We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Fairmont The Norfolk

Show Prices
#4 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fairmont The Norfolk
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

878 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont The Norfolk
See the most recent reviews
Showing 805: English reviews
Bermuda
Level Contributor
402 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2016

This hotel is set in a spectacular setting and the grounds are well maintained. We didn't actually stay but came for 3 different meals. We had lunch around the pool and it was a beautiful day and the service and food were excellent. We than came back 2 days later for dinner for my birthday and had a really nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Di S
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear Di S, Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding your dining experiences at Fairmont The Norfolk. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed the food on all three occasions and the service. Your comments will be the inspiration for others. It was a pleasure to host you and we hope you will give us another... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Love this hotel and everyone there offers exemplary service. Seriously some of the best I have experienced EVER, and I travel about 1/3 of the year for my job and pleasure. North American establishments could certainly learn a lot from the team here (and across Kenya). They couldn't do enough for me, and not just those who met me- all... More 

Helpful?
Thank LJshep
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear LJshep, Thank you for choosing to stay at Fairmont The Norfolk and for posting your review which we value immensely coming from a widely experienced traveler like yourself. The team and I are so delighted to read that you enjoyed your hotel experience and that it was exemplified by the reactiveness of the team. It is always a pleasure... More 

Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2016

What an awesome enclave in central Nairobi, where your entire experience is defined by exceptional service. The old world charm and ambience is amazing. From the minute you cross the threshold you are transported into a whole new world.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank H4245XKrobinb
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear H4245XKrobinb, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to rate us following your recent stay. We are delighted to note that your hotel experience was memorable and that you appreciated the old charm and ambience. The team will be more than inspired to note your kind comments. It was a pleasure to host you... More 

SF, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2016

The Norfolk is a lovely property in the heart of Nairobi, somewhat challenging entrance & parking but beautiful. The public area are well maintained with diligent staff. Guest rooms are very small in size more suited for solo travelers with 1 bag, the bathrooms are poorly designed with bathroom door presenting an obstacle to enter and the sink vanity lacking... More 

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank ChezLinda
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear ChezLinda, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk. The team and I are delighted to read that you found the Hotel a beautiful property in the heart of Nairobi and you appreciated the well maintained public area and the diligent staff. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings experienced by... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2016

The Norfolk is an absolute icon in the history books of Kenya and continues its classic ambience. After a visit to Mauritius though, the high security around entering this hotel from one's Twiga Tours vehicle was confronting, if necessary in the current climate - bomb check of car and luggage, body scanner etc at the front steps. Once inside, reception... More 

Helpful?
Thank twendeni
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear twendeni, Many thanks for your review on Fairmont The Norfolk The team and I are delighted to read that you appreciate the Hotel being an icon and an oasis in the midst of an otherwise hectic city. We are also glad to read that you enjoyed the beautiful courtyard gardens, the swimming pool and the excellent meal at Tatu.... More 

Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Norfolk for two nights while on a Safari in Kenya. The first morning, I woke up to take a shower. I ran the water for what appeared to be a reasonable time, and it didn't seem to get any warmer. I turned the handle the other way, and it just became colder. I called the desk... More 

Helpful?
Thank straehle
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear straehle, Thank you for choosing to stay at Fairmont The Norfolk for two nights during your Safari in Kenya. We also appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at our property and for sharing your concerns. We are glad to read that that the breakfast was good, your room was clean and the staff were friendly. Please... More 

Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2016 via mobile

I only stayed here two nights and have a lot of issues with this hotel. 1. No hot water in the bathroom. I asked them to fix it twice and it is still not fixed. Tried running the water in the bath tub that's separate from the shower; no hot water either and the tub is now filled with sand.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trish H
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear Trish H Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property and for sharing your concerns. We take all our guests’ feedbacks very seriously. Please accept our most sincere apologies for all the above-mentioned shortfalls experienced in the facilities and staff attitude. Remedial steps are being taken to avoid such situations in future. A large... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2016

At 3am (like clock work) for the 3/4 nights they were there, my friends were awoken by an extremely loud banging noise because their room overlooked the loading bay area. Requests to ask for the noise to stop were met by staff who said yes to the request but did nothing. An hour later, the loud banging was still be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cirujm
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear Cirujm, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in our property. We are sorry to read about your disappointing experience during your four-night stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the all shortfalls experienced which is well below our standards. Rest assured that the necessary actions will be taken to ensure that all the... More 

Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2016

Beware that this hotel can deduct amounts from your credit card after checking out without notifying you first, and you'll go through hell till you get a feedback for the reason. The front office team is not helpful at all & don't know anything about customer satisfaction!

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank RWaffa
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear RWaffa, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. Please accept our sincere apology for the lack of feedback from the Front Office Team in regard to charging your credit card without notifying you first; after you had already checked out. Due to the time that you checked out, our night audit had... More 

boston
Level Contributor
191 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2016

It's a bit to a walk through history's and also a lovely place to view photos and see artifacts of Kenya during brittish rule The downside is that is is in the city's with traffic snarls and there are lovely places to sleep That said for history's sake it is worth at least a dinner and a walk through the... More 

Helpful?
Thank marikim
Moshi P, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review

Dear marikim, Thank you for choosing to stay at Fairmont The Norfolk and for taking time to post a review. The team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed the facilities, the history and quaint ambience of this iconic Hotel in Nairobi. We do look forward to an early opportunity to welcome you back. Best regards, Moshi Perera... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

390 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (371)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (106)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (156)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 161 in Nairobi
1,015 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
820 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
1,182 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 161 in Nairobi
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $152 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Jovago.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Fairmont The Norfolk staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont The Norfolk staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The garden bungalows”
 of 5 bubbles B3501GPmichaell, 3 days ago | Read review
“Use google map”
 of 5 bubbles jeffmasanta, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask to have a room overlooking the main courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles Alwaystravels1, 1 week ago | Read review
“If you can afford it, chose a room with a terrace overlooking the grounds”
 of 5 bubbles French_US_13, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for a room with garden view”
 of 5 bubbles Charlotteashanti, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay