We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Colombo City Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Colombo City Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 224: English reviews
Ganemulla, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Place with nice view and cool breeze despite it's location in city center. However there are some rigd rules which are not encouraging gusest to come back. The staff needs to be more flexible and friendly. Snakes/bites are fine but you cannot bring your own bottles in Fridays.

Helpful?
Thank Manjula_Hetti
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a night, room was decent, breakfast was good but the view provided was awesome! Staffs were also very helpful. Location wise it is good too, you're close to the Tuktuk stand and easy access towards other happening places in Colombo. If you're bored you can just go around to the Dutch Hospital and listen to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lenin K
cmb_cityhotels, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we appreciate this very much. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property and would like to welcome you back again if you do visit Colombo. The Management Team More 

North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

We were arriving into Colombo around midnight and heading out by train the next morning. We were after somewhere that did airport transfers, included breakfast, was within walking distance of the train station and did not cost an arm and a leg. This ticked all those boxes (note that airport transfer does cost extra). Some of the previous reviews had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha B
cmb_cityhotels, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review. We always to provide the best service we could to all of our guests, however we have come to understand that we cannot satisfy all the guests all the time, hence some negative reviews by some of our guests who were expecting 5 star hotel standards, from a 2 - 3 star property.... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Hi, We had problems with our flight and we were in the airport for 24 hs and arrived one day later, and they moved the booking without any extra charge. And they even had a tray of fresh fruit in the bedroom. The hotel is clean, has a good breakfast and the location is very good, just beside the Dutch... More 

Helpful?
Thank carmenbarcel0na
cmb_cityhotels, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, When we heard about your bad experience at a foreign Airport our immediate concern was your safety, and as such we made everything possible to make your stay comfortable as possible with out making efforts to charge extra for date change ect We always try our utmost to ensure that our guests are offered the best possible services.... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

Not the cleanest hotel but decent for a good night's sleep. Close by to attractions. Hotel overcharges for airport transfer and the travel desk outside is useless. Take a metered taxi to the airport. The travel guy who sits outside insist we took a tuk tuk and told us that the destination that we wanted to go to was 17km... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hivashinni J
cmb_cityhotels, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We cannot understand the comment of not being the cleanest hotel, We do not have any complaints of not being clean and had you bought this to the notice of the management we would have most certainly looked into your issue and rectified it then and there. As regards to the tuk tuk, we have displayed very prominently... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016

We arrived around 1.30 am and were rather disappointed to find that there was no one ready to greet us. However once we managed to drag our luggage in side the hotel and towards reception a very pleasant chap appeared from the rear and checked us in Rooms are rather small - when compared to other Hotels in the same... More 

Helpful?
Thank naomisuresh
cmb_cityhotels, General Manager at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Most hotels in our category do not have 24 hour reception but whilst we have it open 24 / 7, sometimes there are lapses specially at 1.30 am and very early morning arrivals where there is no room boy available as soon as a guest arrives, unless we are given a estimated time... More 

Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

I REALLY wish I had seen the other reviews warning of the stealing and lying staff. Unfortunately for us, we were ripped off on our first morning in Sri Lanka, after only being in the country for ten hours?!?! I booked the hotel through Agoda and when we arrived, we were told breakfast wasn't included. The following morning, we went... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Katoxo
cmb_cityhotels, General Manager at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, we apologize for the bad experience you had at our property, but having said that we wish to raise some points regarding your issues. Firstly you had booked on Agoda.com on ROOM ONLY basis your reference 99942124 which very clearly states that you have booked the room without breakfast. Secondly we have only cameras at... More 

Travelers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Panadura, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

Actually its a good place to chill out with friends or family.They has roof top restaurant that has 270 view of Colombo city and Colombo port.Mid range prices with good variety of food, soft & hard liquor also soft drinks and fresh juices.It's bit busy in Friday night and Saturday too.,so if you are planing to be their prior booking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janaka_Karu
cmb_cityhotels, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Much appreciated. We are glad that you had a good time The Management Team More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

Location is good.. accessible to public transport. Banks, Money exchangers, etc... are in nearby area. Food is good. Rooms are well maintained. Gentle & polite staff.. Very smooth check in ... and encountered no problem at all...

Helpful?
Thank kedar2015
cmb_cityhotels, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Much appreciated. We are glad that you had a good experience at check in and all aspects of your stay. We would be delighted to welcome you once again on your next visit The Management Team More 

Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

Stayed in convenient location.Heart of Colombo. Good for evening hangouts. They have indoor seating and outdoor seating space.Always use outdoor if not raining. nice view at night and good food. reasonably priced. You can order small portions or kgs for bites. Pleasant service.

Helpful?
1 Thank ChathuraRathuwadu
cmb_cityhotels, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, its very much appreciated. We are glad that you had a pleasant time and enjoyed the food and the ambiance. The management Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.1 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#16 of 45 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Oriental Hotel
Grand Oriental Hotel
#32 of 45 in Colombo
3.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
0.8 mi away
Metro City Hotel
Metro City Hotel
#29 of 45 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Galadari Hotel
Galadari Hotel
#23 of 45 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#14 of 45 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,680 reviews
1.8 mi away
Renuka City Hotel
Renuka City Hotel
#19 of 45 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Colombo City Hotel is located in the heart of Colombo right opposite to the World Trade Center Twin Towers and the old Dutch Hospital,now converted to a modern shopping complex which is a world heritage site, it is also walking distance from the old parliament. A short stroll from the hotel and you will find your self amidst historic buildings and the Colombo port. This is the ideal location for business travelers and people who want a taste of the metropolitan. With 51 rooms and a wonderful rooftop restaurant/bar offering value for money food, beverages & sprites. This hotel is star classified by the tourist board and is offering affordable accommodation at the best location in the City of Colombo and is a great choice for most travelers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colombo City Hotel

Address: 33 Canal Row | Fort Colombo 01, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range: $71 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Colombo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay