We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Papua Hotel

Save
Share
Mary Street, Port Moresby 121 Papua New Guinea
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (205)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (28)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 03/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Grand Papua Hotel
Updated 03/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 21 hotels in Port Moresby
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A warm welcome to the Grand Papua Hotel. Within the bustling central business district of Port Moresby sits the Grand Papua Hotel. Our Hotel offers a Luxury Boutique hotel experience including dedicated ladies floors. The hotel guestrooms and suites has stunning sea views of Ela Beach and Fairfax Harbor and comfortable accommodations that continues to serve both corporate and leisure travelers. Built in 2011, the Grand Papua Hotel uses modern technology, including paperless iPad® check-ins, to make your stay as pleasant and streamlined as possible. Enjoy the Modern Colonial interiors designed by Space Studios for a truly delightful experience in Papua New Guinea. Come enjoy all of the hotel’s amenities, including the Grand Brasserie restaurant, Grand Bar, and Grand Spa, as well as several options for our state-of-the-art meeting facilities and events. Located nearby many of Port Mores by's local attractions, the Grand Papua Hotel is ideal for all trips, both business and pleasure, to Papua New Guinea.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Diving
Hiking
Kids stay free
Valet parking
Wifi
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Snorkeling
Windsurfing
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Walking tours
Nightclub / DJ
Children's television networks
Kids pool
Free airport transportation
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage chair
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
302Reviews2Q+A89Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 103
  • 113
  • 70
  • 11
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jelena Pesic wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
I stayed in this hotel twice for quarantine and both times had a great experience. The suite was spacious with a wonderful sea view and balcony, which makes a big difference during quarantine. In addition, some gym equipment was placed in the suite at my request and there was a flexibility in terms of selecting food from either quarantine or room service menu, without additional costs. Also, food was delicious and staff very friendly, attentive to details and ready to accommodate specific requests. I was often called to check whether I were well or needed anything. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel. It also has very good restaurants, spa and beauty salon which I used on other occasions.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Sea views are recommended.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Cohen, General Manager at Grand Papua Hotel
Responded Sep 9, 2021
Dear Jelena Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoy staying at Grand Papua Hotel and that we are able to make your quarantine stays a more pleasurable experience. It was good to welcome you back to our hotel and we hope to see you again soon. Keep well Kind regards Rob
Read more
Ghea A wrote a review Aug 2021
Papua New Guinea2 contributions
Excellent Room for me , the best ! What can you ask for . I definitely come back and use the same room . Wow,, Thank you much Grand Papua. The only thing is down for me is the bed wall is with a mark of something, and the curtain needs to clean or wash, there is a bit of red wine stain, its not good to see, so I hope the House keeper will remain it all cleaned. But apart from that, no more. it was all good experienced to me to be on that place, I will come back again one day. Im just near by, if i want a staycation and out to my house, I just go and stay in this place. Was here for night out with my god daughter, that i loved most, we really enjoyed staying to that Level. Very helpful staff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Try the Presidential Suites, you will love it
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Dx V wrote a review May 2021
5 contributions
Don’t normally write reviews but this hotel deserves it. We got picked up by John from the airport, he was awesome. Front desk people were the best I have ever encountered. Always smiling & helpful. Simeon was our fav but they were all good. Priscilla went out of her way to help us book from Australia. Size/location/cleanliness/service was all 5*.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Cohen, Owner at Grand Papua Hotel
Responded May 17, 2021
Dear dxv2020 Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us at Grand Papua Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that the team left a lasting positive impression on you and your family. You all became a part of our family for the short time you were with us. I have passed your feedback on to the team so they can see the impact their warm hospitality has on our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Rob Cohen General Manager
Read more
Wikai M wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Was here for a business lunch, was impressed with the customer service, attention to detail and the genuine smile and service. The food was great, ordered lunch, the dressing was excellent.. Thank you Doreen for the opportunity, thanks Margaret and Sue for the food and the service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Cohen, Owner at Grand Papua Hotel
Responded May 17, 2021
Dear wikaim Thank you for your feedback. I am really pleased you enjoyed your lunch at Grand Papua Hotel. Our new Executive Chef who recently joined the team is working with his chefs to continuously put out delicious food to keep our guests coming back for more. I have passed your feedback on to the team and thanked them for their contribution. We hope to welcome you back soon Kind regards Rob Cohen General Manager
Read more
Kate wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a stay. We would call housekeeping and no answer so reception takes your request and do nothing about it. They will only attend to you when you get pissed off and start screaming. Restaurant didnt have most of what was on the menu. I ordered a mocha and never got it coz there was no milk. Never did they come back and ask if I wanted a different coffee. Mind you we stayed in the executive suite and even was not working. I called down and spoke to the female duty manager and requested for assistance and never did she come. We asked for a spare plate didnt come 20mins later I was frustrated called down angry on the phone and we had the plan. I had to do plan B cooking for our xmas dinner. We had booked at this hotel to spend our family christmas and got a very poor service. Oh and lastly on check out monday morning I called down to reception asking for assistance with our luggage and they never came. I had to get my 7yr old daughter and 3yr old niece to each carry a suitcase and I carried all the rest of our luggage on both my shoulders and hands and also my 4month old baby and go down to check out. Arriving in the lobby I could see 4 guys standing at the reception chit chatting away and seeing the state we were in when the elevator opened non of them came forward to apologize and take the luggage off me coz my baby was actually hanging off my hands. Never would I recommend this hotel to anyone. Very unhappy guest!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Cohen, Owner at Grand Papua Hotel
Responded Jan 3, 2021
Dear Kate Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us at the Grand Papua Hotel. Based on the information provided, it seems we failed to meet your family’s expectations in many aspects and I must sincerely apologize for that. I have reached out by email in order to see how we can change the negative perception you left with, and I am glad that you have decided to come back and allow us the opportunity to show you the service levels that our hotel has become synonymous for over the past 9 years. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Rob Cohen General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$142 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Papua New GuineaPapua RegionPort Moresby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
161
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Papua Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Papua Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Touaguba Hill Lookout (0.6 miles) and Saint Mary's Catholic Cathedral (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Papua Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Papua Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Papua Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Papua Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Papua Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tasty Bite Indian Restaurant, Asia Aromas, and Tandoor on the Harbour.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Papua Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Grand Papua Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Grand Papua Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Papua Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Papua Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Grand Papua Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Ahearn Point Fort Ruins (3.8 miles).