridge, tea/coffee maker, couch, large bed with mosquito net, good-size bathroom with plenty of hot water, and a lovely large balcony overlooking the gardens (which I sadly didn't have time to enjoy). Wifi usually worked quite well, though was very limited in the conference rooms (probably due to the large number of people on line at once). The staff were all friendly and helpful. I would stay there again, and hope to have more time to enjoy the grounds and pools next time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Park Hotel, Other at Safari Park Hotel & Casino
Responded Feb 28, 2020
Dear Jennifer, Greetings from the African Paradise! Thank you for choosing us as your preferred destination and taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope during your next visit, you will have the time to experience the gym. It is well equipped with a spa, sauna, steam bath,massage options and much more. We look forward to hosting you soon.
Read more
Vivien E wrote a review Feb 2020
Fes25 contributions12 helpful votes
Superbly appointed and with beautiful hotel gardens and my brother and his guests stay there several times a year. We had a delicious Teppanyaki dinner in the Japanese Restaurant. But sad inattention to detail - how can an up market bar not stock even one premium grade Gin? And still display a floor sign saying "Caution - work in Progress" for work completed more than half a day ago!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from SPH254, Public Relations Manager at Safari Park Hotel & Casino
Responded Feb 16, 2020
Dear Vivien, Thank you for visiting us. We thank you for the continued business support. We apologize for the lack of premium gin, however our bar manager assured us that that will not happen again. He intends to ensure the bar stocks are always updated. We have also been renovating the hotel and the roof was being repaired hence the signage being there for 2 days. However, we are glad you enjoyed the gardens and look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$180 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
safari park hotel, safari park nairobi
LOCATION
KenyaNairobi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
203
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Safari Park Hotel & Casino
Which popular attractions are close to Safari Park Hotel & Casino?
Nearby attractions include Hepa Escape Rooms (0.6 miles), TRM - Thika Road Mall (0.6 miles), and Garden City Mall (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Safari Park Hotel & Casino?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Safari Park Hotel & Casino?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Safari Park Hotel & Casino?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Safari Park Hotel & Casino?
Conveniently located restaurants include Java House, Persia Resto Pub & Sheesha Lounge, and Mambo Italia Garden City.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Safari Park Hotel & Casino?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Safari Park Hotel & Casino have airport transportation?
Yes, Safari Park Hotel & Casino offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Safari Park Hotel & Casino?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Safari Park Hotel & Casino?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Safari Park Hotel & Casino offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Safari Park Hotel & Casino?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Dedan Kimathi Statue (5.8 miles) and The Galton-fenzi Memorial (6.0 miles).