We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Emakoko

Certificate of Excellence
P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Emakoko
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Emakoko
See the most recent reviews
Showing 139: English reviews
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

After a long voyage from Canada, first time landing on the African continent, not knowing what to expect in general....driving in the pitch dark....the lovely Emakoko lodge and villas were much welcomed. The greeting party of Anton and company (hippo included!) made a nice end to the wild ride through the national park's incredibly bumpy roads known as the African... More 

Helpful?
Thank SaraM992
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Not far from the airport, yet another world entirely. Tons of wildlife, fabulous luxury villas. A long hot bath (with views!) was super after our long trip. Free wifi in the lodge. Anton and Emma and the staff are excellent and great fun. Food was delicious and we highly recommend Emakoko if you are flying in or out of Nairobi.... More 

Helpful?
Thank marilyn f
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We stopped over at the Emakoko Lodge to acclimatize after our flight from Houston, Texas, for a couple of days before we began our safari on the Mara Plain in southern Kenya. Emakoko is located south of Nairobi into the side of a valley on the Mbagathi River, which borders the Nairobi National Park. It is very convenient to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler595
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We arrived from a 6 day tented safari, to spend the last few nights of our Kenyan stay near to Nairobi airport, and with the ability to have game drives within Nairobi National park as well. The Emakoko is a luxurious lodge/hotel with large rooms and balconies with wildlife within touching distance. We even had a hippo visit on our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glass1010
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Within half an hour of landing in Nairobi we were inside the National Park, quiet, tranquil, so hard to imagine we were just outside a City. We saw a zebra within minutes, followed by beautiful eagles. It was just the most wonderful introduction to our African holiday, especially for our 10y.o daughter. We saw many animals on our reasonably short... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pasqualina B
Bethesda
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Emakoko is within an hour from busy Nairobi airport and a very congested area within Nairobi National Park. Within minutes of entering the park, I saw giraffes, zebras, impalas and rhinos! The lodge itself is quite luxurious - I had a very spacious room with shower, bathtub and toilet with all of the amenities. The food is wonderful and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Saul P
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Nairobi National Park is possibly one of the most under rated natural areas in Africa - and we are constantly surprised by how much we see on a daily basis. We are so pleased that you managed to enjoy the park and the lodge. Many thanks, Emma & Anthony More 

Glenshaw, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
266 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

When we arrived in Kenya & were driven to Emakoko, it was the start of a tremendous vacation experience. Little did we know then that our 3 night stay @ Emakoko @ the end of our trip would provide a stunning finale. Arriving @ Emakoko via the National Park is a real treat. The many animals that are in residence... More 

Helpful?
Thank merlinsurrietrekker
Anthony C, Manager at The Emakoko, responded to this review

What a lovely review - thank you so much and happy anniversary. I am so sorry we never met and will pass on your review to 'Mama Rachel'. Many thanks, Emma & Anthony More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

After 10 days in the bush staying at great camps that afforded great but limiting bucket showers it was great to arrive at such a beautiful spot with unlimited hot water! Tucked in the corner of Nairobi national park, 25 minutes from a bustling population of 4 million you would think you were in the remotest part of Kenya. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank John890000
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and enormous apologies for our uninvited guests in the middle of dinner (buffalo bar brawl)! We thoroughly enjoyed having you here to stay, and hope we meet again. Many thanks, Emma & Anthony More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

Imagine being inside a game park within an hour, having the park to yourself in the early morning and evening. Imagine an ice cold coktail, good food, amazing rooms....all within that hour from central Nairobi. The Emakoko has done it, created a safe haven away from the nightmare traffic, clogged roads and bustle of city life. We stayed one night,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Damon A
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we really enjoyed having you here and wished you had stayed longer. Karibu Tena! Emma & Anthony More 

Sea Ranch, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

The setting of this lodge is lovely, on the border of the Nairobi National Park in a ravine studded with acacia trees and wildlife free to roam the grounds. However, after 20 hours of travel time, a hot shower was in order and unfortunately, all we had was cold water. Our room, while spacious, had a resident spider, a grasshopper,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luxvagabond
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and letting us know of the problems you encountered - hot water is an absolute basic and enormous apologies that you did not have any. We investigated the matter and could not see where the problem was, other than the taps were not labelled at all. A guest staying in that same room highlighted this... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#17 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Emakoko is a 20 bed lodge bordering Nairobi national park, only 25 minutes from all the main city airports & attractions. The Emakoko allows people to start and finish their safari in the wild environment they have travelled to enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Emakoko

Address: P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $629 - $1,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Emakoko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay