We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

InterContinental Nairobi

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
InterContinental Nairobi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

913 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 829: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Customer Service & Any of the Hotel Services – 5 Star Very attentive, friendly and helpful staff. I have dealt with so many people at the hotel, you can say the hotel is doing something right. You can expect a consistent high quality service from every single staff and the warm friendly helpful experience. Security – 5 star Hotel security...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GodwinT3
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear GodwinT3, Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us. It was a great pleasure hosting you. I am glad to receive the most comprehensive review about our hotel and services on Trip Advisor. It is great to learn that you were able to patronize most areas of our hotel. Your kind words on our...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel may be an old property but the comfort and the treatment you get is Excellent... Awesome food - especially at the Indian Restaurant "Bhandini"... Very Welcoming and Charming staff... Genuine or Not - Just let them know a problem and see the response, they will go to their level best to bring you back to your comfort zone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SumeetKAUSHAL
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear SumeetKAUSHAL, Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with us here on Trip Advisor. It was a great joy hosting you. I am proud to learn that you enjoyed our delightful Indian Cuisine in Bhandini Restaurant as well as our colleagues’ exceptional service. Thank you for your kind remarks. The team and I always strive...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Intercontinental in Nairobi is located right in the centre of the city, next to the Uhuru Park. Normal drive time from the airport should be 30 mins, though it took me over 2.5 hours to reach the hotel, thanks to a local event blocking the traffic. The hotel has nice large rooms. My stay was quite comfortable. The breakfast spread...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anas W
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Anas W, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your view on your recent stay. It was a great pleasure hosting you. It gives me joy to receive wonderful annotations on the location of our hotel and comfort of facilities. I am proud to hear that you enjoyed our delightful and diverse breakfast as well as...

Amman, Jordan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was on a business trip to Nairobi, and stayed in intercontinental Nairobi for five nights. Unfortunately this was the worst five stars hotel experience I ever had. The hotel overall needs maintenance. The room was noisy even if you close the windows, and room's furniture is old and dirty. For the breakfast also was terrible, and it's hard to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordanian_explorer
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Jordanian_explorer, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We truly value your comments since this is one of the most efficient ways to make it possible for us to constantly improve on our services. I deeply regret to note that this stay did not meet your expectations as a consequence of the condition...

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had dinner here and although it was Indian food, with a mixed group, we opted for no red pepper. the food was still as tasty. We didn't have a chance to see the menu but whatever was chosen was great. The Naan was soft, chicken tender and water sparkling. While it was not ideal for children in their hyper years,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia256
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Sylvia256, I am so pleased to receive your review about your recent stay. It was a pleasure hosting you. It is a great joy to receive positive feedback on your experience and happy to note that you enjoyed our delightful Indian Cuisine at the Bhandini Restaurant. Thank you for appreciating our welcoming and helpful team. I am grateful for...

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just checked out for a quick night stay but felt the urge to drop a quick commentbefore the names of these amazing and very hospitable team members fades away Had such a nice pick up from the airport by Pete, upon check in i was thrilled by Ms Sylvia very hospitable and charming she went out of her way ensuring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PamBen85
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear PamBen85, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. It was a great joy hosting you. I am delighted to receive comprehensive and wonderful comments on our colleague’s exceptional service. The team and I are very glad to note that you loved your arrival experience and comfort of your room. At...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a day. The rooms are very dated although clean. Very bad TVs and exhast fans in bathroom didnt work. The Terrace cafe has a good buffet in terms if variety but the taste wasnt anything close to what one could get in a decent restaurant downtown. Excellent security and good staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suhas C
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Suhas C, Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our hotel. It was our joy to have you staying with us. I appreciate your positive comments about a diverse menu at the Terrace Restaurant and the level of security in the hotel. It is our supreme goal to ensure that our guests' stay is comfortable...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There is nothing special about this hotel. Its old and toilet area is too small, since its very old it gives you a not so clean feeling. I slipped in the bath tub. Though i didnt get hurt. They just hang the anti slip mat without informing you that it can be so slippery. Food is average. The only good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sanamars
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear sanamars, Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our hotel. It was a great pleasure hosting you. I am so pleased to know that our colleagues’ service met your expectations. Thank you for your kind words. I note your concerns regarding the condition of our facilities and regret any inconvenience caused to you. An upgrade...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very very slow internet not up too standards and the AC is too old that can't cool up , the internet doesn't work good even in the lobby or the pool area other wise security is too good around the hotel the service is to slow I hope that a hotel as intercontinental be at least average as other intercontinental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saoud a
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear saoud a, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us. I truly value your observations as this enables us to consistently improve on our service delivery. I am pleased to hear that you were able to relax in a secure hotel environment. Your safety and that of our other guests is paramount....

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am on a business trip here and to be honest this is the only hotel in Africa I have stayed in other than South-Africa so I don't have any benchmark. However the security is top notch and taken very seriously. It is well located in the centre of town right by the conference centre. Staff members are always smiling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DazzaB777
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear DazzaB777, Thank you for taking the time to post your review about our hotel. It was a great joy hosting you pleased to read that your stay was exceptional in a hotel second to none in Africa. Your fantastic remarks on our colleague’s outstanding service, location of our hotel and level of security are truly encouraging. I have noted...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

425 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (300)
Viewed
Room/Suite (78)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (23)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (125)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 162 in Nairobi
1,040 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 162 in Nairobi
830 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#28 of 162 in Nairobi
1,125 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#17 of 162 in Nairobi
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
InterContinental Nairobi has for years been an oasis of luxury for business travellers as well as those who want to experience the wonders of Africa. The Parliament buildings are a short stroll away, Kenyatta International Convention Centre is right next door and Nairobi National Park, Museum Hill and the Elephant Orphanage are within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Nairobi

Address: City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $152 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your InterContinental Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Intercontinental
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#21 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Nairobi staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Nairobi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Certain floors are refurbished recently. So may be ask for rooms in one of those floors.”
 of 5 bubbles GodwinT3, 6 days ago | Read review
“quiet rooms away from casino!”
 of 5 bubbles MonaB1980, Nov 27, 2016 | Read review
“Outstanding Service Just ask if any assistant required”
 of 5 bubbles magam123, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“Get one to the right side of the hotel, the higher numbers on each floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 329willardt, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“any room located on higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles Fredito67, Sep 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay