We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wild Rover Hostels

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Wild Rover Hostels
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

571 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 362: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed in a 6 bed female room over Christmas. I flew in from Buenos Aires and took a taxi from the airport for 60BOB. You have to ring the bell to be let into the building, and there is a security desk at the front with a security guard always present. On check in, a bright green wristband is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cdn77
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Loved the rover! Definitely coming back to dancedancedance. Special thanks to Kevin for always being kind, Sergio for the looks and shout out to Stephen who was amazing, inside and outside the bar ;) Breakfast just continental, showers were nice, bed really good (for as far as I used my bed). Besitossss xxxx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saskia D
salwalalaoui21, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Rover Hostels, responded to this review

Dear Saskia, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel La Paz and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We find this hostel in our guide but it was only, at night, a place of drunk people and, during the day, an hangover place. The staff looks like they don't like their job. Another bad point, if you have a small bag, the staff will take your passeport, so you can't pay by card in most of the big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raphael G
salwalalaoui21, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Rover Hostels, responded to this review

Dear Raphael, We would like to thank you for your review and take a moment to respond to your comments. The Wild Rover is an Irish party hostel and therefore we recognise it doesn't fit all. With this being said, we are pleased to hear you were happy with the quality of our rooms and their cleanliness. We are not...

La Crosse, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago

Though I stayed here only one night, I can easily rate it as my worst experience during a 2-month trip across South America. This is partially because all 3 stalls in the basement public bathroom were plugged when we got there (though this was cleaned by the next morning), partially due to the lack of electrical outlets, but by and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emily082017
salwalalaoui21, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Rover Hostels, responded to this review

Dear Emily, Thank you for your review and we are extremely sorry to hear your stay at the Wild Rover Hostel was your worst experience during your 2 month travels. We would like to respond to the concern you have about bed bugs. We can confirm there are actually no bed bugs in La Paz due to them being a...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Reading a few reviews there, i think the wild rover is unfortunate to get travellers who don't realise what they are getting into. Of course this is noisy and busy... Its a party hostel. There is some craic to be had here, once you're not an uptight ecofriendly "save the rainforest" snob. The beds are comfy, and the dorms (when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
salwalalaoui21, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Rover Hostels, responded to this review

Dear Daniel, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel La Paz and giving us a review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. We would also like to let you know we have taken onboard the points...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wild rover has a reputation for being a party hostel and that's exactly what it is! After spending a couple of weeks in quiet, reserved hostels my partner and I couldn't wait to have a few drinks and a bit of craic - wild rover did not disappoint! The staff are friendly and approachable. Had a god awful hangover the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ciara D
salwalalaoui21, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Rover Hostels, responded to this review

Dear Ciara, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel La Paz and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our experience here was poor. Although the people was reception were friendly and overall the staff were friendly, we did not enjoy this hostel. Firstly, we had a private room which was expensive in comparison to better places we have stayed. It was cold, the bed was not comfortable. The breakfast was very poor. Again, for the price maybe a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
Paris, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Its a deception. This hostel is really oriented on the business. Before your last night they write your name on a paper putted on your dormitory room (and the name or other in the dorms) telling that you are have to present at the reception asap for urgent matter. Then when you show they ask you do you want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diving F
La Paz, Bolivia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had a really great time at WildRover La Paz! We missed the big parties but there was always fiesta!! Rooms are clean, all the staff is super nice and make you full home! Free shots and free drinks randomly! Mariana e Sara - PORTUGAL

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marianasmbvaz
salwalalaoui21, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Rover Hostels, responded to this review

Dear Mariana, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel La Paz and giving us such a great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. If you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well...

Reviewed December 11, 2016

I have a love/hate relationship with Wild Rover. On the one hand they have really comfortable beds, hot water and fast wifi. On the other they have these ridiculous caveats like not renting towels (only selling them) requiring pre-payment if you want to book for some future date and won't have internet to reply to them and needing to write...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fouad E
salwalalaoui21, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Rover Hostels, responded to this review

Dear Fouad, We would like to thank you for choosing Wild Rover Hostel La Paz and giving us a review. We are pleased to hear overall you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can look forward to your custom again in the very near future. We would like to take this opportunity to reply to the your comments made...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#3 of 76 in La Paz
993 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Austria
Hostal Austria
#26 of 76 in La Paz
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
LOKI La Paz
LOKI La Paz
#2 of 67 in La Paz
874 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Adventure Brew Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Wild Rover Hostels

Address: Comercio 1476, La Paz, Bolivia
Location: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Price Range: $10 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Wild Rover Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Rover Backpackers Hotel La Paz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Wild Rover Hostels staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Wild Rover Hostels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The higher in the alphabet your room, the quieter it will be (i.e. T is quieter than B)”
 of 5 bubbles Cdn77, yesterday | Read review
“Basement rooms (V,W,X,Y,Z) are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles emily082017, 1 week ago | Read review
“I would suggest staying in a room further away from the bar, as the party music stays quite loud most nights.”
 of 5 bubbles C1114XNjonw, Nov 23, 2016 | Read review
“There all great”
 of 5 bubbles , Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms J or K for a quiet night (more or less)”
 of 5 bubbles jeanluc865, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay