We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunset Bungalows Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sunset Bungalows Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

524 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 511: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I can not rate Sunset Bungalows and their staff high enough. Managers Audrey and Greg are superb. All staff are friendly and very accommodating. Rooms are large, clean and lovely. Restaurant is excellent with a great variety of quality food to select from. Highly recommend the bircher muesli for breakfast and Lilly's cocktails at happy hour! Audrey and Greg's local... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teri M
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at Sunset Bungalows for 4 nights and can confidently say that we can't wait to return! Before we even arrived, we were contacted by Colleen to see if we wanted her to arrange our airport transfers and to give us some great advice about Port Vila. Once we arrived, we were greeted by Greg and shown around -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lezah K
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Audury and Greg and staff made us feel so welcome. This is our third trip to Vanuatu, and first time at Sunset Bungalows. The Bungalows are roomy and great view over the water. Now for the restaurant, I have eaten in many places and this is up with the best of them. The coconut crab was so tastie and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane G
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had an amazing 3 night stay here in one of the over water bungalows! The managers and staff and very lovely and very informative about things to do and gave us a few suggestions about what tours we could do, we ended up doing round the island tour - which was great! Great location right over the lagoon. Food was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank melodyknapp
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi melodyknapp Thanks for your review and pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The Round Island tour is one of our most popular tours as you learn so much about Vanuatu and get to meet some of our wonderful Ni Van people. Hope to see you again at some stage. Regards The Sunset Team More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is run by the most informative,professional mine hosts we have ever encountered on our many travels and places we have visited. From the moment we entered the resort our every whim was catered for by Greg and Audrey. Their vast experience on this beautiful island is readily shared over lovely cocktails in the bar. We met a great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi Chris M Thanks for taking the time to write such a neat review. We always enjoy meeting new people and often when fellow guests team up to enjoy their holiday together. Theres another round of cocktails waiting for you next time you come to visit..just let us know when :) Regards The Sunset Team More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first trip to Vanuatu and it was made all the more enjoyable by the people (staff and management) who run the place. It's not supposed to be 5 star hotel but when you have managers like Audrey & Greg helping you with any questions it makes you feel like you are important. They even stopped all rebuilding... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne T
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi Wayne T Thanks Wayne for your review and the nice comments. Always a balancing act with getting maintenance work done but trying not to impact on our guests holiday and appreciated your understanding. When you are ready to come back please do just drop us a line and we would love to look after you again. Regards The Sunset... More 

Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well, to begin with I wasn't that fussed with Port Vila itself but I had to spend a night there on transit up to Santo. I wanted to get out of the town itself and stay somewhere a little quieter and sunset bungalows seemed to paint that picture. There was nothing wrong with the room, it was waterfront, although the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ndazbe
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi Ndazbe Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Guess Port Vila does not have the razzle and dazzle of some of the larger Tourist towns and does not appeal to everyone. There is a lot more tho than just the town itself with lots of things to do and places to see and maybe next time you... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Disappointed with our 5 night stay, firstly we had to drag our heavy luggage up two flight of stairs, the water filter was broken the whole time we were there so we had to keep buying drinking water from the supermarket. It would have been nice if they had offered us just one bottle of water per room per day,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The brochure showed 8 beautiful 'A' shaped bungalows over the lagoon. This is why we booked it. What we were taken to (after carrying our own luggage) was the 2nd story of a block of flats that looked like a shoe box! I went straight to the Manager, GREG PROCTER. I explained this was not the advertised accommodation. To my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi Craig S Thanks for airing your concerns and we are truly sorry that there was a misunderstanding with what you were wanting your agent to book and what they actually booked for you. Obviously what you book with your Agent is out of our control and as we explained to you we can only provide what has actually been... More 

Encounter Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay - however we were disappointed with the lack of storage. For example there were no drawers and we were forced to live out of our suitcase, which is not what we intended in staying at one place. Room was nice, and certainly offered views over the lagoon. Some of the furniture was in need of replacement... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Traemersa
GMTWO, General Manager at Sunset Bungalows Resort, responded to this review

Hi Traemersa Thanks for your review. Sorry that you did not find the wardrobe and the shelves enough for your clothes and something that we will look at for guests that are staying for longer period of time. Great tip about buying the wine and using the FREE room service, only downside is that you may not get to meet... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

458 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (450)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
View from Room (81)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (47)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
2.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 stars 1,281 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
3.4 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
3.5 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#2 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled quietly on the waters edge within a tropical setting and fantastic views across Emten Lagoon. Luxurious surrounds includes a swimming pool with waterfall, over-water restaurant and bar. Sunset Bungalows Resort is a peaceful tropical escape with its relaxing adults only status, ideal for honeymooners. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Bungalows Resort

Address: Teouma Road, 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range: $137 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Bungalows Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bungalows Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Hotel Port Vila
Sunset Resort Port Vila
Sunset Bungalows Vanuatu
Sunset Bungalows Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Family Hotel in Port Vila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay