We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor

Save
Share
17 Cornish El Nile Street, Luxor 11 432 Egypt
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$154
View deal
Hotels.com$154
Booking.com$178
Priceline$178
Sofitel$178
Trip.com$178
Destinia.com$199
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2667)
Room & Suite (341)
Dining (212)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 73 hotels in Luxor
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Winter Palace, built in 1886 on the Nile banks in a tropical garden is a magical experience of history luxury that hosted royalties and celebrities throughout the years. Winter Palace offers the mythical atmosphere with the modern decor comfort of a 5 star hotel. It is located in the city center, just minutes from Luxor Temple and the airport.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Arabic, German
2124Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,526
  • 368
  • 134
  • 61
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
1toptravelagent wrote a review Sep 2022
USA109 contributions56 helpful votes
I stayed 2 nights at this hotel in Luxor. Their service was top notch. You must stay this hotel at their old building side. Their old elevator, lobby, hallway and steps... takes you through the hotel's history like a time traveler. The staffs were very friendly and helpful. If you take the employee's back door gate- you can go to town not walking the local street :) Their breakfast was a little lack of options.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Nile River Room - Old building side
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Selim SHAWER, Other at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Responded yesterday
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor for your recent visit to Luxor. I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guest is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed so much the facilities and services is a reward in itself. Your positive feedback has been shared with the team, which will encourage them to continue their efforts in this direction. I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future. Best regards, Selim SHAWER General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark W wrote a review Sep 2022
Saint-Pol-sur-Ternoise, France158 contributions69 helpful votes
We stayed at Winter Palace at the end of a 2-week holiday in Egypt. The hotel has wonderful history and elegance. It is a little like staying in a National Trust property in the UK. High ceilings and grand staircases add to the splendour of the hotel. We had a Luxury Garden view room which was lovely. It was quiet as it faced away from the traffic adjacent to the Nile – perfect for morning coffee on the balcony. The room had a Nespresso maker in addition to tea and coffee making facilities, a well-stocked minibar (not too expensive) and various snacks. There was also a flat-screen TV in the room and a selection of toiletries, pampering goodies (nail files, toothbrushes, loofah etc.), bathrobes and slippers and iron. We found the in-house laundry prices expensive (much more costly than The Old Cataract) so we did not use the laundry. We especially found the breakfast offering to be exceptional with something for absolutely everyone. The Maître d’ remembered our coffee and tea orders each morning and made sure we were always comfortable. We took afternoon tea which was very nice. The Victorian Lounge is beautiful and like being transported back to a bygone era. The bars are excellent. We had our farewell drinks in the Royal Bar and drinks every evening at the Central Park bar, where Hamdi made us very welcome and is a credit to your team. He was as friendly and helpful to everyone who came to the bar – young and old, families or solo travellers – please ensure he receives credit for this. We did not use the 1886 restaurant as we had eaten in the 1902 at Old Cataract the week before. For ambiance, the Old Cataract wins hands down. I cannot however comment on the food. I would most definitely stay again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Selim SHAWER, Other at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Responded yesterday
Dear Valued Guest, I am delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your stay at The Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor. We, at The Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor ensure that all valued Guests received uninterrupted and impeccable service and attention throughout their stay. We likewise anticipate Guest's needs and create exceptional Luxury experience that gives lasting memories to our discerning Guests. Furthermore, it gives us great pride and joy that our guests leaves the hotel with nothing but all praises about our hotel, overall facilities, comfortable and clean room, historical palace charm and an incomparable service and hospitality. Once again, thank you for your exceptional feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in not so distant future. Warmest regards, Selim SHAWER General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren M wrote a review Sep 2022
8 contributions
+1
I have just come to the end of a glorious 5 nights staying here and overall we have had a great stay. Winter palace is a beautiful, historic hotel on the banks of the Nile and since I visited here many years ago I dreamed of staying. Mohamed Ali, the chief concierge was amazing at helping us book everything and was so helpful and kind. The room was spotless and so comfortable and housekeeping was perfect. We went to the royal bar daily and it was beautiful, amazing service and really lovely staff, one of the men working there looked after us every day and was so amazing! The staff at breakfast were so lovely and the breakfast was tasty and delicious! The grounds of the hotel were so beautiful, amazing ancient palm trees, gorgeous flamingos that were rescued and gorgeous indigenous birds. The gardens are kept so beautifully and it is a really special place to stay. I feel like giving this place a one star owing to one really nasty and unpleasant experience but I feel it wouldn't be fair. I was taking photographs and has asked permission from one staff member who said to please feel free to go where I please. another staff member, a male, started shouting at me to get down off the stairs, made a huge scene in front of everyone and humiliated me in front of a foyer full of people. I have never experienced such behaviour in a 5 star hotel. Disgusting and I will be ensiling Sofitel and hotel management about this. The restaurant and room service food also does not warrant the price or the reviews. The food was expensive and very below par...we treated ourselves to a wedding anniversary meal in corniche and it was only ok but very expensive. We got room service and that was only ok. I would like to mention that the staff were amazing though, attentive and delightful. I had a really nice time I just didn't expect such foul and awful treatment after spending serious money staying in a place. Owing to this man and his disgusting behaviour I would think twice about recommending here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Selim SHAWER, Other at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Sofitel Winter Palace we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. It is with great concern that we read your comments about the behavior of one of the staff mostly because their service has been praised many times for their professionalism yet genuine friendliness and we assure you that what you described is not the norm for us. We appreciate you taking the time to notify us of your personal experience and rest assured that your review had been discussed with all departmental managers for evaluation and action as needed. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Warm regards, Selim SHAWER General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
salvatore wrote a review Sep 2022
Atlanta, Georgia9 contributions3 helpful votes
Excellent Hotel/ Resort. “The Mount Nelson Hotel equivalent in North Africa”. Fantastic Staff : Mr.Muhammad Ali ( Front Desk Chief Concierge), extremely professional and efficient , Mr.Mahmoud , Ms.Menna (Reception ) , both very pleasant and very welcoming ,Mustafa’ (1886),very detail oriented and attentive , the second floor staff , the swimming pool/ swimming pool restaurant staff , each one making our stay at the Sofitel Winter Palace a truly memorable and unique stay . A hotel/ resort worth making Luxor a several nights stay over destination . A true , outstanding jewel and asset in Egypt’s hotel portfolio and a hotel resort worth returning back to should one wish to explore Upper Egypt further .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: This hotel resort is an oasis of history , peace , comfort in one of the world’s richest...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Selim SHAWER, Other at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  I am truly happy to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations in regards to hospitality and service delivered and will not fail to pass your comments to those team members whom you have personally mentioned.  Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon Warmest regards, Selim SHAWER General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
edf192016 wrote a review Aug 2022
Hong Kong, China20 contributions5 helpful votes
Amazing hotel, preserved very well, seems you are going back in time while staying here. Beautiful garden at the back. All staff working here are incredibly nice, friendly and helpful. Special Thank you to Mr. Mahmoud Ashour who leads the breakfast & pool bar team and making us feel welcome and treat us like a royal each time. Will recommend others to stay here and definitely will come back if we have the opportunity.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Selim SHAWER, Other at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Sofitel Winter Palace . We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Thank you so much for your valuable recommendation and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Warm regards, Selim SHAWER General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A Y wrote a review Aug 2022
Toronto, Canada83 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
This is a vintage hotel. Unique! They preserved the materials used in hotel from the royal family days in egypt back before the 1940s. The doors/window shutters, carpets, chandelier. Staff are polite, and unlike other areas they know how to be courteous to the visitors with dignity and respect. The food is great. Their breakfast is full range but I stuck to Egyptian breakfast. The balcony is beautiful and overlooks the Nile and the boats. The back garden and pool are clean and really relaxing despite the heat. And despite how neglected the south region of egypt, Luxor is different. It’s clean, not loud and well taken care off (compared to neighboring region of Sohag, which is a total mess)! The temples are very close by. In short, I was impressed and I shall return again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: bringing summer/ light cloths but maintaining respect of the culture. I hired my own car with...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Selim SHAWER, Other at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Dear valued Guest, I am delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your stay at The Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor. We, at The Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor ensure that all valued Guests received uninterrupted and impeccable service and attention throughout their stay. We likewise anticipate Guest's needs and create exceptional Luxury experience that gives lasting memories to our discerning Guests. Furthermore, it gives us great pride and joy that our guests leaves the hotel with nothing but all praises about our hotel, overall facilities, comfortable and clean room, historical palace charm and an incomparable service and hospitality. Once again, thank you for your exceptional feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in not so distant future. Warmest regards, Selim SHAWER General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel Ahmed wrote a review Aug 2022
Stafford, United Kingdom15 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed here at this amazing hotel in luxor, with views right across the nile, I cannot fault how clean this hotel is at all times, the housekeeping do such a good job, always making sure the room is tidy and clean, anything we need they get for you without any problem at all, even in other areas of the hotel it is always clean no matter how many visitors they have, well done to housekeeping team! And the service from the staff around the pool is also very good, always asking if you need anything, keeping the poolside clean and tidy also, very good service from both areas of rhe hotel and the gardens are amazing too. Thanks again to housekeeping and service, we appreciate the hard job you do! And we will certainly return again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Selim SHAWER, Other at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Sofitel Winter Palace. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Warm regards, Selim SHAWER General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JT14 wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom5270 contributions421 helpful votes
I love grande dame hotels, and this has that in spades. The history, the lobby, the fine dining, the service etc etc. All of that comes at a very affordable price at the Winter Palace. So what's the catch? Just that the hotel is incredibly tired. Paint peeling off the windows tired. But but but. It carries itself so well, that you look through that, and it almost adds to the historic atmosphere. If this is your price point, and you are in Luxor, it's absolutely the place to stay. Just be aware that the price point reflects the complete lack of refurbishment. For example, the refurbished Old Cataract (also Sofitel) is twice the price and far more glossy. We loved both. Other points: - Sofitel loyalty recognition is really strong - staff were lovely - the quality and pricing of the food is excellent - location is perfect. Right by Luxor Temple, beautiful river views but also with a sense of street life outside the front gates.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Selim SHAWER, Other at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your interest in Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor and we are delighted hosting you with us. We are indeed very pleased on the way you describe your luxury experience at the hotel and such commendable remarks makes us extremely proud of the kind of service we cater to our discerning Guests. Kindly note that the hotel is planned to have renovation to be in line with our Guest's Expectations. Thank you so much for your valuable recommendation and we hope that on your future visits to Luxor, The Sofitel Winter Palace will be your destination again as we look forward to welcoming you back. Warm Regards, Selim SHAWER General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexandra S wrote a review Aug 2022
Constanta, Romania12 contributions1 helpful vote
I want to tell a story of this magical hotel ! This was like a dream for us ! I start about I speak about Sarah ( is the best ) she helped too much we can t thank her enough ! The room is wow we have an amazing nile view ! The breakfast omg i can t explain so many tasty things we eat ! The swimming pool is super big and the palms and the garden take your breathe away ! For sure we will come back here soon ! You must try this hotel ! And ask for Sarah she is the best
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Selim SHAWER, Other at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Dear Valued Guest, I am delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your stay at The Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor. We, at The Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor ensure that all valued Guests received uninterrupted and impeccable service and attention throughout their stay. We likewise anticipate Guest's needs and create exceptional Luxury experience that gives lasting memories to our discerning Guests. Furthermore, it gives us great pride and joy that our guests leaves the hotel with nothing but all praises about our hotel, overall facilities, comfortable and clean room, historical palace charm and an incomparable service and hospitality. Once again, thank you for your exceptional feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in not so distant future. Warmest regards, Selim SHAWER General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason D wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
We were not staying at the Winter Palace but had arranged to meet a tour guide outside to get a night train to Cairo, a tour we had booked via Trip Advisorin the UK. The hotel saw us waiting and suggested we wait in the hotel reception as it was more comfortable. The tour guide failed to show up and the hotel staff contacted them for us. The tour company informed us that they had cancelled the tour that day - no prior warning - leaving us stranded in Luxor as we had no hotel having travelled in from Soma Bay that day. The Winter Palace staff spent an hour of their time ringing round to track this company down, provided us with tea and advice and finally we're able to make contact with another travel company in Luxor who were able to sort out travel for that night. The Winter Palace staff were so kind, sympathetic and helpful whilst also being practical and solution focused that I wanted to express my thanks and highlight their excellent service and human decency towards people who were not even guests. Than you so much for your help and kindness.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Selim SHAWER, Other at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Sofitel Winter Palace hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. Your enthusiasm for our staff is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon. Warmest regards, Selim SHAWER General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$134 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sofitel winter palace luxor hotel luxor, accor winter palace luxor, winter palace luxor, sofitel luxor, luxor sofitel, old winter palace luxor
LOCATION
EgyptNile River ValleyLuxor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
92
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Which popular attractions are close to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor?
Nearby attractions include Ata Bazar (0.3 miles), Luxor Temple (0.2 miles), and Avenue of Sphinxes (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aisha Restaurant, Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Restaurants, and The Lantern Room Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor have airport transportation?
Yes, Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Luxor.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.