We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Route 39

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Route 39
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 42: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 22, 2016 via mobile

Found it ok staff were friendly had great time stay extra days will defenetly stay again all the best rob was up hill to get to taxim square but metro is only 10 min away you can also get ferry to Asian side or sit have meal by the sea

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robroy2711
Jordan
Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

Severe case of long term bed bugs and terrible management!! Very rude owner! We were promised a refund on our booking cancellation and received a message after contacting the hostel a number of times saying it is impossible to be refunded.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MANAL J
New Delhi, India
Reviewed January 22, 2016

I stayed in a 12 beds mixed dorm. It wasn't the cleanest place but not bad for a few days. The best part of this hostel is the rooftop restaurant where you can meet other travelers or just hang around. The staffs (mostly men) were friendly but I felt they were even more so to solo women travelers. The owner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sil K
Route39House, Yönetici at Route 39, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable review, We are happy to hear that our guests are happy here. We will pay more attention about the cleaning. We hope next time when we welcome you again you'll find our hostel better then before. Sincerely yours

Ljungby, Kronobergs Län, Sweden
Reviewed January 6, 2016

I feel terrible when i first arrived the plug doesnt work for my mobile charging. The hostel is abit difficult to find for the first time. The room not so Clean. I dont recomment the room with street veiw. Its really piss me off with the non stop traffice. You cant sleep well. The breakfast on the roof was relaxing,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lupin L
Bangkok
Reviewed November 28, 2015

They have various types of room. You can stay alone or in a mixed dorm. I recommend that you pay a little more for your own room. The mixed rooms are quite messed up. The bathroom are shared. And the place is really close to the tram station and the good breakfast place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nalinee N
Route39House, Yönetici at Route 39, responded to this review

Dear Nalinee, Thank you for your valuable comment. We are really glad to hear good comments about our property. You have our word that next time when we welcome you again everything will be much more better then before. We always will be happy to see you again...

Reviewed October 23, 2015

The hostel is hard to locate, especially for not very observant ppl. The quality to price ratio speaks for itself. The owner's and the staff perception of "cleanness" is... how to put it... not "western" :) We had a mold of impressive size in our shower - good specimen for biologists though :) However, the owner and the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Slavo M
Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile

Dirty hostel and it roof top aint good feels like a yarn not bad with the staff, tho a good place to meet people but still dirty and cheap, you need to walk up the hill to reach istiklal street and its hard

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kinan M. H
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 15, 2015

Do not stay here! Severe case of long term bed bugs and terrible management! Very rude owner who knew about the bed bug issue but let out the rooms anyway. After one night in the hostel we cancelled the remainder of our stay due to being covered in bed bug bites and were promised half of our money back (45...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyce D
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed August 17, 2015 via mobile

It's may be the cheapest hostel in Istanbul. Having said that, it's good enough for the price. It has a kitchen, very important for the budget traveler. The rooftop is the nicest part. The staff is very nice. The owners, even though they're kind with the guests, they won't have any problem on shouting to their staff in front of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QuiqueLeon
Route39House, Yönetici at Route 39, responded to this review

Dear Leon, Thank you for your valuable comment. We are happy to hear that you had a good time here. We are so sorry if we put you in a hard situation and you heard the problem with staff. We ensure you never gonna happen again. Always we will be happy to welcome you again. Regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 30, 2015

If you are looking for something shiny and posh, this is not the place to stay. If you are looking for great friends,decent prices, beautiful people from all over the world, incredible view from the rooftop terrace and lovable dogs, Route 39 is your place. We ve been here for 1 week, room was small but cosy,we shared a bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elina e
Route39House, Yönetici at Route 39, responded to this review

Dear Elina, Thank you so much for your valuable comment. I hope you are doing well. We are so happy to hear good words from our guests/friends about our property. The socket problem will be solved soon. Route 39 is your place, Please give my best to your husband. We wish to see you soon again. Regards Andreas

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,114 in Istanbul
1,695 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#132 of 1,114 in Istanbul
2,358 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#345 of 1,114 in Istanbul
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#245 of 1,114 in Istanbul
99 reviews
Eresin Topkapi Hotel
#152 of 1,114 in Istanbul
1,398 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,114 in Istanbul
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Beyoglu

Neighborhood Profile
Beyoglu
Istanbul’s most famous street, pedestrianized Istiklal Caddesi (Independence Avenue), throbs day and night and offers a fantastic array of architectural sights, shops, treats, and throngs upon teeming throngs of people. At the avenue’s northeastern end is expansive Taksim Square, thought by many to be the very heart of the city, with many of Turkey’s most renowned restaurants and some of Europe’s most happening nightlife in close proximity. In striking contrast, Beyoglu’s less trafficked areas – such as the affluent Cihangir and the antiques district of Cukurcuma – exude Old World charm and provide contemplative calm and splendid diversion via an assortment of cozy cafes, attractive boutiques, and quiet lanes.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located, the Route 39 is just over a quarter mile from the lively restaurants, bars and shops of Istiklal Avenue and Cihangir area. The hostel has a terrace and rooms with free Wi-Fi.All rooms at the Route 39 include heating. Some rooms have a private bathroom while others include shared bathroom facilities.You can relax with a cup of tea and coffee during the day on our rooftop-terrace with a Bosporus view. The friendly staff can provide you with local information and help you arrange activities. Laundry service is also available on site.The Findikli Tram Stop which provides easy access to the historic Sultanahmet area, is 215 yards away. Kabatas Ferry Port is a quarter mile, Taksim Metro Station is just under half a mile from the property. Ataturk Airport is 12 miles from the property.Beyoglu is a great choice for travelers interested in Galleries, Street Musicians and Beer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Route 39

Address: Mebusan Yokusu 39 | Taksim Findikli Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Hotel Class:1 star — Route 39 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Route 39 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Route 39 staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Route 39 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Do not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles 975alyced, Sep 15, 2015 | Read review
“Private room on the 3rd floor is good. Not too much noise and still meet great people”
 of 5 bubbles shawandaw, Feb 18, 2015 | Read review
“ask for a calm room 4th floor was great if you travel as a couple.”
 of 5 bubbles GirlinShanghai, Sep 17, 2014 | Read review
“The double shared room I stay was quite spacious, with a big window of the lovely street view, but the furnishing is quite simple actually.”
 of 5 bubbles joycew19, May 9, 2014 | Read review
“the room behind reception next to the computer can be pretty noisy”
  • ensuite in double room
  • twin room
  • double ensuie room
  • twin room
 of 5 bubbles lisas480, Apr 24, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question