We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moorings Hotel

Save
Share
Lini Highway P.O. Box 1404, Port Vila, Efate Vanuatu
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (205)
Dining (47)
Room & Suite (18)

About

#31 of 51 hotels in Port Vila
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Moorings Hotel is an affordable waterfront accommodation with amazing views, all ensuite rooms, infinity pool, restaurant & bar, and more! With a gorgeous harbourfront location and only 5 minutes walk to town, Moorings Hotel is the perfect spot to relax in tropical paradise! Moorings comprises 30 air conditioned rooms 8 of which are absolute harbourfront and 18 opening onto balconies or the pool deck.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Water sport equipment rentals
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Darts
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Taxi service
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Wardrobe / closet
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Harbor View
Languages Spoken
English, French
216Reviews7Q+A72Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 72
  • 95
  • 34
  • 5
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Geoff M wrote a review Jun 2020
Gold Coast, Australia74 contributions19 helpful votes
We booked and paid through through Expedia to stay at the Moorings in March 2018 for a very special celebration. Unfortunately our flight was cancelled. Whilst our reservation was made on the basis of no cancellation, despite our pleas to the hotel to give us a credit for us to stay at a later date our request was denied. I believe this is grossly unfair and despite my assurances to the hotel that we would spend money in their bars and restaurant at a later date. We’re now thinking of going to Vanuatu when we’re allowed to travel but will have second thoughts about staying at The Moorings!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Frank M wrote a review May 2020
South Australia, Australia255 contributions95 helpful votes
We stayed in March 2020 when the Covid-19 pandemic started and we could not get flights home, we met other guest from many other countries in the same situation as us stay at the hotel. We all became great friends with guest and with Anita and all the staff at The Moorings and became known as the “Corona family. The staff treated us very well in the difficult times as we didn’t know when we could get home and how long we were staying in Vanuatu. The food was very delicious and great value, as were the drinks, rooms were comfortable and clean, location is very handy to the centre of town. Definitely will come back and stay at The Moorings next time we are in Vila. Thanks again Anita and staff for taking great care of us, hope to see you soon. Regards Frank and Sarah
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Aussie Travel wrote a review Mar 2020
Geelong, Australia23 contributions3 helpful votes
It’s a great base to stay as it’s close to town and a nearby plaza. Staff are lovely and rooms are fine. Could do with better wifi it drops out all the time and barely connects. Pool is nice and the bar cocktails are yum. Breakfast is average cereal, toast etc Just check your bill at checkout they tried to charge for the free breakfast and the two nights we had already paid. Was going to stay two nights but we stayed for our whole stay. Thanks guys!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Anita Ambong, Guest Services / Front Office at Moorings Hotel
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Hi Aussietravel1977, Thank you kindly for staying with us and taking your time to review our property. We do appreciate your comments on the location ,Lovely staff with fine rooms, Nice pool and Yummy cocktails. We consider your points on Breakfast charges and will checkout the issue and ensure not to happen again. Once again thank for your rating and sharing the moments
Read more
Mini Travels wrote a review Mar 2020
Mermaid Beach, Australia2 contributions
We stayed at Moorings and were very happy with our stay. We only planned to stay for 2 nights but decided to stay on for a further 3 to keep enjoying the beautiful sunsets and view of the lovely harbour from our room. Rooms are basic but have everything you need for a good stay. Staff are very friendly and interactive.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Anita Ambong, Guest Services / Front Office at Moorings Hotel
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Hi 344kirstyc, The Management and staff of Moorings Hotel , we are glad to hear that you were very happy with your stay that you had to extend for another 3 nights and enjoyed the beautiful sunset and lovely view of the harbour, thank you for your feedback on the facilities and friendly staffs. We kindly thank you for your stay with us , and for sharing your experience Kind regards Anita Ambong Front Office Manager
Read more
Ben M wrote a review Mar 2020
Gold Coast, Australia21 contributions7 helpful votes
5 night stay with family. Rooms a little outdated, but clean and air conditioning works great. Only a 10 minute walk to centre of town . Staff are fantastic. Breakfast is very basic. Most of the meals we had at resort were great. The resort could do with updating, but it has a good friendly feel as soon as you walk in . They charge 5% credit card fee and also only give you 65 Vatu against AUS dollar when all other exchange shops pay 77 Vatu. Little disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Anita Ambong, Guest Services / Front Office at Moorings Hotel
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Dear Ben M, We kindly appreciate your time taken to review our property with your positive feedback on the clean rooms with great air condition, Fantastic Breakfast and great meals with friendly feel/atmosphere. We do consider your comments on the exchange rate of 65 vatu,however we do always advice our clients of that there is much better rate at the bank and Goodies Exchange in town as each property have their own foreign exchange rate. The 5% credit card charge information is displayed on our website to inform our guests and to avoid credit card fees then cash payments should always be made, Sorry that you have found this a little disappointing. Kind regards Anita Ambong Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$57 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
moorings hotel port vila
LOCATION
VanuatuEfatePort Vila
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Moorings Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Moorings Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Port Vila Markets (0.7 miles), Fung Kuei (0.3 miles), and Port Vila Handicraft Market (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Moorings Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Moorings Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Moorings Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Moorings Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moorings Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kesorn's Exotic Thai Restaurant, Pad Thai Port Vila, and Reefers Restaurant & Rum Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Moorings Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Moorings Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Moorings Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Moorings Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Moorings Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Ekasup Village (2.2 miles).
Does Moorings Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.