We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Imperial Palace Seoul

640, Eonju-ro, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06098 South Korea
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
20% less than usual
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com
$117
$91
View Deal
Travelocity$106
Booking.com$106
Orbitz.com$106
Trip.com$95
Hotwire.com$106
Otel.com$117
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (940)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (211)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice 2019 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Imperial Palace Seoul is located in the heart of the business and cultural center, Seoul, South Korea's thriving capital, and it has long been a city landmark. Imperial Palace Seoul won top prize in the Favorite Business Hotel category of the TIME Readers' Travel Choice Awards 2006 selected by Time Asia. This is the first time a Korean hotel has been honored with such an award. At the time of the G20 Summit in 2010 and the Nuclear Security Summit in 2011, leaders from countries around the world such as Brazil, Vietnam, Algeria and many others visited Imperial Palace Seoul, and it has been recognized as one of the top branded hotels in Korea. A noble and artistic atmosphere with elegant European style interior, antiques and paintings, Imperial Palace Seoul provides a space to enjoy beautiful art beyond the function of accommodation by offering the best service and giving top priority to customer satisfaction and impression under the motto of 'The Best of Everything'.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Mini golf
Karaoke
Kids stay free
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Hot tub
Sauna
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
Neighborhood
Samseongdong / COEX
A large business hub, Samseongdong is anchored by Korea’s World Trade Center, where many important business exhibitions and meetings are held. The enormous COEX mall sprawls underground, providing a myriad of things to do and see, including a large aquarium and movie theater. For a bit of peace and zen, head over to the ornate Bongeunsa Temple which is one of Korea’s most important places of worship. Or take a stroll nearby through the tranquil royal burial grounds of Seonjeongneung, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
1,824Reviews7Q+A79Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,257
  • 348
  • 120
  • 50
  • 49
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The hotel is gorgeous! The staff is kind and helpful and it has a quirky glam feel to it. My room was disappointing however. It was a no smoking room but smelled of smoke so I tried opening windows. The furnishings are old but that’s ok. What was worse is that the bed was very very very hard and uncomfortable, resulted in back pain.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from IPSEOUL, 제너럴 매니저 at Imperial Palace Seoul
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We will be implementing upgrades to the property. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Yours Sincerely, Seung Geol Lee / General Manager
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
My husband and I have traveled around the world and often stay at Marriotts and their affiliates because we have plenty of points with them, but in Korea we wanted to stay in a more charming hotel because we would be there for a week over Christmas with our five children. As we walked into the warm lobby from the freezing weather we were greeted by the most amazingly festive decorations! It was heavenly! We were immediately in love with the place as it felt Christmasy and cozy and old time glamorous. Check in was a little stressful because we had booked the hotel on agoda and were very particular about making sure we had the right size rooms and beds because we had such a large group but the staff at check in said it didn't show the bed sizes online and we only got smaller beds, not the larger we booked. We were buying 2 rooms a night for 7 nights so it was a large booking and had even tried calling before we booked to make sure we didn't have any problems. The staff said that getting the larger rooms would be more a more expensive upgrade. After a very kind man named Jason Park helped us, he was able to get us the right rooms. He continued to be one of our favorite parts about the hotel, most of the rest of the staff was pleasant, but he was so friendly, said hello to us by name, asked about our days, etc. We loved the ambiance of the hotel, it felt like wealthy early 1900s, totally custom and unique--a very fun change from all the Marriotts we usually stay at. On Christmas while we were waiting for housekeeping to clean our rooms we just wandered around the different hotel floors exploring, it was so fun. Every floor had a different aesthetic which we loved, felt so custom and fun to discover hidden things like corner staircases and another lobby upstairs with seating and a Christmas tree (though we were bummed the lights and heater weren't on, must just be for special occasions? We would have loved to have hung out there with books or a card game on Christmas though). The breakfast restaurant was gorgeous, I thought the food was great, my family thought there were way too many fish options though. A lot of the food was next to gone close to closing time but since it was Christmas morning we didn't get down there until 9:45. I asked if there were more pancakes and the chef made us some so that was nice but I wish the food wasn't so empty by the end since it says breakfast goes until 10. Also, the breakfast is SOOO expensive (or any meal) if it isn't included in your room price. Glass of milk? $9. Coke? $10. So our hopes of going down for a snack date to enjoy the lobby casual eating on Christmas evening didn't happen because all the light appetizers were just insanely priced. The only real thing we found annoying was the doorman who insisted an adult had to go in the spinner doors with my kids. It felt like he was just being a little power hungry and hit the door stop button dramatically once when my kids did a loop in it while we were busy strapping my baby into his carrier. I told him the kids were okay (we're talking 4,7,11,12, they weren't toddlers running wild. He said no, it's very dangerous...which is absurd. They have those doors everywhere and they wouldn't be allowed if they were dangerous, plus they have auto stop mechanisms if there really was a danger. He was so over the top he even started going in the little door "rooms" with my children (we didn't all fit in one together so some of my kids went without the parents). He even went in with me and my kids once! That felt really patronizing and a little offensive, give me some space buddy, you're breathing down my neck! He was really annoying enough that he would make me reluctant to return again because he was there every time we came and went for the week and was weird about it every time. Good thing Mr. Park balanced out that guy because he makes me wanna go back. And the rooms--they were so cool. They weren't new and updated, but they were full of charm. I loved that so many things had the hotel's name on them and in the drawers, felt like they had invested in unique pieces and wanted you to feel like you're in a luxury place. I loved the toiletries too. The bathroom had awkward glass doors, frosted if you're in the toilet or shower, but no real privacy, and you can see out in the hall from the shower if someone opens the main door, so I would strongly suggest frosting the big bathroom door and wall. Our toilets clogged and flooded in both bathrooms so I think their toilets need some better power flushing. Our nightstand also had a safe in the second drawer that kept falling open. I could see they had wedged a piece of wood under the stand to try to prop it back so it wouldn't keep falling forward, it almost fell on our toddler one day because he opened the top drawer and any jostling of the stand would quickly make the second drawer fall open with the safe. One time the lamp plugged into the top was the only thing that kept the stand from falling face forward, it was tilted at a slant barely hanging on. It's just dangerous because the safe is so heavy. Housekeeping was the most minimal of hotels I've stayed at, but to be fair, we didn't make it easy on them. With Christmas presents and two weeks of travel, we had a lot of stuff. They just left some obvious trash on the counters or didn't take any of our used washcloths all week, but maybe that's because we hung them over the shower door. No real complaints, just not as thorough as other places. I wish they had controls over the AC too, the rooms were quite warm and we slept with blankets off, but we just opened the windows to help. Overall we loved it! It felt like a magical hotel and experience. Oh, and concierge was very helpful too. They arranged two tours (skip the sledding one, they took us to a ginseng museum as part of the tour on the way home! It was after a long, cold day of sledding and everyone wanted to go home but they took us there, and it was way out of the way and it happened to be our daughter's birthday so it was especially annoying. Felt way too sneaky to put that in on a sledding day, not hotels fault, but they should get a new tour). The tour to the DMZ was perfect though, so worth it. And they arranged a taxi for our trip to the airport, they were wonderful. We have great memories of the Imperial Palace and hope to return some day! If we ever get to go back to Korea it's on my wish list!! Thanks for a fabulous experience!
Read more
Response from IPSEOUL, 제너럴 매니저 at Imperial Palace Seoul
Responded Jan 1, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your precious time to share your detailed feedback with us. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you had such an amazing experience at our hotel. We will continue to strive to provide the best service and we hope to serve you again soon.and Thank you for visiting Imperial Palace Seoul and for posting your review. We are grateful to hear you had a wonderful experience with us and we are honored by your recommendation. Thank you. Yours Sincerely, Seung Geol Lee/General Manager
Read more
Ok hotel, nothing exceptional, a bit old style for my personal taste. Good position though. Not impressed by service and hospitality. The gym is closed the first Tuesday of the month: unfortunately it was the only day I could and wanted to go.. too bad.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from IPSEOUL, 제너럴 매니저 at Imperial Palace Seoul
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We will be implementing upgrades to the property. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Yours Sincerely, Seung Geol Lee / General Manager
Read more
It is only 5 minutes away from Hak-dong Station of Seoul Subway Line 7 (Ext #1). The staffs provided a great service and were very friendly; they helped to take up luggage to the room. The bathroom is quite old, but it's clean.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from IPSEOUL, 제너럴 매니저 at Imperial Palace Seoul
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We will be implementing upgrades to the property. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Yours Sincerely, Seung Geol Lee / General Manager
Read more
Nomen est Omen: the hotel is a old-fashioned luxury place. The rooms are nice, you find everything you need and expect in such a place. Everything is well maintained and cleaned, however a bit old. The place would need a face lifting. The food prices are sky-rocketing. The breakfast buffet is about 40-45 USD, a simple coffee in the lobby is USD 20. There are some places around the hotel for breakfast, which are affordable (e.g. a Starbucks is next door).
Read more
Response from IPSEOUL, 제너럴 매니저 at Imperial Palace Seoul
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We will be implementing upgrades to the property. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Yours Sincerely, Seung Geol Lee / General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$110 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
imperial palace seoul, hotel imperial palace
LOCATION
South KoreaSeoulSamseongdong / COEX / Gangnam-gu / Nonhyeon-dong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
405
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing