We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nairobi Serena Hotel

Jumia Travel$182*
View Deal
#4 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$246*
$182*
Great Deal
$225*
$225*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Professional photos
Nairobi Serena Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

861 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 778: English reviews
Start your review of Nairobi Serena Hotel
 Click to rate
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall the Nairobi Serena is a good place to stay in Central Nairobi. The rooms are nice and well appointed, service is generally very good. The check-in / check-out staff seems to be somewhat bothered by clients and sent us from one desk to the other (which was occupied at that time). Then the check in staff informed us happily...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raiber
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. Kindly note that our aim is to exceed our guests' expectation and your feedback is important to us as this will motivate us to improve on our offer and service delivery. In this regard, we appreciate your comment and wish to apologize for not meeting your expectations. However, please note that...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here one night with my fiancé before going to the other Serena's, The room was okay, food is really good and our favorite place was maisha health club.. I really liked the gym very equipped and my fiancé really liked the pool.. overall nice place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindaBlogs
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your short stay and that our offer and service delivery met with your satisfaction. We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you, hopefully, in the not too distant future. Sincerely Daniel Kang'u General Manager Nairobi Serena Hotel

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is comfortable and centrally located with transport and other amenities at hand. The pool and spa are great and rooms come with interesting "handy extras" for travellers(ironing board and mini fridge- to name a few). I loved the mushroom soup at the restaurant and the breakfast had enough options to get a solid take-in before setting off for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadine B
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience. Kindly note that we value every guests' feedback as this motivates us to improve. In this regard, we noted your comment on the door lock and wish to confirm that all the locks will be changed with new ones in the course of renovation before we open the new rooms to...

Reviewed April 8, 2017

A brilliant central place to stay in Nairobi for business and leisure. Management and staff are always at your service and friendly. Fine bars and restaurants for business meetings and leisure. Leisure centre and gym facilities are available to destress after a long day at work. Currently going through a refurbishment programme and certain parts of the hotel can be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh J
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience. Indeed, the team and I are always at the service of our guests and we get inspired to continue to improve when we receive comments such as yours. Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you,...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed April 7, 2017 via mobile

From the minute they pick you up at the Airport in a Mercedes Benz, to the time spent in this hotel, Serena make sure, no stone is left unturned to make their guest feel appreciated, I love returning to this hotel, located in a very leafy environment reminder of old colonial times, you will appreciate the happy hour in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thierry K
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience. Kindly note that every guest is important to us and we are delighted to know that you found our offer and service delivery to your satisfaction. Thank you once again for sharing your experience. We trust that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you during your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 4, 2017

We arrived late evening and our check in was so easy. The staff were friendly and professional. When I was shown to my room I was very surprised to see I had been given a suite. It was beautiful, there were roses on both then tables. The bathroom was perfect as was the small cloakroom off the salon. We needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarisJ1611
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience. Kindly note that we were delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our offer and service delivery met your satisfaction. We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you once again during your next visit to Nairobi. Sincerely Daniel Kang'u General...

Benoni, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed April 3, 2017

I stayed here on 16/11/2016 to 19/11/2016 , after checking out I noticed I was charged upon booking the room and then again on check out. After numerous emails and telecoms, my refund request was fruitless. I have lost US 218, totally not acceptable. Will never support any Serena Hotel again. These were my contacts - Daniel Kangu , Glory...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marius S
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. Kindly note that it is our aim to exceed out guests' expectations and your feedback is important as this will inspire us to improve. In this regard, we sincerely regret about the delay on your refund. However, please note that the refund was done to your card on 21 December, 2016...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed April 3, 2017

The location of the hotel is so nice not in the middle of the city.Very quiet and nice rooms though the are doing expansion due to the high demand of classic rooms in Nairobi city.The business meetings at your convinience and at the same time relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wachira44
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the time taken to share your experience, following your recent stay. Kindly note that we value guests' feedback as this motivates us to improve. in this regard, we appreciate your high rating and look forward to welcoming you once again, hopefully, in the not too distant future. Sincerely Daniel Kang'u General Manager Nairobi Serena Hotel

Reviewed April 1, 2017 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel 2 years in a row and stay 2 to 3 days before heading out to Tsavo for our yearly visit to the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust orphans and ex orphans. We are usually in a group of about six people and on our two trips they put us all in rooms that were closest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lounett M
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. Kindly note that our aim is to surpass our guests' expectations and your feedback is important as this will inspire us to improve. In this regard, we sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had with our staff during check-out. Please note that this is an isolated case and not...

Benoni
Reviewed March 29, 2017

It's been around for years but still one of the best hotels in town. The staff are the best especially as check in. For all the smokers out there you must book here, they have a wig for us smokers and the rooms are still fresh. All room have windows that open, other hotels take note! Great wi-fi as always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Nairobi Serena Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. Kindly note that every guest is important to us and we were delighted to host you during your stay. We are also glad that you found our offer to your satisfaction and look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you, hopefully, in the not too distant future. Sincerely...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

362 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (332)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
2:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (126)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
950 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,250 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Justly famed for its exceptional standards of efficiency, service and five-star hospitality, the elegantly sophisticated Nairobi Serena Hotel is a member of the 'Leading Hotels of the World'. Despite its pivotal central hotel location in Nairobi, Kenya, the Nairobi Serena remains true to its title and offers an oasis of serenity amidst the bustle of one of Africa's most vibrant capital cities. Offering a wide range of dining experiences, The Nairobi Serena is also renowned for its 'Mandhari' fine-dining restaurant, which is universally acknowledged as one of Kenya's finest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nairobi Serena Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $205 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Nairobi Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Nairobi Serena Hotel staff and other travelers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Nairobi Serena Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose on the opposite side of the construction are rooms are quieter.”
716dineshj, Apr 8, 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have a great view of the adjacent leisure park.”
Wachira44, Apr 3, 2017 | Read review
“If you are a smoker book here, great place all rounf”
465PeterB, Mar 29, 2017 | Read review
“With a small garden.”
pradipkumarp, Feb 17, 2017 | Read review
“I always recommend the Garden Suites with access to an own enclosed little garden and and exit gate to the main gardens and pool”
Safariafficionado, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Jumia Travel
$182* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$225
Hotels.com$225
Cancelon$246
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates