We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Amani Gardens Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Amani Gardens Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 90: English reviews
New Holland, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a quiet restful place to stay. There are beautiful gardens. We enjoyed the wonderful swing and the playing tennis. The only problem was at check in. We had started our day at 4:30 am in Tanzania and traveled by taxi and then a 11 hour 20 minute bus ride. We we arrived at 8:10 PM the front office... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 181joyh
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in a 2 week period as we came and went through Nairobi on our way to other places. The outdoor sitting areas and gardens are beautiful. The rooms are clean but some are in need of updates. The brick oven pizza is a nice surprise and the included breakfast with made to order eggs is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
Nairobi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

The location is quiet and serene, it has outdoor facilities which are great even with children, you still have peace as they have plenty to do. Most enjoyed were conferencing facilities, value for money and services are personalised. They only need to work on their internet which fluctuates otherwise its a great place to have a weekend reflection, family outing,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

Great set up. It is safe for single female traveler. The area, Westlands, has some good stores and restaurants. Also, the car service they use was very good and not expensive. We enjoyed both the food and the service. I would strongly recommend it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alicia W
Catonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

Amani Gardens was a lovely and affordable place to stay in Nairobi. The rooms were basic, but very comfortable and the grounds were beautiful. The breakfast was lovely with omelets cooked to order, fresh fruit and other items. Guests could take dinner at the Gardens with woodoven pizzas made to order-- and they were delicious! And best of all was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mutanu
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

The hotel is set in a big, beautiful garden which provides an oasis of calm in busy Nairobi. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean, I had one with a balcony overlooking the garden which was very nice. Breakfast and evening meal options definitely OK, and no problem finding customized solutions to dietary requirements... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma E
AmaniGardens, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review. We are glad you enjoyed our gardens. Many people like yourself love to experience them from their balcony. Please come back again when you're in Nairobi. Karibu tena. More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016

My wife and I used to love staying here. We were accustomed to the accommodations prior to the expansion and re-branding - but a small room (#6) and shared bathroom at $90 a night is steep. The garden area is still beautiful. They have increased the number of outdoor seating places. We were incredibly disappointed with the food service. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jonathanwI3150GJ
AmaniGardens, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us over the years. We value this long-time history we have with you. We are also extremely sorry for the experience you had with our waiter. This situation has been rectified. Certainly you should not have been told we were closing at time we should have been open. We take great efforts to serve and... More 

Turi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

I use the Amani as my base when I have business dealings in the Westlands. Great value and incredibly friendly atmosphere. Walking distance to Sarit/Westgate and there is a Java very close by. It does very much have a family feel almost like a B&B.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve F
AmaniGardens, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We are working hard to create the type of atmosphere you describe. We look forward to seeing you again. Karibu Tena More 

Marlborough, New Hampshire
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2016

What keeps me coming back to the Amani is the warmth and friendliness of the staff. It is peaceful and the gardens are beautiful when there aren't lots of kids running around. I have found the room quality to be inconsistent - sometimes the shower is hot, sometimes not. With a bit more quality control by the management the place... More 

Helpful?
Thank lynnk800
AmaniGardens, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our gardening team works hard to keep our gardens beautiful and show some of Kenya's beauty. The gardens are great for families and for those who want to spend time enjoying nature all afternoon. We are also working hard to improve our guest's food experience. Thanks for your input. More 

Lititz, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2016

We enjoyed our stay very much. It is quite an oasis. The grounds are kept in good condition and the food was very good. I missed the family style eating that was true of the '70s and '80s, but the current set up was quite convenient. Perhaps the only complaint was that our soap was taken whenever the room was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel W
AmaniGardens, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review. We realize we have an oasis in a city that is growing up around us. We take pride in keeping our gardens beautiful as well as serving our guests. We look forward to seeing you again. Karibu Tena More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.7 mi away
Bidwood Suites Hotel
Bidwood Suites Hotel
#16 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.1 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#10 of 156 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Maison Royale Hotel, Nairobi
1.2 mi away
Progressive Park Hotel
Progressive Park Hotel
#27 of 156 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amani Gardens Inn, formerly the Mennonite Guest House has a 50-year reputation of warm hospitality and quiet gardens. Located in Westlands, our guest house is situated conveniently close to major shopping malls, banking centers, and restaurants, yet the place still retains the feel of a retreat in the countryside with our old English-style buildings and ancient trees. You can spend the morning quietly reading under a 100-year old jacaranda tree, or hop in a taxi and be exploring down town a few minutes later. Amani means peace in Swahili which is a distinctive of the Mennonites. We hope you will find our gardens a peaceful oasis in the middle of a bustling city. Amani means peace in Kiswahili. Spacious gardens, friendly staff, and traditional American food bring our guests back again and again. Amani Gardens is under the Mennonite Board of East Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amani Gardens Inn

Address: 71 Church Road, Westlands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya (Formerly Mennonite Guesthouse)
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: $90 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Mennonite Guesthouse Hotel Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing