We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Avenue Du Stade, Port Vila, Efate +678 Vanuatu
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
Travelocity
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (114)
Pool & Beach (34)
Dining (12)

About

#6 of 51 hotels in Port Vila
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.9
Value
4.7
Traveller's Budget Motel is Port Vila's best value for money accommodation. Despite our budget category, the owner-managers have meticulously attended to every detail inside and out, to ensure your stay is relaxing and comfortable. The difference is apparent as soon as you step foot onto the property. The gardens are beautifully landscaped, rooms are tastefully decorated and well lit, showers are clean, sheets are crisp and rooms serviced daily. We believe everyone who visits Vanuatu is entitled to five-star hospitality. All our double rooms have cold remote controlled air-conditioning as well as ceiling fans, en-suite with shower, kitchenette, bar fridge, microwave and free +45 channel Sat TV. Each room has free data and wireless internet connection. An outside nakamal with full cooking facilities overlooks a sparkling blue 8.5 Metre pool. This is a relaxing place to sit and read. Located just 10 minutes walk from the shopping and restaurant precinct of Port Vila, the beautiful lagoons, beaches and attractions are either a short walk or drive away.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Business
418Reviews1Q+A65Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 330
  • 70
  • 12
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Arieta M wrote a review Mar 2020
Suva, Fiji17 contributions2 helpful votes
TBM is clean, neat, cosy. If all you will do is attend meetings all day & all you need is comfort and quietness after hours, TBM will not disappoint. Its also so close to the city centre, a simple 10 minutes walk downhill. The managers are a awesome duo.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Travellers Motel, Owner at Traveller's Budget Motel
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review. I will pass on the compliments to my Daughter and her Partner
Read more
discodivaboogie wrote a review Nov 2019
Jersey, United Kingdom233 contributions52 helpful votes
This accommodation is clean, has hot showers, a TV, fan, AC, towels / soap, a kitchenette in the room (microwave / kettle / fridge) and pool (with 2x sunloungers). There is parking available outside the property. It also has a well stocked kitchen for everyone to use (including salt / pepper / tea / coffee / cling film - which is always a bonus!) and free water refills. There is free WiFi. The owner will organise tours / car hire for you. There is also a small lending book library (if you want a bigger one go to Jill’s cafe in town) They can do your laundry on site for 500VT (£3.30) They have free luggage storage. There is a convenience store 2 minutes from the accommodation. The town is a 15-20minutes walk and runs parallel to the coast. There are loads of restaurants and grocery shops in the town and a local market where you can get fruit and vegetables from. There are several supermarkets in town. The accommodation is about a 15-20 minute car journey from the airport. I would recommend this accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Travellers Motel, Owner at Traveller's Budget Motel
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Thank you for your response so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
Nzer wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Just what a backpacker's should be. Casual and relaxed with a collection of interesting people comming and going. Gabby and Micheal live locally, understand what traveller's are looking for and have a collect of contacts around the islands to help you find what your looking for.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from travellersmotel, Owner at Traveller's Budget Motel
Responded Nov 8, 2019
Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed the experience.
Read more
Warren E wrote a review Jul 2019
11 contributions3 helpful votes
I have travelled extensively around the world and honestly, this would have to be without doubt one of the friendliest places that I have ever stayed at! Gabby was an amazing host and went out of her way to ensure that all the guests had a pleasant stay. Not only was the management extremely welcoming but had a great deal of knowledge about what to do around Port Vila and even recommended and booked a tour for me. As a solo traveller who was looking for a friendly base to explore the island and meet fellow travellers, I really couldn’t have asked for better accommodation. The rooms themselves were clean and comfortable, with all the necessary amenities. There was a nice common area by the pool in which to eat and chat with fellow travellers. The location was central and convenient, being just a very short walk to shops, restaurants and bars. Given the level of service and nice condition of the accommodation, the price was also very reasonable. I shall certainly be staying here on my next trip to Vanuatu and would highly recommend this place for those looking for a comfortable stay and friendly atmosphere!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from travellersmotel, Owner at Traveller's Budget Motel
Responded Jul 7, 2019
Thank you Warren for your response We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and you found Gabby a great host Please enjoy your future travels and look forward to seeing you again one day perhaps
Read more
kate wrote a review May 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Gabby does an incredible job running this place, she is so helpful from helping to plan your future travels to other islands to giving great tips on local experiences an restaurants to visit. I stayed in a dorm room, and found it more than sufficient to my needs, with them providing towels, and daily cleaning. The private rooms look clean and comfortable also. The pricing is well suited and some of the best value for money in town.The communal areas, always clean plenty of space in the kitchen to cook, and the welcoming area of the pool. If you're looking for a sterile and robotic resort experience to make you feel like you haven't left the comforts of your home country the this is not for you. but If you're looking a local experience with great people, location and value then I'd highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Maps752205 wrote a review Apr 2019
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
I had to make a very quick trip to Port Vila and was on a budget as someone else was paying my expenses. I'm very fortunate in that when I travel for work, I usually get to stay in some stunning 5 star hotels. I mention this as i do have very high standards. I selected this hotel as it was central and had great reviews. It is a small, VERY CLEAN motel just a short walk from downtown. It is much cooler up on the hill believe me. The pool was a lovely and refreshing. The open air kitchen was spotlessly clean and tea and coffee is freely available. Gabby is a gem. She helped me with airport transfers with Atmosphere, and also explained the unique bus system there. No bus stops or time tables, but I managed it just fine. It was my first trip to PV. There are resorts aplenty with resort price tags, but for my purpose on this trip, it was just fine.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from travellersmotel, Owner at Traveller's Budget Motel
Responded Apr 22, 2019
Thank you for a lovely review, Gabby is my daughter and the Manager of Travellers Budget Motel im so pleased that she has achieved such a great review. Thank you very much for choosing Travellers and spending time to give our Motel and my daughter a great review
Read more
Craig S wrote a review Feb 2019
Calgary, Canada191 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
This motel is OK but not as in the advertisements. If you are a budget minded traveller that needs to watch every $, it is OK but for $20 more per night there are much better places in Port Vila. The pros, the people working there are excellent. Short walk to town. The cons, Kitchen is old and run down, TV did not work and they have an unofficial Kava bar that is frequented by many men not staying in the motel. This kept us up at night. We stayed there 3 nights and room didn't get serviced once.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from travellersmotel, Owner at Traveller's Budget Motel
Responded Feb 18, 2019
Hi thanks for your review. You booked a bed in our dorm. Its unfortunate for you that you were here with a group from the outer islands at the same time. There is no unofficial kava bar on site as you state. The rooms are serviced daily by staff not as you stated. Really its a waste of time even responding to your rubbish review.
Read more
Jan T wrote a review Nov 2018
Leidschendam, The Netherlands842 contributions140 helpful votes
We did stay here for one night between flights. The place did had a hostel like feeling. Our room had a double and single bed. There was a small kitchen block were we only used the kettle. The shower was ok. The furniture and equipment was not brand new but did work. During our full stay it did rain (end September) so we did not use the pool and the AC. We could sit outside in front of our room. The somewhat limited breakfast was served in the general kitchen beside the pool under a roof. It is a 500m walk to several restaurants and 800m to the city centre. There is a small supermarket close by. We did ask, via mail, for transfers from and to the airport. The first transfer was ok but the transfer back did not show up. Vanuatu Air did change the flights multiple times resulting in a miscommunication with the company doing the transfers. The manager did arranged a taxi (just holding down one of the passing mini busses) for just the half of the money of the transfer. I will recommend this place for everyone that can do without shining lobby and brand new furniture.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from travellersmotel, Owner at Traveller's Budget Motel
Responded Apr 22, 2019
Thanks Jan for your review. Sorry you transfer was unreliable. We use a third party provider for transfers. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
Becstarx wrote a review Aug 2018
Melbourne, Australia219 contributions33 helpful votes
My partner and I stayed 3 nights and found the property clean, staff welcoming and rooms with everything you’d need. Close to the main port area at just a 10min walk & small shops nearby for supplies. We like to self-cater, so it suited us for making breakfast and dinners, which could be eaten out by the pool. I would stay again and recommend to other travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from travellersmotel, Owner at Traveller's Budget Motel
Responded Aug 10, 2018
Thank you very much for such a great review. Glad you enjoyed yourselves. I hope one day you get to return to Vanuatu.
Read more
Roy C wrote a review Aug 2018
North Carolina8 contributions13 helpful votes
I am a frequent visitor to Port Vila, and have recently brought a couple groups of recent college graduates to Vanuatu. When in Port Vila, I always choose to stay at Travellers, as it offers as authentic of an experience as one can have when visiting Vanuatu. First, the rooms are well-furnished and all face the inner courtyard/pool/communal dining area/kitchen. The result is that it facilitates the gathering of fellow and like-minded travelers in the evening for good conversation, cold Tuskers, and interaction with the wonderful staff (a good mix of Ni-Vanuatu and Aussies). Breakfasts are a similar experience, and a great way to start the day. Second, it is in a real Port Vila neighborhood/setting, which, again, gives you a much more local experience. There are nakamals (kava bars) within easy walking distance for the evening shell (strongly encourage you to try this if you want to experience the real Vanuatu), and the waterfront bars/restaurants/shopping are an easy 10 minute stroll away. Finally, as mentioned, Michael, Agnes, and the other staff members are delightful and super helpful. Staying at Travellers is almost like a local home stay, and all the members of my two groups found their stay here to be most welcoming, comfortable, and authentic. Sure, you can stay in a tourist resort, but, as with those types of places everywhere in the world, you tend to be cut off from the reality of the local culture. However, if you are a "traveler" and want to experience the best of Vanuatu, then, trust me, this is the place for you! I will keep coming back to Traveller's every time I visit Vila.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: If you are a group of three or more, you can book the dorm room for yourselves, thereby giving...
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from travellersmotel, Owner at Traveller's Budget Motel
Responded Aug 8, 2018
Thank You Roy for such a great in depth review. Your last 2 groups have been a pleasure to have as guests at our Motel, and always brings lots of nice happy vibes to our motel when groups like yourselves stay. This year was a special year not only did we have your group from South Carolina. But also a group from The University of NSW who are also regulars. Followed by another group Joint Therapy Organisation from Perth in Australia. Again Roy thank you for such a great review and we look forward to meeting your family and another group in 2020. Thankyou Michael, Gabby, Agnes, Mimi and Tonny.
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
VanuatuEfatePort Vila
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Traveller's Budget Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Traveller's Budget Motel?
Nearby attractions include Port Vila Markets (0.7 miles), Fung Kuei (0.4 miles), and Port Vila Handicraft Market (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Traveller's Budget Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Traveller's Budget Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Traveller's Budget Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Traveller's Budget Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kesorn's Exotic Thai Restaurant, Reefers Restaurant & Rum Bar, and Chill Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Traveller's Budget Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Traveller's Budget Motel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Ekasup Village (2.1 miles).