We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Friendly Islander Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuku'alofa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Friendly Islander Hotel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Washington DC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

Papiloa's place gives you a taste of the true Tonga. The host is an amazing woman: Tonga's first commoner female Parlimentarian, a nightclub owner, tireless advocate for human, gender and environmental rights, and a real hoot! The hotel is comfortable, the hospitality gracious. The best feature is THE ONLY SWIMMING POOL in Nukualofa. Always a pleasure to hang out there.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deanhamer
Windhoek, Namibia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

I stayed last june and again this march and april whilst it is not a 5 star hotel it is just what i always look for if you look at my own f.b page ian argus stuart you will see that i travel the world staying and filming on uninhabited islands and can afford to stay in any hotel in... More 

Helpful?
Thank ianargusstuart
Tarawa Atoll, Republic of Kiribati
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

The hotel is ideal for friends traveling in a group or families traveling or vacationing in Tonga. The location is quite far from the airport but is close to many restaurants and bars such as, Billfish, Ruby's Place to name a few. The room we stayed in had hot water but no wi-fi available in the rooms although, free wi-fi... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nesian89
Suva, Fiji
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

I keep returning to Friendly Islander for several reasons. Papiloa and Fiona make guests feel very welcome. Other major pluses include location on waterfront within easy walking distance of Billfish and Emerald Restaurant etc, free WiFi, and complementary guest transfers from airport. The latter is important as taxi drivers can charge up to 50 TOP one way from airport to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lex T
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Very dirty we move to one room shower was not working went to another room the toilet was crack and we wake up with flea in our bed. The owner doe not know or care whats going on on that place.It could be a 4 star but it not.you better of staying at a Lodge .Do you think paying $120... More 

Helpful?
Thank J T
Papiloa, Manager at The Friendly Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment and sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay. Pity that you did not let us know issues that were not up to required standard. We do value all our guests feedback and always try our best to keep everyone happy, as best we can. malo More 

Travelers are raving about these Nuku'alofa hotels

St. Paul, Minnesota USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

The worse ever!!Roaches!! No running water!! White phone was almost black with all the dirt on it. Water bottle was refilled, the seal was broken. We could hear the roosters crowing as the walls are paper thin! You would be better off sleeping on the street!

Helpful?
1 Thank mjrenb1
Papiloa, Manager at The Friendly Islander Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay. Thank you for your valued comment and rest assured we will look into improvement of these issues. malo More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We found the location and accommodation to be friendly, adequate, and comfortable for our intents and purposes during our stay there. Papiloa and staff were friendly and helpful. Anything we needed or had concerns about we could tell them about and it was dealt with promptly.

Helpful?
3 Thank 350GTNissan
Johnston Atoll
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

That unique part of Tongan character that means they don't care about anything, especially hygiene. This place is Cockroach infested heaven, believe me, I don't mind bug or two but when it is actually infested it's hard to sleep. Can you imagine sleeping with a cockroach climbing on your face and under the blankets. Wretch! They told me to keep... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank fobabett
Papiloa, Manager at The Friendly Islander Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your valued comment and apologise for delayed response. Sorry for your unpleasant stay and we do note these issues for necessary action going forward. malo More 

Savusavu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have stayed at the Friendly Islander, better known locally as "Papiloa's Place" two times. We chose the older less expensive rooms (no AirCon, just a fan) and were quite pleased. While older, they were very clean and very well maintained. The location is right by the sea and close to town. The staff were very nice and made sure... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fijijohn
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

On 6/7/13 I didn't spent my 4 days in Tonga with my family because i like to experience the Friendly Islander Hotel to compare what i read and hurt about Papiloa and her services, now i can't regret are single minute but i count every moment that i been with them and how they make me feel like home, because... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ltuionetoa
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Italy Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Black Pearl Suites
The Black Pearl Suites
#5 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loumaile Lodge
Loumaile Lodge
#6 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Friendly Islander was built as a destination for culturally-minded travellers from around the world who seek an insight into the "real Tonga" in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere with Papiloa. Situated on the waterfront with older wing hotel units, or fales/bungalows set in tropical gardens with local flora and fauna. We are a 30 min drive from the airport and a 5 min drive to town along the waterfront. We are 10 mins walk from 'restaurant row,' the Saturday morning flea market ('swap meet'), the fish markets and the main interisland wharf. Fale/Bungalow accommodation amongst gardens and some budget accommodation available in older wing hotel units facing with sea or pool view. All rooms with shower and toilet and some rooms with kitchen facilities and air condition also cable TV/DVD. We now offer free transfer from/to airport and best to please book in advance. Can also offer free transport into town as you need. Wifi available mainly in reception and breakfast or other meals is also available on arrangement at reception. Suitable for groups, individual or family travels. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Friendly Islander Hotel

Address: Vuna Rd, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Tongatapu Island > Nuku'alofa
Price Range: $31 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Friendly Islander Hotel
The Friendly Islander Hotel Tonga/Tongatapu Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing