We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

LAICO Regency Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
LAICO Regency Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 176: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My company booked me into a hotel down the road which was very poor. Read my review for Chester Hotel & Suites. I decided to take a walk down the road and came across the Laico Regent Hotel. What a score. They showed me the rooms and they are beautiful. Decided to have a meal at the hotel restaurant and... More 

Helpful?
Thank OCD5
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed in some of the best hotels, some OK hotels and some bad ones. The Laico Hotel falls into the category of the latter. Upon arrival, in the evening, all appears fine, but enter your room and there is a lot to be desired. The bed and furniture is old looking. I know that the hotel is trying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucinda M
Laico R, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for taking the time to share your value feedback with us. We greatly appreciate all comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, I regret to see that we have not been able to meet your expectation during your recent... More 

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

Stayed here after arriving in Nairobi, since our normal resort was unavailable. The hotel has very comfortable rooms and the onsite dining is good, although the options were limited. The pool was discolored.

Helpful?
2 Thank Carl W
Laico R, Ag. General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest Thank you for taking your time to submit a review following your recent stay at the hotel. We are humbled by the positive feedback submitted in regards to our rooms and the food. The Executive Chef will look into the issue raised with the food in an effort to ensure the food served is well varied. Rest... More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016

we checked in two weeks ago a group of 4pax after a horrible experience at another hotel..the reception was welcoming and offered the hotels rack rate which was way above our budget but she (ooops cant remember her name well "Nagjat" but she had excellent customer service) then gave us an idea of booking online and we got discounted rates... More 

Helpful?
Thank dawinab20
Laico R, Ag. General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to submit a review following your recent stay at the hotel. According to the review received, it seems you had a memorable experience while at the hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback and Ms. Najat will be complimented for being handy and pleasant . Guest satisfaction is our main concern and we... More 

Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

Carol and her team went out of their way to make sure that we felt welcomed and that we had everything that we needed. This is a beautiful hotel with a great staff. If you are brining in a team of people or just getting away for a night, this is a place you would enjoy.

Helpful?
2 Thank Scottict
Laico R, Ag. General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued Guest Thank you for taking your time to submit a review following your recent stay at the hotel. We are humbled by the positive feedback submitted in regards to your stay. Our promise is to deliver an experience that is worth coming back for. The management also appreciates the positive feedback submitted in regards to Carol and her... More 

Nairobi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

We went there for a non residential one week workshop with my colleagues. Although there is clear evidence from the set up and quality of finish that it was once an elegant establishment, its is currently in a sorry state.The conference rooms we were using had won out carpets, and defaced tables, while the washrooms had granite tiles and toilet... More 

Helpful?
Thank kagiaj
Laico R, Ag. General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate comments made by our guests, as we constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards. We truly appreciate your compliments about our food and pleasant staff, and we are happy to see that you enjoyed a good lunch. We, however... More 

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

Hello Every1 We are travel agents and we were in an inspection trip to Kenya , we have been put by one of the travel companies in Kenya in this hotel in 20 May 2016, it was a very bad experience, we spent 2-3 hours, we could not sleep as rooms were with very old fourniture, dirty and poor customer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gamal E
Laico R, Ag. General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and my apologies for not getting back to you earlier. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, I regret to see that we have not been able to meet your expectation during your stay with us here at Laico Regency, Nairobi. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the discomforting experience. Regarding... More 

Cairo, Egypt
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

Nice Location, needs full renoation , poor customer service, rooms with old fourniture, not clean, poor quality. We are travel agents who have been recently in Kenya for an inspection trip. We cannot recommend to our international customers.

Helpful?
Thank Memphis_Daily_Tours
Laico R, Ag. General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and my apologies for not getting back to you earlier. Our main aim being guest satisfaction and quality delivery, I regret to see that we have not been able to meet your expectation during your stay with us here at Laico Regency, Nairobi. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the discomforting experience. Regarding... More 

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

I was staying at this hotel after about a 7 year gap and it was a disappointment. The hotel is going down. The rooms are not bad except that the decor shows their age. Some renovation work is taking place so it is better to take the lower floors where the fittings have been changed as the hotel seems to... More 

Helpful?
Thank isaac24
Laico R, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review and my apologies for not getting back to you earlier Indeed, we are renovating the rooms and all our facilities are going to be upgraded, gym included I would love to hear from you what has annoyed you about our services, as we are embarking on this as well, but you probably have more... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

I have stayed at the Laico before, although the last time was about 4 years ago. The only difference I noticed this time were the illuminated door numbers, outside the rooms, which also served as "do not disturb" and "make up my room" signs. The Laico is a large, 5-star hotel and has all the usual facilities one would expect:... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cas A
Laico R, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review. Could I ask to communicate your room number to filip.hofman@laicohotels.com, so that we can investigate and solve the problem of the noisy AC. At the same time we can see what you mean with the insufficient illumination As for the food being uninspiring, this is a personal opinion and I have to say that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#29 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Jacaranda Nairobi Hotel
#31 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#40 of 156 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Nairobi and to the LAICO Regency Hotel, offering quality hotel accommodation as well as inspiring conference facilities in Nairobi, Kenya. LAICO Regency is considered among the best Nairobi leisure and business hotels.Perfectly suited for today's traveller, LAICO Regency offers quality service, to ensure guests' comfort at all times within a warm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about LAICO Regency Hotel

Address: Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $184 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LAICO Regency Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fastbooking and HotelTravel.com so you can book your LAICO Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Nairobi
Grand Regency Hotel Nairobi
Regency Hotel Laico
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#26 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#35 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay