We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 200 Kenya
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Fairmont
$184
View deal
Expedia.com$184
Booking.com$184
Hotels.com$184
Priceline$184
Travelocity$184
travelup.com$215
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (603)
Room & Suite (159)
Dining (90)

About

#27 of 366 hotels in Nairobi
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
3.9
CONNECTING YOU TO THE BEST IN THE HEART OF THE CITY Whether passing through on business, or on a Kenyan safari adventure, Fairmont The Norfolk is a peaceful haven for all guests. Since opening its doors in 1904, the secluded gem in the heart of Nairobi has remained a celebrated Kenyan landmark and boasts of 27 luxurious suites and 143 rooms set around tranquil tropical gardens, a modern health club and unique dining facilities. An incredible array of adventures including a visit to the animal park within the city, the elephant orphanage, giraffe centre, national museum and shopping tours await you crowning the hotel’s offering and making each experience an unforgettable memory.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Walking tours
Kids stay free
Babysitting
Free wifi in the business center
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Safe
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili
1430Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 765
  • 453
  • 118
  • 65
  • 29
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
nereida s wrote a review Nov 23
1 contribution
Everything top notch, staff amazing, spa and gym good, on site restaurants just right. convenient location, great security measures, lush landscape, cozy feeling, warmth of the staff was incredible, delightful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Veronique Delattre, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk
Responded 5 days ago
Dear nereidas213, Thank you for sharing such beautiful feedback and letting us know that you received 6-star, top-notch service during your stay with us. It is a joy to know that you appreciated our great spa & gym, our convenient location, great security, lush gardens and amazing & warm team. The team will be so proud to receive your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Veronique Delattre – Cluster Director of Operations & Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle N wrote a review Nov 22
1 contribution
My US-based team and I had a wonderful week-long stay at the recently reopened Fairmont Norfolk hotel. The service was impeccable from the initial inquiry and booking to the speedy Check-in upon arrival and the great service we received! I would like to commend Anne Gitiiya in Reservations, Jackton in Concierge, Sidney at the Restaurant, Cornelius and Margaret at the Reception, Aisha in Housekeeping as well as Elijah in Room service and Joseph for going over and beyond to make sure we had an awesome stay. The hotel's facilities are one thing, but with warm, caring, helpful, and sincere staff, the team at Norfolk will ensure that your stay in Nairobi is memorable! I will certainly be back!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Veronique Delattre, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Y5520TFmichellen, Thank you very much for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience. We are so delighted to read that you were pleased with the excellent service from all members of our exceptional team. It is also a joy to know that the service was impeccable from beginning to end and that the team was warm, caring, helpful and sincere. They will be so excited when we share your feedback especially the team members you have highlighted. Thank you for recommending us to future travellers and we are very excited that you will certainly be back and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Veronique Delattre - Cluster Director of Operations & Fairmont The Norfolk Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda K wrote a review Nov 21
New York City, New York3 contributions
Fairmont The Norfolk is THE hotel you want to stay at while visiting Nairobi! We stayed at this fabulous hotel for 3 nights and would definitely come back. The staff was welcoming and the service was top-tier! Afternoon Tea was one of our many highlights. Everything we ate was decadent and memorable. The bitings were served in a cute mini dresser filled with delicious scones and sandwiches. If afternoon tea isn’t your thing, check out the vibes at their newly renovated Cin Cin bar! They played jazz music all day and their cocktails were crafted really well. Dinner here was also incredible, they offered a mix of International and authentic Kenyan dishes. One morning we ordered room service for breakfast, everything came well-plated and tasty! Also, the WiFi here was pretty good-I was able to work remotely and efficiently! Lastly, the location is very ideal, it truly is in the heart of Nairobi with places like Giraffe Center, The National Nairobi Museum, and the Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage being 30mins away! No need to look further, this is the TOP choice when it comes to hotels in Nairobi.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Veronique Delattre, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Linda K It gives us immense pleasure and gratitude to read the detailed review of your overall wonderful experience with us. Your commentaries regarding our exceptional, top-tier service, ideal location, decadent & memorable food, good wifi, welcoming team and ambience are very much valued. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the afternoon tea and you consider us your top choice of Hotels in Nairobi. Your comments will be shared with our team, who I am certain will be so excited and humbled by your feedback We are delighted to read that you will be back and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future. Kind regards, Veronique Delattre - Cluster Director of Operations & Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thabiso M wrote a review Nov 21
1 contribution
To Ivy Wanjiru Irungu I would like to personally thank you for your 5 star experience. This was my my first spa experience with my mom and the ladies who took care of use gave us a world class massage. I am definitely looking forward to coming again for another great relaxing experience. Thank you Life time client, Thabiso Muthui
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Veronique Delattre, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Thabiso, Thank you for your feedback which is very important to us. What a joy to read that you appreciated your first spa experience with us as a 5-star experience as the massage was world class The team will be so proud to receive your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again for another great relaxing experience. Kind Regards, Veronique Delattre - Cluster Director of Operations & Fairmont The Norfolk Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PAT M wrote a review Nov 21
1 contribution
Dear Fairmont’s Pat.muthui@bck.co.ke My name is Pat Muthui. I have been a loyal member of Fairmont 3 properties since early 90’s. I particularly want to recognize a great experience and great service from your Lead Ivy Wanjiru IRUNGU , time taken to Trip advisor to express my gratitude for Mother Son spa day The quality of communication and the tailored fashion for erstwhile commodified service was fantastically organized. Thanks Madam Ivy my family had great time that they have asked fir a second experience in a few weeks, including our holiday plan in same fashion keep it up. Thanks Pat
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Veronique Delattre, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Pat, Thank you very much for this beautiful feedback! We are so delighted to read that you appreciate the great service, communication, organization and great experience organized by our team; especially Ivy for spa day for you and your son. Ivy and the entire team will be thrilled to receive your positive comments. We look forward to pleasure of welcoming you back. Kind regards, Veronique Delattre - Cluster Director of Operations & Fairmont The Norfolk Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liza W wrote a review Nov 15
Whistler, Canada
We had an amazing stay - the outstanding difference maker at the property were the wonderful team members! Our stay was full of warm interactions and beautiful hospitality from the team, from the point of welcome to the farewell. In particular, Cornelius was a huge help in getting my lost baggage (by the airline) to me very quickly while on Safari and it made a world of difference to my experience - thank you, thank you, thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Veronique Delattre, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Liza W, Thank you very much for the beautiful comment about the wonderful hospitality your received from our team! It is a joy to know that team ensured you had an amazing stay and that your warm interactions with them made the outstanding difference Our entire team and especially Cornelius will be very excited to receive your feedback. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Kind regards, Veronique Delattre - Cluster Director of Operations Fairmont The Norfolk Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meandering + wrote a review Nov 10
1 contribution
Steeped in history (colonial and more pleasant aspects) an exquisite hotel where everything appears to function. The staff is magnificent: professional, attentive and genuinely pleasant. The facilities are immaculate. Dining superb. I spent a week at the hotel while on business in Nairobi. The Cin Cin bar area is excellent for informal meetings all day. For context: I’m a US based frequent traveler: 2022 destinations include Namibia, Morocco, Vietnam, Philippines, Bahrain, Egypt, Qatar, France, Norway, Denmark, Bermuda, Canada. I know my hotels. This is my first ever TripAdvisor review. The staff at the Norfolk deserves the accolades!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Veronique Delattre, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Meandering27, It is a joy to read your feedback that you appreciate our history, find us a perfect oasis, appreciate that everything functions, our facilities are immaculate and the dining superb. We are also delighted that we are your first ever TripAdvisor review. Thank you for letting us know that you were pleased with our magnificent, professional, attentive and genuinely pleasant team that deserves the accolades. They will be thrilled to read your comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again very soon Kind regards, Veronique Delattre – Cluster Director of Operations & Fairmont The Norfolk Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mc A wrote a review Nov 1
2 contributions
Amazing interiors, great guest relations and the stewards are so friendly Mary at the Bar together with Glen and also Qiran, Judy and Ivy from sales team are so hospitable, we can't have enough of this I loved the lobby team to, the rooms that we accessed had everything for business
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Be kind to hotel stewards they handle too many characters 😂😂😂
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Veronique Delattre, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear PhilW, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. What a joy to read that you found us exquisite and enjoyed our amazing interiors, perfect meeting rooms and friendly and hospital team especially the guest relations, stewards, Mary, Glen, Qiran, Judy and Ivy. They will be thrilled to receive your comments. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Veronique Delattre – Cluster Director of Operations & Fairmont The Norfolk Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PhilW wrote a review Oct 2022
Chester, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
A lovely hotel to stay in enroute to a weeks safari in the Masai Mara. We’d booked a deluxe room, which was fabulous, in the older part of the hotel overlooking the garden. The service and food was faultless. However, on our return the following Friday, we were given a standard room in the new wing which was tiny by comparison - even though we’d booked and paid in advance for a de-luxe room. We had to be up at 4 am to catch our flight to an onward & were tired after a 5 am start that day so didn’t give the room much thought. Until we tried to sleep! The room was adjacent to the road and opposite the university. There was music playing loudly and I eventually went to reception & complained about the room. First of all I was told we hadn’t paid for a deluxe room but I could show we had. We were then told that as we’d arrived early they’d given us this room and not the deluxe. Luckily Annie in reception sorted it for us and we transferred to the room we’d originally had o. Our first stay. This was the only sour point about our stay. It would have been better if we’d been advised our room wasn’t ready - that us perfectly understandable - rather than putting us in an obviously inferior and noisy room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the rooms against the road opposite the university - especially on a Friday night.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Veronique Delattre, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Journey43369088693, Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback It is a joy to read that you found the deluxe room fabulous and enjoyed the service and food during your first stay with us. We are however sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your return stay; please accept our sincere apology for this. Rest assured that we have shared your comments with the team, and we will ensure we use this feedback to improve our quality and service and to ensure that you do not experience this lapse in future. We look forward to another opportunity to host you. Regards, Veronique Delattre – Cluster Director of Operations & Fairmont The Norfolk Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Allan and Lizann Barker wrote a review Oct 2022
Darlington, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Norfolk hotel for one day and evening whilst passing through Nairobi. We chose this hotel as our parents had been to this hotel many years ago, in the 50's, long before Nairobi became a bustling modern City. This hotel is full of history, and they have managed to maintain that amazing history whilst keeping the hotel modern and up to date, without compromising its style. This hotel is beautiful with absolutely gorgeous gardens and courtyard to sit in and enjoy a drink and meal. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The service was excellent, food and drinks were excellent, and all of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. So glad we got to experience a piece of our parents history.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Veronique Delattre, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk
Responded Oct 21, 2022
Dear X5533WOallanb, Thank you very much for this beautiful feedback that goes straight to our hearts! We are humbled that you choose to stay with us in memory of your parents who stayed with us in the 1950's and that you appreciated our history and how we have managed to maintain this history while keeping the Hotel modern and up to date without compromising its style. It is a pleasure to read that during your short stay with us you got to experience a piece of your parents history and that you enjoyed the gorgeous gardens & courtyard, the delicious meals, the comfortable & beautiful rooms, the excellent service and the Hotel's beauty and timelessness. The team and I are so proud & humbled to receive your feedback We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Veronique Delattre - Cluster Director of Operations & Fairmont The Norfolk Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$215 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fairmont the norfolk hotel nairobi, fairmont hotel norfolk, norfolk hotel nairobi, fairmont hotel nairobi, norfolk nairobi
LOCATION
KenyaNairobiNairobi Central Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
170
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FAIRMONT THE NORFOLK $184 ($̶2̶6̶4̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Nairobi, Kenya

Frequently Asked Questions about Fairmont The Norfolk
Which popular attractions are close to Fairmont The Norfolk?
Nearby attractions include The Maasai Market (0.3 miles), Kenya National Theatre (0.06 miles), and Snake Park (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairmont The Norfolk?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Fairmont The Norfolk?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Fairmont The Norfolk?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairmont The Norfolk?
Yes, secured parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairmont The Norfolk?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mawimbi Seafood Restaurant, Tatu Restaurant, and Lord Delamere Terrace.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairmont The Norfolk?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Fairmont The Norfolk have airport transportation?
Yes, Fairmont The Norfolk offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Fairmont The Norfolk located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Nairobi.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fairmont The Norfolk?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Fairmont The Norfolk offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.