We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
East Church Road off Rhapta Road, Westlands, Nairobi 00800 Kenya
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com$76
Travelocity$76
Priceline
FindHotel$76
Orbitz.com$76
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (1)
Room & Suite (19)
Pool & Beach (4)

About

#47 of 426 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.8
Value
4.0
These charming and classy apartments create that traditional, warm English pub-style atmosphere absolutely adored by guests. The Gables offer 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, fully furnished and serviced, all with private balconies, with the fresh tropical plants and greenery providing the final touches to your perfect home. A leisure pool with a waterfall, sauna, and bar-be-cue area complete the perfect picture.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast in the room
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Special diet menus
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
11Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 4
  • 4
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
257guy wrote a review May 2022
Somone, Senegal1 contribution
I had made a booking for a couple travelling to Nairobi for their first time together and they were excited to stay at the grand gables. The checkin was smooth and overall experience was great. The issues started at checkout as the lady at the reception hit my friends with a surprise bill of 38 dollars for late checkout. No mention had been made since check in of any checkout time of late checkout fee if one is to checkout past that time. The lady was rude and unwilling to listen even holding the gate closed insisting we pay. The mistake coming from the hotel and whoever handled check in, they eventually accepted and let us out. There needs to be better customer service and clear communication and most of all a certain level of decorum when talking to a client.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure to confirm checkout time
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Matthew L wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Very spacious rooms, great amenities, and friendly staff in a quiet neighborhood still very close to the hectic Westlands and downtown Nairobi areas! A perfect choice for someone wanting to take advantage of being centrally located, but want quiet in the evenings. Walking distance to welcoming bars and restaurants!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ChisTraveller wrote a review Oct 2016
69 contributions45 helpful votes
Fed up with hotels for long stays, we opted for an apartment at The Gables. The location is close enough to the centre of Westlands to walk there. But there are usually taxis almost outside the apartments. Security is good. Guards at the gate24/7. The apartment was spacious. We had a two room apartment. The beds were comfortable and the housekeeping service brisk and thorough. The living room had the kitchen as part of it, but the room was large enough that this didn't cause a problem. The furniture was comfy and reasonably modern. There were plenty of kitchen utensils and anything needed, such as a bigger cooking pot, was soon provided. The TV had the basic satellite channels, but the wifi in our apartment sometimes struggled. Would we go back - yes.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from thegrandgables, General Manager at The Grand Gables
Responded Sep 14, 2019
Dear Sir,, Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. You are our valued Guest and your opinion matters a lot to us, It helps us get better. Thank you for an amazing review. Thank you for highlighting all amazing points that you have mentioned about The Grand Gables We are working closely with our service provider to improve our W-Fi speeds.We Hope to resolve this soon. We look forward to welcoming you back and at the same time creating a memorable experience!
Read more
Toby A wrote a review May 2016
1 contribution
The Gables is safe, secure and comfortable accommodation within easy reach of local shops and restaurants. It is an ideal place to stay for a week, a month or more. Nice little pool within a shaded courtyard allowing respite from the heat on warm days. Friendly and courteous staff.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from thegrandgables, General Manager at The Grand Gables
Responded Nov 18, 2019
Dear Toby A, Thank you so much for the review.We look forward to seeing you more often. Kindly share your experience with your friends and tell them about us.. Kind Regards
Read more
Janet N wrote a review Mar 2016
1 contribution
Very cozy apartments in a serene environment. Once you are in, you don't want to leave, except to the in-house spa! The relaxed ambiance at The Gables is even better now with the introduction of a coffee shop and salon. The staff are friendly and offer very professional service. It's always a joy to be at The Gables!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GABLESGROUP, Manager at The Grand Gables
Responded Mar 21, 2016
Dear Janet Thank you very much for your kind words. Our mission at the Gables Group is to make all our guests happy and comfortable. That is the reason we have new facilities like the Cafe Chumba, to provide breakfast, snacks, drinks and meals, the Gym & Spa to work out and indulge, the Hair salon to groom. Our latest addition is the Conference room for intimate meetings and a multi cuisine Restaurant soon to come. We always give our guests something to smile about with various promotions and discounts. Thank you for choosing the Gables Group and we look forward to hosting you again, very soon! Regards The Gables Group Management
Read more
Lloyd K wrote a review Mar 2016
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
I stayed with my wife at the Gables on vacation, the grounds are beautiful, the staff are really friendly and the management really took care of us and our many guests and late night arrivals. Cleanness was overal well maintained the housekeepers were a delight the security staff were superb and very helpful. Unfortunately the beds were uncomfortable and unusually low in height but we managed it. and we had a minor problem with ants in the kitchen. Overall If your looking for a very secure, reliable, easy accessible from the town, which is extremely competitively affordable; then look no further then The Gables Apartments.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GABLESGROUP, Manager at The Grand Gables
Responded Mar 8, 2016
Dear Lloyd K, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Gables and highly recommend us to your friends and family. We always encourage our guests to give us feedback during their actual stay if they are unhappy with anything. If you had told Management about your beds , we would have been more than happy to change them for you. Your happiness and comfort is our number one priority. Living in the tropics, ants may decide to feast on any food left in the kitchen if the windows are left open, but we quickly and effectively deal with any unwanted guests :) Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you and your friends again! Warm Regards The Management
Read more
Christopher M wrote a review Jul 2015
Nairobi, Kenya1 contribution
When I left Gables , I was sad. I will really miss this place. The people here are so nice and professional in everything they do. Room service is great , the staff are all friendly and read to help. The gym experience at Kings was great as Gym instructors read to help all the time. The environment is quite and very peaceful for ideal stay. And in case you need help from the management the response and turn around time is perfect. You will never be disappointed to stay with Gables, I highly recommend this place
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Like2flyalot wrote a review Aug 2010
London42 contributions62 helpful votes
Stayed here during a family wedding. The accommodation is very good and feels very secure. If 4 of you are staying in the apartment, there isnt enough hot water to bathe more than 2, which was annoying. Management have locked the heating swith so you cant change it. Also I didnt like the beds, which were hard and uncomfortable. The WEP key given to us for Internet access didnt work on a single computer we had. Lighting in rooms was also quite poor. Everything else was perfect. apartments are clean, staff friendly and nothing was stolen.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2010
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Maria3030 wrote a review Sep 2009
Madrid1 contribution3 helpful votes
I had to stay in Nairobi for business for long periods (3 - 6 months) between 2001 to 2006. Serviced apartments were the best solution for me. I don't think there is any other serviced apartment in the city that gives one so much of a home feeling. It all starts with the management, professional and very warm at the same time. They really helped me find my way in this new city the first time there. I felt safe and taken care of. The Gables is an oasis of peace in this city. The drawback is that one feels space has been super-optimized a bit. Common garden areas are small, living room too and the swimming pool is more a decorative pond than a real swimming pool. In any case, for a worry-free stay in Nairobi this is definitely the place to come.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2006
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
$78 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaNairobi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Grand Gables
Which popular attractions are close to The Grand Gables?
Nearby attractions include Sarit Centre (0.7 miles), Rum Tastings at Tortuga Rum Bar (0.4 miles), and Sarit Centre (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Grand Gables?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at The Grand Gables?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at The Grand Gables?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grand Gables?
Conveniently located restaurants include INTI - A Nikkei Experience, Fogo Gaucho, and Open House Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Grand Gables?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Grand Gables have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Grand Gables offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Grand Gables have airport transportation?
Yes, The Grand Gables offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Grand Gables?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Grand Gables?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Dedan Kimathi Statue (2.3 miles) and The Galton-fenzi Memorial (2.4 miles).