We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
South of Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509 Kenya
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams$431
Priceline$431
Agoda.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (398)
Dining (49)
Room & Suite (29)

About

#3 of 427 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.9
Value
4.6
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Shuttle bus service
Baggage storage
Outdoor fireplace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
Languages Spoken
English
289Reviews0Q+A65Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 250
  • 21
  • 8
  • 3
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
kwarrentravel wrote a review Aug 11
5 contributions
The views and setting of this lodge are unrivaled, with the big 5 on your doorstep! The staff are wonderful and welcoming and the owner Joanna makes you feel most at home. We stayed in the large stable cottage which is very comfortable. There is also an organic farm at the property where the kids can get involved collecting eggs and milking the cows if they so wish. The farm provides most of the produce for the amazing meals provided!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Don W wrote a review Aug 10
21 contributions5 helpful votes
Near the airport so huge jets during the night. If you have problems sleeping, avoid this lodge. In the middle of Kenya game preserve so a convenient way to see many animals. On first day, saw black and white rhinos. Food about average for this level lodge, but staff not, and room maintenance lacking. (Missing light bulb, window operater, and main screen closure, zipper was broken). Porters did not offer to carry our hand luggage over the swinging bridge at the entrance, or up the significant climb. Medicare wine list. View and ambience terrific. Don Waters
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sara M wrote a review Aug 4
Moka1 contribution2 helpful votes
+1
We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 nights at Ololo! We got a tour of the farm, escorted walks in the bush, beautiful meals by the pool, and of course fabulous game drives!! We were so impressed with how hard working the staff was, as well as friendly and happy
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
FellowTraveler596943 wrote a review Aug 2
Nashville, Tennessee2 contributions
Returning to Ololo, after a three year pause in international travel was worth the wait. A wonderful homecoming… the Chapman family, and loyal, dedicated team always ensure that every moment is magical. You alight the carriage, (Land Cruiser) on the edge of Nairobi Park, cross a magical bridge, and ascend to the most amazing sanctuary - daily gastronomical delights that are largely sourced right from the farm, welcoming, lovely accommodations; caring staff … did I mention Fred, the energetic Golden Retriever? It has only been a few weeks since I’ve left Ololo, and am so anxious to return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kirsten D wrote a review Jul 2022
11 contributions
I have stayed her three times and love it more with each stay. I had a group of 12 with me, and everyone loved Ololo! The location, food, and decor are incredible. Our safari guide was amazing, and the staff is some of the best in Kenya. We saw so many lions and cubs and had many close encounters at night after the park was closed and only the lodge vehicles were in the park. The Ololo Farm is really a special part of the stay and experience as well. I look forward to returning again in the future, and I know several in my group hope to as well. The only thing that isn't great is the noise of the planes at night. It seems the lodge is now directly in the flight path. This is unfortunate and reminds you that you are still in the "city" though hidden in this oasis at the National Park. I still think its the best place to stay for a luxury experience and great safari for the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All the rooms are incredible and well designed. I have stayed in the stable cottages as well as...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sjm4oh1 wrote a review Jul 2022
Boca Raton, Florida62 contributions79 helpful votes
Unfortunately we only stayed one night at the lodge before we began our safari because we loved it so much. It's so beautiful, the staff couldn't have been more accommodating and the food was great. We were joined by a nosy baboon as we had lunch on the lawn. We were granted a tour of the organic farm (watched them pick the greens for our lunch salad) and grounds. There were two safaris/day in Nairobi National Park - we went on the night safari- and were surprised at how terrific it was.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
reem m wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Horrible experience, never in my life have been treated in this way. Very unprofessional team and saying unacceptable words to the guests and failing to contain a situation of distress while their guests ahd to wait for very long time by the gate of the national park. They switched off the phone in the middle of the call, and instructed the driver to be very unresponsive with us and they instructed him to send us back to the gate and saying that ololo wants peace not noise ! I was appalled by the way they treat their guests and managed situations of misunderstanding or distress.. honestly a horrible experience. The situation was terribly bad and stressful that my toddler ended up vomiting.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joanna Chapman, Owner at Ololo Safari Lodge
Responded Jul 4, 2022
This review gives us the opportunity to emphasise the policy we have at Ololo. We do not accept verbal abuse or intimidation towards our staff by guests. This extends to our driver guides who are collecting/transferring guests to Ololo. And yelling down the phone to our reservations desk will not win you any favours either. This has been the first case where we felt in necessary to cancel a booking as we took particular offence at the abusive behaviour not only to our staff, but also the staff at the Nairobi National Park main gate, who were merely trying to sort out tickets. We take great pride at Ololo Lodge in giving our guests an amazing experience. The previous Trip Advisor comments pay homage to this. Many comment on the great service, with a friendly smile, that our staff offer every day. But if you arrive with bad attitude, or even aggressive behaviour, then you will be immediately out of place.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karim M wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
I don’t advise to anyone to go to this place, we were ill-treated by the management of the place upon arrival, the driver who came to find us at the national park was ordered not to communicate with us, the National Park Main gate tried to make us pay the fares of non-residents although we showed our residency, when the Park gate agents did not succeed in bullying us, they communicated with the management of this Ololo Lodge, the management of the hotel just called us while we were almost arriving and spook to us impolitely denying to give us access, me and my wife asked the management of the Lodge to allow us to arrive and take care of our baby who had car sickness, they refused to listen and ordered the driver not to even speak to us, so we were brought back to the main gate of the Park and the management of the hotel refused to refund us the deposit. That’s not the first time that issues like this happen. I would strongly advise against going to this place for the safety and security of your physical and mental well-being.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sue c wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
It’s late afternoon here in Sydney as I cast my mind back to this time of afternoon a few days ago at Ololo sitting, drink in hand, G&T, or even a masala tea depending on my mood – I know not everybody’s idea of a cocktail but it is the best masala tea!. I’m recalling the gentle conversations, while scanning for movement of animals on the hillside opposite in the park. It’s that time of day when smells waft from the kitchen, when the mosquito nets are dropped around the bed and bed turned back ready for slipping into on our return. After many holidays overseas, over many years, I’ve never had a holiday quite like this one, or felt so catered to and looked after. Ololo is truly a family affair, both literal family with Joanna, Craig and their sons, and also what feels like a family with all the staff who are so engaged and delightful. Sons, Jim and Charley organised trips to different places-Masai Mara, Lamu and Cliff House (near Mombassa). It was very reassuring to be going to places that have been tested and tried, and to not have to worry about pick ups or drop-offs or flights. We were linked with guides who are very knowledgeable and brought a rich layer of understanding of animals, as well as culture and the physical environments we found ourselves in. The environment of Ololo is a treat in itself- every room with its own outlook, plantings and intriguing decor, ( Joanna’s unique sensibility). Beyond the buildings is the farm, where there are so many projects happening all at once, and all integrated into a sustainable venture under the hand of Craig and son, George, who are supporting and encouraging young Kenyans to introduce projects and get experience in their fields of study. It was so nice to know that so much of what we ate came directly from the farm. I’m missing the hustle and bustle of the trips into Rongai, the colour, and movement of people, the crazy handmade signs that fire the imagination- (circumcision and ultrasound ‘all part of the one service.) Sydney is feeling very tame by comparison, but I am looking forward, for the first time, to thinking what vegetables I might plant in my garden.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We tried different rooms after each return visit following trips out to different places. Each...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
suzanne b wrote a review Jun 2022
Sydney, Australia8 contributions1 helpful vote
We used this lodge as a base from which to explore Kenya. It’s facilities and warmth made it feel like we were coming home after each excursion. I had been anxious about coming to Africa for the first time. I was picked up and totally looked after, met the gorgeous staff and immediately felt at ease. The food is the best I’ve had anywhere in the world. And eating meals looking out over the expanse of the national park was awesome. Thank you to Craig and Joanna and all the wonderful staff for such care, friendliness and attention to my every need.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$360 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaNairobi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ololo Safari Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Ololo Safari Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (4.2 miles), The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust (4.1 miles), and Aero Club of East Africa (ACEA) (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ololo Safari Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Ololo Safari Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ololo Safari Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ololo Safari Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Carnivore Restaurant, Soaring Eagle Spur - Nairobi, and Aero Club of East Africa Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ololo Safari Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Ololo Safari Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Ololo Safari Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Ololo Safari Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Ololo Safari Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Ololo Safari Lodge?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages (8.7 miles), The Galton-fenzi Memorial (7.2 miles), and Dedan Kimathi Statue (7.4 miles).