We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Sankara Nairobi

Show Prices
#9 of 156 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sankara Nairobi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

720 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 685: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I keep bringing people here and I don't know why. Possibly the worst service I've had in Nairobi. Never have the wines listed on the menu, attentiveness is non-existent, mixed drinks are no good and food is terrible. No free WiFi to top it off. Honestly if it was not for the location I'd never ever come here again. Even... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location is excellent for restaurants and getting about Nairobi. Quiet side street, heavy security. The breakfast is excellent and the staff all through the hotel is eager to please and very helpful. The bed is comfortable and the Sankara has a pillow menu. The shower is good and the bathroom has lots of counter top and hanging space. All... More 

Helpful?
Thank marigo13
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This place is a dump,stayed for 9 nights in July 2016,rooms are smelly,had to downgrade ,the front desk staff,Anna,Patrick were repeatedly rude and unprofessional,the taxi guys also unprofessional.The hotel is beautiful from the outside,modern but the rooms are dirty and disgusting,never going back there again

Helpful?
Thank Berna B
Mumbai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We were group of 4, two couples, heading for 9 days safari covering Kenya and Tanzania took a 1 day break at this hotel. We landed at about 10 am and reached hotel around 11. Check in was smooth and overall we like this hotel. Few points to note - 1) nice and cozy hotel 2) neat and clean rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank HimanshuNaik
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just finished having dinner. It was my second visit with my girlfriend and what a contrasting service level. Absolutely poor. Came for dinner with a reservation yet we were presented lunch menus. After asking the female waitress if the menu had changed as my girlfriend is a fan of the seared tuna which was not on the menu that was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chandra S
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Chandra, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. We regret that we were unable to meet and exceed your expectations, as we strive to provide each and every guest with an unforgettable experience of the highest standard. At Sankara, we take feedback from our guests very seriously, and service is a... More 

Nairobi Region, Kenya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I enjoyed the bar,the Ambience and the view. Very creative in covering the pool area to make more space. Kudos. Staff very efficient and friendly and offer personal care. But have to improve on their sheesha though. 😊

Helpful?
Thank Wawira K
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Wawira, Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor following your visit to our Sarabi Pool and Supper Club. We are pleased that you had a pleasant experience thanks to our Sankara Stars friendly and courteous service. We have noted your comment about the Sheesha and we are reviewing the matter with the manager and team. We hope... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Everybody is warm at this hotel services with a smile is real here everything is beautiful from the food to the amenities I looooove the gym love working out here...breakfast is my favourite meal time ample parking space and very organised.all time favourite hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Todo L
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Todo, I really appreciate you taking your valuable time to share a review of your Sankara experience with the TripAdvisor community. It is a pleasure to learn that you had a wonderful stay thanks to our staff friendliness, our breakfast offerings, the health club as well as our meticulously organised parking. It is always great to read such lovely... More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If your in town the Sunday brunch is a must. It's set up buffet style with many selections and offer endless champagne. The food was good and they have something for everyone. They also have a live band playing. What really makes this place special, is the hotel itself often houses the celebrities and entertainers that come to town, so... More 

Helpful?
Thank 559dennise
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Dennise, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your Sankara Sunday Brunch experience on TripAdvisor. At Sankara it is our goal to make offer our guests’ memorable experiences and in your case we seem to have achieved that. All of our guests are special to us and it is always a pleasure to learn that... More 

Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2nights at the beginning of our 21 day trip. Comfortable beds, great shower. Good food, also liked the area it is in, closer to the BAPS temple and Diamond plaza , both places we wanted to visit while in Nairobi.

Helpful?
Thank shital1222
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Shital, Thank you for sharing a review of your visit on TripAdvisor. We are glad that your stay was a pleasant one thanks to the comfortable beds, shower, our culinary offering as well as the convenience that our location offers. We are happy that we provided a wonderful beginning your Trip. We look forward to welcoming you back to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the place you wouldn't want to miss on a friday!!the staff is just so welcoming and have excellent services...I remember misplacing my phone and it was Brought to me by the manager and his team ...couldn't be more amazed!!lovely place

Helpful?
Thank Jazmine M
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Jazmine, Thank you for sharing your review of your experience at our Sarabi Pool and Supper club on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you had a chance to experience true hospitality from our team at Sarabi. At Sankara we uphold integrity and we always ensure that our guests and their personal effects are safe at all times I am... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

202 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (164)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#7 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#3 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $228 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay