We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Route 39

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Route 39
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 41: English reviews
Jordan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

Severe case of long term bed bugs and terrible management!! Very rude owner! We were promised a refund on our booking cancellation and received a message after contacting the hostel a number of times saying it is impossible to be refunded.

Helpful?
Thank MANAL J
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2016

I stayed in a 12 beds mixed dorm. It wasn't the cleanest place but not bad for a few days. The best part of this hostel is the rooftop restaurant where you can meet other travelers or just hang around. The staffs (mostly men) were friendly but I felt they were even more so to solo women travelers. The owner... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sil K
Route39House, Yönetici at Route 39, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable review, We are happy to hear that our guests are happy here. We will pay more attention about the cleaning. We hope next time when we welcome you again you'll find our hostel better then before. Sincerely yours More 

Ljungby, Kronobergs Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

I feel terrible when i first arrived the plug doesnt work for my mobile charging. The hostel is abit difficult to find for the first time. The room not so Clean. I dont recomment the room with street veiw. Its really piss me off with the non stop traffice. You cant sleep well. The breakfast on the roof was relaxing,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lupin L
Bangkok
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

They have various types of room. You can stay alone or in a mixed dorm. I recommend that you pay a little more for your own room. The mixed rooms are quite messed up. The bathroom are shared. And the place is really close to the tram station and the good breakfast place.

Helpful?
Thank Nalinee N
Route39House, Yönetici at Route 39, responded to this review

Dear Nalinee, Thank you for your valuable comment. We are really glad to hear good comments about our property. You have our word that next time when we welcome you again everything will be much more better then before. We always will be happy to see you again... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

The hostel is hard to locate, especially for not very observant ppl. The quality to price ratio speaks for itself. The owner's and the staff perception of "cleanness" is... how to put it... not "western" :) We had a mold of impressive size in our shower - good specimen for biologists though :) However, the owner and the staff were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Slavo M

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile

Dirty hostel and it roof top aint good feels like a yarn not bad with the staff, tho a good place to meet people but still dirty and cheap, you need to walk up the hill to reach istiklal street and its hard

Helpful?
1 Thank Kinan M. H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

Do not stay here! Severe case of long term bed bugs and terrible management! Very rude owner who knew about the bed bug issue but let out the rooms anyway. After one night in the hostel we cancelled the remainder of our stay due to being covered in bed bug bites and were promised half of our money back (45... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alyce D
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015 via mobile

It's may be the cheapest hostel in Istanbul. Having said that, it's good enough for the price. It has a kitchen, very important for the budget traveler. The rooftop is the nicest part. The staff is very nice. The owners, even though they're kind with the guests, they won't have any problem on shouting to their staff in front of... More 

Helpful?
Thank QuiqueLeon
Route39House, Yönetici at Route 39, responded to this review

Dear Leon, Thank you for your valuable comment. We are happy to hear that you had a good time here. We are so sorry if we put you in a hard situation and you heard the problem with staff. We ensure you never gonna happen again. Always we will be happy to welcome you again. Regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

If you are looking for something shiny and posh, this is not the place to stay. If you are looking for great friends,decent prices, beautiful people from all over the world, incredible view from the rooftop terrace and lovable dogs, Route 39 is your place. We ve been here for 1 week, room was small but cosy,we shared a bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank elina e
Route39House, Yönetici at Route 39, responded to this review

Dear Elina, Thank you so much for your valuable comment. I hope you are doing well. We are so happy to hear good words from our guests/friends about our property. The socket problem will be solved soon. Route 39 is your place, Please give my best to your husband. We wish to see you soon again. Regards Andreas More 

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

I was in this dump for almost 22 days.It's not what I was expected.very dirty and had some kind of germs.and dorms contain 10 beds instead of 6.It was my worst hostel that I ever been.there are many nicer hostels in the city.............

Helpful?
2 Thank moroccotodeath
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Golden Galata
#174 of 1,025 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
New City / Taksim
Seyyah Hostel Istanbul
Seyyah Hostel Istanbul
#100 of 1,025 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Erenler
Hotel Erenler
#147 of 1,025 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Stanpoli Hostel
Stanpoli Hostel
#20 of 1,025 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Sultanahmet
Subrosa Hotel Istanbul
Subrosa Hotel Istanbul
#99 of 1,025 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Juliet Rooms & Kitchen
#24 of 1,178 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Beyoglu

Neighborhood Profile
Beyoglu
Istanbul’s most famous street, pedestrianized Istiklal Caddesi (Independence Avenue), throbs day and night and offers a fantastic array of architectural sights, shops, treats, and throngs upon teeming throngs of people. At the avenue’s northeastern end is expansive Taksim Square, thought by many to be the very heart of the city, with many of Turkey’s most renowned restaurants and some of Europe’s most happening nightlife in close proximity. In striking contrast, Beyoglu’s less trafficked areas – such as the affluent Cihangir and the antiques district of Cukurcuma – exude Old World charm and provide contemplative calm and splendid diversion via an assortment of cozy cafes, attractive boutiques, and quiet lanes.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located, the Route 39 is just over a quarter mile from the lively restaurants, bars and shops of Istiklal Avenue and Cihangir area. The hostel has a terrace and rooms with free Wi-Fi.All rooms at the Route 39 include heating. Some rooms have a private bathroom while others include shared bathroom facilities.You can relax with a cup of tea and coffee during the day on our rooftop-terrace with a Bosporus view. The friendly staff can provide you with local information and help you arrange activities. Laundry service is also available on site.The Findikli Tram Stop which provides easy access to the historic Sultanahmet area, is 215 yards away. Kabatas Ferry Port is a quarter mile, Taksim Metro Station is just under half a mile from the property. Ataturk Airport is 12 miles from the property.Beyoglu is a great choice for travelers interested in Galleries, Street Musicians and Beer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Route 39

Address: Mebusan Yokusu Sokak 39 | Taksim Findikli Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Price Range: $10 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Route 39 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing