We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wild Rover Hostels

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Wild Rover Hostels
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

631 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wild Rover Hostels
See the most recent reviews
Showing 404: English reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

My friend and I spent 3 nights at this hotel. After a few days of traveling through the south America we were sick and tired of bad hostels conditions. We were positively surprised that bathrooms and rooms at wild rover were clean. Strongly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina_traveller91
Management response:

Dear Tina, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel La Paz and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

Wow!! I have been traveling for two years now. I started staying in hostels this year in January. I have stayed in hostels in Peru, Chile, Brasil, Uruguay and now Bolivia. The Wild Rover in La Paz has been the best for dormitory style rooms. The location is great as it is walking distance to the main places one would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Senaithailu
Management response:

Dear Senaithailu, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel La Paz and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well...

Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

Typical party hostel but what makes the difference is that the beds showers and cleanliness of the place is so good! Great laundry service and tour desk. Super friendly staff at the bar. Top bar meals kept me fed!... Warning you may get stuck here longer than you intended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah j
Management response:

Dear Sarah, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel La Paz and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well...

Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

A fundamental is to have a plug socket in the room... They were all placed in the reception with lockers which on the safety front is good but it's frustrating from an ease point of view especially when you have to buy locks for the lockers... The hostel should have sold them on the side which would help then raise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Criticaltravellers
Management response:

Dear Criticaltravellers, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hostel. Your input, and the feedback from all our guest is important to us as we always want guest expectations to be met during their stay. Per your comments, we are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations and have taken your feedback on board...

Norway
Reviewed September 25, 2016

This hostel has a very good reputation for throwing the best parties and having good customer service. I heard so much stuff about this place that I started to believe it was overrated... I was wrong! The staff do everything they can for you to have the craziest party nights in Bolivia! And in the day time they kindly help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M0rten91
Management response:

Dear M0rten91, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel La Paz and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that we lived up to your expectations. We hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here so much we found it hard to leave. Great atmosphere. The cleaners are thorough and leave the place spotless. Showers were always hot. All of the reception team were super helpful and patient with us. Special thanks to the amazing Edith for all your help. She really took care of us. A real gem. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel La Paz and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 21, 2016

I tried Wild Rover in Arequipa and I was not happy but I decided to give it another chance in La Paz as I arrived late at night and I didn't have another option. Again I made a mistake! This time even worst than Arequipa! Dark rooms!! You can't not see anything! Really loud music, unfriendly staff, awfull breakfast, awfull...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrychica
Management response:

Dear Patrychica, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hostel. Your input, and the feedback from all our guest is important to us as we always want guest expectations to be met during their stay. Per your comments, we are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations, in Arequipa or La Paz. I would...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 20, 2016

I found the hostel fantastic value for money, great layout and food quality was fine as well as the entertainment / drinking sessions. The staff were great and hostel professionally run. Showers and wifi good. Drinks and food priced reasonably. I stayed here twice - to and from Peru, first time was great fun and was excited to come back....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
Management response:

Dear Keith, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel La Paz and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well...

Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

Best hostel in South America, great for parties and the staff are amazing, especially Steve, who is the best bar man and makes an amazing white Russian! Food is also really good here and we'll priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
Management response:

Dear Pamela, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel La Paz and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

Really nice hostel, clean and friendly staff, hot showers and the food there is quite good too. The rooms were a little cold but that is everywhere in Bolivia. This is a party hostel with a full bar every night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Griff24
Management response:

Dear Griff24, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel La Paz and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 76 in La Paz
1,038 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel
Stannum Boutique Hotel
#2 of 76 in La Paz
518 reviews
0.6 mi away
LOKI La Paz
LOKI La Paz
#1 of 71 in La Paz
1,001 reviews
0.6 mi away
3600 Hostel
3600 Hostel
#4 of 71 in La Paz
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Wild Rover Hostels

Address: Comercio 1476, La Paz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Price Range: $10 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Wild Rover Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Rover Backpackers Hotel La Paz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Wild Rover Hostels staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Wild Rover Hostels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room L is hidden away and has a rad view of the city.”
135arunt, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms further away from the bar are quieter which I'd recommend if you want to get any earlier nights”
K4608JTjamesh, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“The higher in the alphabet your room, the quieter it will be (i.e. T is quieter than B)”
NurseBackpacker, Jan 18, 2017 | Read review
“Basement rooms (V,W,X,Y,Z) are quieter.”
emily082017, Jan 7, 2017 | Read review
“I would suggest staying in a room further away from the bar, as the party music stays quite loud most nights.”
C1114XNjonw, Nov 23, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question