We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Melanesian Port Vila

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Melanesian Port Vila
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 214: English reviews
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely hotel with very friendly staff. Staff are multi lingual, and nothing is too much trouble for them. Rooms are clean and in the Hybiscus rooms there are cooking utensils , a microwave and a two burner cook top. The Orchid room is the next room up, and is spacious and very light and has a balcony to enjoy... More 

Helpful?
Thank 595prudencep
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear 595prodencep, Thank you for staying at the Melanesian hotel. Your comments and feedback is well received and will be forwarded to department concern for staff appraisals in ensuring the comfort of our guests. The four room types that we have can assist guest in making booking preference. From self-contained units to a 2-bedroom apartment. We are sure to see... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Went with my mum. Loved the place and the staff. Only issue was we paid on credit card on checkout. Few days later I was charged an amount of about $300 extra. I contacted the hotel. It took weeks an some stuffing around to get it refunded. Still no explanation as to why I was charged. The Westpac bank there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Awesometripmaster
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Awesometripmaster, Thank you for your stay at the Melanesian Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely apologies for the prolong process in refunding you due to overcharge on credit card. The error at hand was inserting the incorrect amount, however during the process of check out, neither noticed the error of... More 

South Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

Business trip and stayed in an Orchid room on the top floor. Overall, service is friendly, but hit and miss. Location is convenient to town with a supermarket nearby. The room itself was pleasantly decorated with cane furniture and a mosquito net (for the look more than use, I think) and small balcony with a view over the pool. Bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Flight99
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Flight99, Thank you for staying at the Melanesian Hotel during your business trip. Your comments and feedback is well received. We do apologies for the noise created downstairs at the bar, however our department concern is now notified of this and to ensure staff minimize the noise. Now that Vanuatu is experience earthquakes some of the times, we take... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

Not what I expected, the room was a reasonable size, breakfast was average, if I had stayed at the hotel for a holiday I would have been disappointed but I was there for business so it was ok, cocktails are a struggle and a bit of a wait, staff are very friendly and helpful

Helpful?
Thank michelejonestravel
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Michelejonestravel, Thank you for staying with us during your business trip. Your feedback and comments is well received. We apologies for the slowness in getting cocktails in time, however we will sure to forward this to our department concern for action. We welcome you to visit us again on your next visit. More 

Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

As we travel with two children we were surprised that no booking engine could book a room for four at the Melanesian, as it looked very suited for families (and it was). The trick is to book an orchid room with one child and write the hotel. I'm not sure why they have not fixed this with the booking sites.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank futtrup
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear futtrup, Thank you for staying at the Melanesian hotel during your visit. Your comments is well received. We are glad to hear that you did enjoyed your stay with us. With spacious rooms we can have extra bed upon request especially when travelling with children. Located close to the heart of CBD, it is more convenient for our guest... More 

huntington beach
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

The room was clean and reasonably spacious,the bathroom dated ,the food quite good,service ran on island time,BUT,never try to order a cocktail to relax by the pool with,the bartenders have absolutely no idea...we gave up after 5 yes 5 completely unsuccessful attempts at getting one,they even stuffed up the cocktail of the day.There is no wifi in the rooms and... More 

Helpful?
Thank clydemaz
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Clydemaz, Thank you for staying with us and your comment and feedback well received. Your comments are now forwarded to the departments concern. We take note also on the internet assess points only at the Lobby area and pre-paid in rooms. We welcome you again on your next visit to us and hope that the issues raised will be... More 

Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

It's old and run down but as its not too expensive it's ok. Nobody knocks themselves out to help you or provide good service. Breakfast is fine but you have to pay extra eggs. Pool is also old and not quite as clean as some. Place has no charm. Would be fine for business but would not recommend it for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerren2015
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Karren2015. Thank you for staying with us at the Melanesian. We are glad to hear your positive feedback on our service. The Continental buffet breakfast is basic as experienced and extra at a small cost. The pool has not be refurbish lately after the TC Pam, however planing is underway to re-do the swimming pool. We hope that once... More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

Melanesian is an OK hotel for business purposes - not sure if I'd like to stay for longer on holiday? The rooms are excellent, clean - bathrooms are dated though. You also need to be careful which room you select as you could be next to a very noisy road at the back of the hotel. There are also serviced... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steven W
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Steven, Thank you for being a repeated guest and the positive feedback received. You comments and feedback on slow service is forwarded to department concern. We are located close to business center and easy assist to transport to go places especially to near by restaurants. We apologies for the loud music from the Oasis bar, however your comment is... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

If you are travelling on business - avoid. Expensive 'motel' like operation with fairly basic rooms, incredibly slow/frustrating service and very poor continental breakfast. Arranging transport was a major hassle. Room next to a noisy road. No lift for luggage. Wouldn't stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Fiona, Thank you for staying with us and your positive feedback received. Vanuatu restaurant around town would be priced expensive, however we try to offer specials of day and other menus to suit budgeted travelers as well. The continental buffet breakfast is inclusive in our accommodation rates and is very basic, however we also offer full or mega breakfast... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016

Our third time at this hotel. Mainly a business hotel we love this as most guests are out on business and we have the pool to ourselves. Great value for money in good position close to Pt Vila. Most rooms have been updated. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment which is spacious and nicely decorated. Family we travelled with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (87)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.5 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#18 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#27 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#22 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.9 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only 10min walk from the heart of Port Vila town. Reasonable rates with quiet and comfortable atmosphere. A welcoming smile, friendly hospitality and good service are part of the culture at The Melanesian. Offering a number of guest room styles which satisfies everyone's needs. Our culture entertainment night with "All You Can Eat BBQ" at our Oasis Pool side is must see! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range: $59 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay