We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Black Bird Hotel

Save
Share
Gencturk Cad. No:43, Istanbul 34740 Turkey
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$134
Tripadvisor$75
Priceline
otelz.com
Lol.travel
FindHotel$172
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (31)
360
Panoramas (26)
Room & Suite (186)

About

#683 of 2,304 hotels in Istanbul
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travelers visiting Istanbul, Black Bird Hotel is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its family-friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Black Bird Hotel makes it easy to enjoy the best of Istanbul.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as air conditioning and a minibar, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel.

Black Bird Hotel features a 24 hour front desk, room service, and a gift shop, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a fitness center and free breakfast. If you are driving to Black Bird Hotel, free parking is available.

Close to some of Istanbul's most popular landmarks, such as Balat (1.3 mi) and Galata Tower (1.3 mi), Black Bird Hotel is a great destination for tourists.

If you like Indian restaurants, Black Bird Hotel is conveniently located near Turkuaz Gurme Restaurant, Little India Restaurant, and Cafe Lumiere.

Istanbul is also known for some great history museums, including Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia Museum / Church (Ayasofya), and Kariye Museum (The Chora Church), which are not too far from Blackbird Hotel.

Whether you’re traveling for business, pleasure or both, Black Bird Hotel is sure to make your visit to Istanbul one worth remembering.

Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Tennis court
Nightclub / DJ
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Spa
Hammam
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Turkish
81Reviews6Q+A1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 14
  • 41
  • 20
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Departure811861 wrote a review Jun 2019
Germany852 contributions303 helpful votes
Black Bird Hotel lies in a street opposite Şezade Cami and not far away from Istanbul Büyükşehir Belediyesi. From here you can reach all the sights on foot if you are good at walking. To Sultanahmet it is about 30 min. Of course you can also take the tramway. At the entrance there is a cafe/bar. Next door you can exchange money, and 50 m away taxis are waiting. The taxi routes are a bit complicated. Mind where the taxi driver is going. However, with the tram they are not allowed to go into all directions. When I arrived, the service at the reception was friendly. Later that changed. The door to my room, which lay behind the lift, was hidden by another door. The electric light did not work well. The furniture was okay. On the desk I found a big free bottle of water and a plate with fresh fruit. That was very friendly and polite. The room had no view, or rather I could only see some roofs with satellite antennae. The bathroom was spacious, but it needed restauration. Dinner was okay, there were several desserts to choose from. As I had to leave the hotel for the airport very early in the morning, I needed a wake-up call. It was half an hour late. Very sad! Instead of breakfast, it had been agreed that i would get a lunch packet. When I came to the reception, nothing had been prepared. The receptionist sent a man to the kitchen where he did not get anything. He then ran into the cafe to grab a sandwich and a small bottle of juice. This service must be definitely improved because all the time my transfer service had to wait. -
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Yasemin YILMAZ, Satış at Black Bird Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Both your complaints and your satisfaction are very valuable to us. We will be honored to welcome you again, promising that we will make up for our shortcomings as soon as possible.
Read more
Laurene_Alicia wrote a review Jun 2018
Trondheim, Norway11 contributions5 helpful votes
Upsides: - The room and bathroom were clean and we got a really big room, nicely decorated. - The shower was really good, very warm water and good pressure. - The location was fairly good, right in the middle of the Fatih area. - There is a convenient store across the street. Downsides: - The breakfast is terrible, I don't have high expectations but this is really the lowest quality you can find and the choice was poor. I got sick from the breakfast so I stop eating the food from the hotel and bought my own stuff from a store. - There is a big Mosque close by (Şehzade Camii) and the prayer call by the muezzin at 3h30 is extremely loud. - You have to walk about 10-15min to reach the closest Tram or Metro Station. - I went for a massage at the hotel spa but it was extremely rough and painful to the point that I left crying in the middle (by no mean would I call that a massage), I don't know if this was a standard "turkish massage" but if you are looking for a normal relaxing massage don't go to the hotel spa. - The internet is very weak and it's almost impossible to connect to the WIFI from the room. When a hotel claims to have internet in the rooms but in reality it's not really working I feel duped. - They were only 2 power sockets in the entire room which were for the lamps on the night stands, this is really a problem when traveling since each person usually has several devices to charge at night (camera, phone, tablet/laptop) while also using the lamps, which was not possible... - It was pretty hot at night, there is a AC system but it makes quite a bit of noise...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Yasemin YILMAZ, Satış at Black Bird Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We are really sorry for your bad comment, but it will be our biggest goal from now on to make up for it. Nect time you come, we will be honored to tell you that these problems have been fixed
Read more
Hayder F Faraj wrote a review Aug 2017
Baghdad, Iraq7 contributions7 helpful votes
For a two-star hotel, it's good. But for a four-star hotel; as it's supposed to be, it's very poor. The breakfast is bad. The bed is small and room is too small, it is clean though. The staff is decent. And they allowed us to keep our luggage for a few hours after we checked out.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Yasemin YILMAZ, Satış at Black Bird Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
We apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced. We would like to inform you that from this moment on, the details you have given will be carefully examined by our management team and we will take the necessary measures.
Read more
Ola E wrote a review Oct 2016
Amman32 contributions17 helpful votes
I'm just back from my first visit to Istanbul, and I must say I didn't regret choosing this hotel for one minute. It was just perfect, starting with the great location - less than a 5-minute walk to Aksaray tram station from which you can basically go everywhere. YIt's also a comfortable walking distance to the grand bazaar and Sultanahmet, The room was small, but not too small, it serves its purpose. Free Wi-fi, although the signal went up and down so if you're there for business and need to do skype calls and whatnot you need to take that into consideration. As for the ordinary tourist who's there to explore the city, not to indulge in the pleasures of the hospitality business, what more could you ask for than a clean room, a comfortable bed and a good breakfast? Yes, the food was good too, only the tea was way too strong for my taste. And I must commend the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom, which was very well-ventilated, something I found lacking in 5-star hotels at times.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
Rooms
Cleanliness
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Yasemin YILMAZ, Satış at Black Bird Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Your appreciation is an honor for us, and if you let us know your compliments and warnings,it will be a blessing for us to provide better service to you :)
Read more
Footloose1957 wrote a review Jul 2016
Australia76 contributions13 helpful votes
We arrived back in Istanbul just after the Airport bombing (June 2016) and the majority of my group opted to leave Turkey. Our rooms (5 x 2 nights) were non refundable, but management waived this and gave a refund. Turkish Airways also waived any fees for flight changes. Turkey is suffering from a downturn in tourist numbers, so I see this gesture as extremely generous. This is the 2nd time I have stayed here. It is a bit difficult on arrival, as there isn't a lot of room to park, so exiting transport needs to be "efficient". Check in is a breeze, the staff have good English. The rooms are a good size with good amenities. The A/C, WiFi are very good. Breakfast is better than the normal Turkish buffet. There were some renovations being done to the hotel cafe beside the reception area. It was transformed so quickly in the 2 days we were there, I would say it will be finished by the time anyone reads this. There is a Haman downstairs and also massage facilities. We didn't use the Haman, but the massage was good at a reasonable price (65TL) The location is not the best I have had in Istanbul, but we were able to walk to wherever we needed to go. The restaurant (Iskendar) left from the hotel and across the road was one of the best for value that we had here. One point of annoyance, when I asked at reception for the address of an area I know as the fish market, I was given the address of a restaurant under the Galata Bridge. These restaurants are a tourist trap and give Istanbul a bad name. Overall though, the Black Bird is an excellent choice considering value for money. We are scheduled to stay here again next year.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Yasemin YILMAZ, Satış at Black Bird Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Your satisfaction is very valuable for us to provide better services. we thank you
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
$48 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TurkeyIstanbulGrand Bazaar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
89
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Black Bird Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Black Bird Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Sehzade Mehmet Mosque (0.1 miles), Valens Aqueduct (Bozdogan Kemeri) (0.2 miles), and Laleli Mosque (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Black Bird Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Black Bird Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Black Bird Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Black Bird Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Byzantion Bistro & Restaurant, Lotiz Lounge & Hookah, and Behzadem Cafe & Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Black Bird Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Does Black Bird Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Black Bird Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Black Bird Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Black Bird Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Black Bird Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Istanbul.
Does Black Bird Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Black Bird Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Turkish.