We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hideaway Island Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hideaway Island Resort
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

598 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 590: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hideaway is the best place to be while on holiday and school trips, the kids loved it immensely as well as the adults, our 4day stay was awesome and would recommend it to any school for a trip... yes we had a morning where there was no water for a few hours but that was just a minor clich, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teri D
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I spent a week on Hideaway Island as part of our 2 week stay in Vanuatu. We came almost solely to dive, and we weren't disappointed! Everyone at the dive hut was awesome. We were able to complete our Advanced Open Water dive course and were able to do wreck dives, reef dives and night dives! All... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diving B
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What can I say? 5 star meal! We ordered one each and they were superb. The lobster was cooked to perfection, the sides complemented the meal so delicately. The wine just set off this great meal. Most importantly we are here for another week so we can do it again! Woohoo!

Helpful?
Thank RussJenn
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Please don't let the above rating put you off from your visit to Vanuatu. It is a truly beautiful country with friendly people who are slowly rebuilding their lives after cyclone Pam. There are still poor sections of road and the odd damaged house, but on the whole, they have done a remarkable job and their smiles can be seen... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kristianjohnson
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Kristianjohnson for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hideaway Island and it is regretful that your expectations were not met during your stay with us. We advised and acknowledged to all guests from the date of your arrival late on Thursday evening until the Friday evening that we had some issues with water supply which... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2016

We stayed at Hideaway for my birthday this year and it was amazing! From the boat ride over the staff were warm and friendly, I only had to tell the bar staff my name once and they remembered it for the rest of our stay. We stayed in one of the villas and it was worth it! Waking up looking... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lyndsey a
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks Lyndsey A and we enjoyed having you here for your birthday weekend. Hope to see you again soon. Hideaway Island More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

Great trip back to Vanuatu which I like to call my second home. I look forward to my next trip with my whole family☺ the snorkeling and staff are the very best and thank you for a great holiday. I miss my amazing view from my villa with all the comforts you need on a relaxing holiday. A big thank... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lucilulucorbett
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Lucilulucorbett, Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hideaway Island and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Tropical regards, Hideaway Island Team More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2016

The Ritz it isn't, not even the Holiday Inn, but the basic accommodation is clean and comfortable and the staff, mostly locals (no blow-in backpackers, thankfully [my prejudice]), are really helpful and friendly. The little bar and restaurant offer fairly standard options, but possibly because the area doesn't have a notable cuisine, pizza, steak and fish and chips is what... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ec0sse28
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Ec0sse28, And thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hideaway Island. Our staff are the reason it all works so well and being that most of our team are from the local village of Mele they are proud of the island and love working with all our guests. We are in the process of... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2016

We stayed 3 nights. Suggest you coincide with the Village Walk on Tuesdays (not a "traditional" village but where the locals actually live) or the on-island dinner on Thursday night. Unless you're a die-hard watersports person you can easily do the scuba/snorkeling in a day-trip. If in Vila for more than 4 days I highly recommend a day snorkeling the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sauladvisor
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Sauladvisor, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hideaway Island and we are glad that you got to experience both the Village Walk and also the Melanesian Feast which is catered for by the local Mummas from Mele Village, featuring the local dish of Tolouk or as the ladies call it "Mele Meat Pie".... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2016

We stayed three nights in a beach bungalow sleeping our family of five. We would have stayed longer but they were completely booked out and we could see why! We loved the low key vibe of the island. The staff were really lovely and helpful - especially Stella! The bungalows are very spacious and airy with a traditional Vanuatu feel.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke M
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Brooke M, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hideaway Island and we hope you had an enjoyable time for the remainder of your stay in Vanuatu. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Vanuatu. Tropical Regards, Hideaway Island Team More 

Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2016

My husband and I stayed at Hideaway Island for a week during October. This trip was to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. I had booked a twin share room, we had been upgraded to a bungalow on the first night - my husband loved this so we upgraded to a bungalow for the last 3 nights of our stay. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank geminikitty66
hideawayisland, General Manager at Hideaway Island Resort, responded to this review

Hi Geminikitty66, Great star sign and year! Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Hideaway and thrilled that you had such an excellent experience. I will pass on your comments to Christian and the Dive crew, it is nice to see when our guests have such a positive experience. New Menus are currently being... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

634 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (622)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
View from Room (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (69)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (296)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
5.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,361 reviews
8.4 mi away
Aquana Beach Resort
Aquana Beach Resort
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
276 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
4.4 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
13.0 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hideaway Island Resort

Address: PO Box 1110, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range: $73 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hideaway Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hideaway Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Island Hotel Port Vila
Hideaway Island Port Vila
Hideaway Island Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hideaway Island Resort staff and other travelers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hideaway Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Dormitory accommodation is least expensive, but could be pretty noisy. The "attached bungalows" are good value and perfectly satisfactory.”
 of 5 bubbles Ec0sse28, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
“Get a bungalow, you'll have more room and your own bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles geminikitty66, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“Because it is on a small island, every room has an awesome aspect.”
 of 5 bubbles goobaball, Sep 23, 2016 | Read review
“Lagoon view bungalows are excellent, all are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles colinWaitomo, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“go the bungalow”
  • magic
 of 5 bubbles selenec541, Aug 17, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay