We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Grand Hotel And Casino

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grand Hotel And Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

464 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel And Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 437: English reviews
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Clean, comfortable, handy to shops, markets and transport including ferry to Iriki Island. Did consider staying on Iriki before we booked our holiday but glad now we stayed at The Grand as I think it was better to swim in the outdoor pool of The Grand and look across to Iriki rather than look across from Iriki to The Grand,... More 

Helpful?
Thank 992june
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear 992June Thanks for your feedback, it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay. I do apologise for any disappointment you experienced with your lunch though am glad to hear that you did enjoy your breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards Carey Norton More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed on our last night transiting through Vila from the outer islands. Air conditioning was a nice change from where we'd been! The hotel is nice and full service western style. The room was well appointed and has a great view of the bay. The restaurant was really good food and fantastic value. Had a huge seafood platter, dessert and... More 

Helpful?
Thank philbert83
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear Philbert83 Thanks for the great feedback, glad to hear you enjoyed your meals, we have been trying hard to improve and certainly believe we are succeeding. Perhaps we may have a chance to welcome you back soon and wow you with our new menu. Kind regards Carey Norton More 

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Comments I read are amusing to say the least. Vanuatu (Port Vila in particular), its services and infrastructure are that of a developing country so expect that. See Vanuatu for what it is in its entirety and The Grand gives exceptional value and service in perspective. If your after a hoytee toytee holiday then you will be disappointed. We visit... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank G B
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear G B Thanks for the great endorsement, our staff really are fantastic and friendly people. We are working continually on reviewing our product and service and will endeavour to keep on promoting Vanuatu accordingly. Thanks again. Look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards Carey Norton More 

Turangi, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The staff were great throughout our experience, we left 'The Grand' feeling destressed and ready for the year ahead! Great location, rooms were serviced everyday if we liked, attentive staff and loved the day spa. Sorry to point out but for the GM's knowledge: The carpets in the corridors were a eye sore - carpet clean or replacement? The pillows... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie M
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear Natalie M Thanks for the overall great feedback. The staff really are wonderful here. Thanks also for the constructive feedback, I am happy to say we are due to replace all the corridor carpet by the end of April 2014 which will be great. We are also reviewing our linen at the moment along with our pillows. With regards... More 

West Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Staying here right now. Cannot really find fault. Room is really nice, although we had one on the first floor to start with and the view is limited. Now on 4th floor for an extra 28AUD a day and it is great! Really quiet here as it is the rainy season. Yeah right - we have 3 brief rain showers... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank radiomic
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear RadioMic What a great endorsement, thanks for the excellent feedback. Our views, location and staff are certainly an easy selling point. Glad to hear that the holiday was a great one. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards Carey Norton More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Hotel... Pros: - Great location if you want to stay on the mainland... right on the harbour so a little boat takes you across to Irikki Island - People are friendly and greet you always - Breakfast was VERY good... egg station, fresh fruit, sweets, yoghurt, cereals etc... - Pool very lovely view.. really nice - Good price - Room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank amor_vida
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear Aussies68 Thanks for the great overall feedback and the endorsement. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel though am disappointed to hear you were not happy with your suite. Being a tropical location Vanuatu certainly can be subjected to rainy weather, though it is sensational in the sun. With regards to seeking adventure, while Port Vila... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Lovely rooms, great view, nice service, central location. The restaurant serves a nice range of meals. The tour director is an efficient and thoughtful person who tries his best to get you to the places you want to go. We would stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Eva K
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear Eva K Thanks for the great feedback, glad to hear all went well and you returned home with positive memories of Vanuatu. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Carey Norton More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Grand hotel has the best location if u are looking for something central. Step out the door and you are in the center of town. The hotel probably needs abit of money spent on it but it had a comfy bed, good shower and great breakfast and an awesome view of the harbor.

Helpful?
1 Thank krazykristy
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear KrazyKristy Thanks for the feedback, location is king for us, as are our staff. We are certainly working on improving the overall product and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards Carey Norton More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Disappointing to be told on arrival that we had been "downgraded", particularly after receiving another confirmation of our booking only 6 days prior. Lots of apologies but unable to honour our booking. However, we were happy with our room and the fantastic view on level 5 - probably wouldn't bother with the Panorama suite in future. Service was generally very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear Sandra C Thanks for the overall positive feedback, I am sorry to hear that we were not able to accommodate you as originally confirmed. I am glad to hear however that you enjoyed your room on the 5th floor. With regards to the breakfast, over the past year we have been incrementally adding items on to the buffet, my... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Grand Hotel was a brilliant experience for us...the staff were constantly friendly and helpful and we're available for all questions at any time of the day. The view from the balcony is each room is beautiful and also from the pool, with the sea being the focal attraction. The rooms were clean, bright and comfortable. The bed was large and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hayley S
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review

Dear Hayley S Thanks for the great feedback it is good to hear you had a great time during your stay. Certainly our two greatest assets are our location and our staff. Once again, thanks for the great feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards Carey Norton More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

340 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (339)
Viewed
View from Room (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 stars 1,281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
2.7 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
2.3 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#11 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Grand Hotel And Casino

Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate 0001, Vanuatu (Formerly Sebel Vanuatu)
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range: $136 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel And Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel And Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Port Vila
Sebel Vanuatu Port Vila
Grand Hotel And Casino Vanuatu/Port Vila
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#20 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay