We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nairobi Tented Camp

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Nairobi Tented Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nairobi Tented Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 184: English reviews
Christchurch
Reviewed August 21, 2015

We stayed here on the recommendation of friends and were not disappointed. What a unique experience - tents in the middle of Nairobi National Park, surrounded by wildlife with the city skyline in the background. Being escorted to our tent by armed guards - ready to deter any roaming wildlife, water hoisted in a sack up a tree for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelholic8
Jake G, Owner at Nairobi Tented Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on our Nairobi Tented Camp and we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and consider it a unique experience and that you thought the game drives in the Nairobi National Park were wonderful. However we are sorry that you found it so cold in the tent at night. We do put hot...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed August 6, 2015

We were so impressed with this camp. It was our first time away to a property like this with our 1 year old. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, that it really did feel like home. The portions at dinner time seemed a but small but the quality was superb. The tents were very spacious and the bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NAV16
Seattle, WA
Reviewed July 20, 2015

NTC is a wonderful camp and I would recommend to anyone traveling to the area. The accommodations were incredibly comfortable and clean, the meals were great, the gamedrives were excellent – I was so impressed with the knowledge that Andrew has of animals and his attention to this work, what to look for to find certain animals, etc. The entire...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JMTSeattle
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewed July 9, 2015 via mobile

What a lovely surprise to find this comfy, friendly camp so close to the craziness of Nairobi. It is the only camp within the park, so we felt very privileged to be part of such an exclusive group. The staff was very friendly, helpful and considerate. The food was great, lots of fresh fruits and veggies. The tents themselves were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsNana2012
Escondido, California
Reviewed July 6, 2015

My colleague and I had a wonderful time at Nairobi Tented Camp during our stay in March--it was the perfect respite from our busy schedule. From the delicious meals, to the excellent service, the comfy beds, and the amazing game drives—we were so glad we took the time during our business trip to spend two days at your camp in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jowhitman
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed July 3, 2015

It's so hard to imagine being on safari 15 minutes after you clear customs, but that's exactly what we did on our latest trip to Kenya. Our flights were messed up so we lost a night in the camp, but the time we spent was still amazing. We had arranged two visits to Sheldrick to visit our dear ellie fosters...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nutmegmace
Edinburgh
Reviewed July 2, 2015 via mobile

I was In Nairobi with work and it was the perfect add on to go to the Tented Camp for 2 nights. Secluded forest spot, nice tents, lovely sheets, hot water bottle, perfect temp of shower too. Food was delicious, camp fire G&T's perfect and staff good. Safari drives fun - saw everything except leopard! Highly recommend for a night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nkf01
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed June 30, 2015

Nairobi Tented camp(NTC for short) in the Nairobi National Park is the perfect place to relax and de - stress after my usually very hectic business schedule in Nairobi and not to mention endless hours spent in traffic jams !!. Look Nairobi National Park is not the most highly populated Game Park in East Africa but it has an interesting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek H
Reviewed June 17, 2015 via mobile

I never thought tented camp would be so much fun and convenient. They'll provide you with enough resources, like water and electricity. I was staying at tent 9 (the farthest tent they have) and a buffalo was calmly eating and resting next to my tent (what an experience!!!). They have a great room with bathroom, and the staffs were really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed June 3, 2015

The Nairobi Tented Camp, hidden away in a little forest deep inside the Nairobi National Park, must be one of the capital's best kept secrets. As the only accommodation facility inside the park this place deserves to be full every night. Whether on safari or on business, either way can one stay at the camp for the arrival night or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Safariafficionado
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

215 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (194)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
5.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
462 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#15 of 164 in Nairobi
1,239 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
615 reviews
5.4 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 164 in Nairobi
733 reviews
6.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A luxury tented camp situated in a beautiful forested valley in the heart of Nairobi National Park. This 16 bed personal camp is surrounded by wilderness and a park containing a huge variety of wildlife, (lion, rhino, giraffe, etc) only a few kilometres from Nairobi city centre. The most unique spot to stay if you're in Nairobi for a stopover, tourism, conference or on business. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nairobi Tented Camp

Address: Nairobi National Park, Nairobi 00509, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $153 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nairobi Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Nairobi Tented Camp staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Nairobi Tented Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“get front row if poss”
eiryr, Apr 18, 2017 | Read review
“All good except the very back one which has a little noise from the road.”
maryj953, Feb 22, 2017 | Read review
“All tents lovely and private”
fionahawkins, Feb 12, 2017 | Read review
“Each tent has its own charm. Some have single beds; other have double beds.”
DeniseARunge16, Nov 14, 2016 | Read review
“I'm sure all the rooms are great. Nice porch area, comfy bed, flush toilets.”
jennifermG1484JR, Nov 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question