We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Havelock Place Bungalow

Certificate of Excellence
6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Havelock Place Bungalow
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 270: English reviews
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely time in this hotel having just arrived in Sri Lanka. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the rooms were very comfortable and we had a really delicious Sri Lankan breakfast. I thoroughly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank X1334UVanne
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here for a night following our flight from London, fanrastic introduction to Sri Lanka, a hidden gem in Colombo. All the staff made us feel so welcome. The pool was an added treat and the food excellent in the restaurant. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Judith M
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon arrival we were greeted with glasses of fresh iced tea (very welcome after 18+ hours of flying!) and a very friendly reception. The bungalow is a bit further out of Colombo than we had realised but you can still get into the hustle and bustle of the centre for around 300 rupees via tuk-tuk. The room was lovely, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Situated some 7 km from the Colombo Fort railway station and 400 Rs by metered tuk tuk. Arriving and stepping into a lush tropical established garden gives a sensation of restful peace. The hotel is a typical colonial style establishment, very tastefully furnished for the period. Rooms likewise are in keeping. A wardrobe provides space for hanging clothes should it... More 

Helpful?
Thank peter0804
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

A real hidden gem in the hustle and bustle of the city. If you're looking for a cosy little boutique hotel conveniently located close to the city look no further. They have a lovely menu including delicious Sri Lankan fare. The al fresco dining in the picture perfect garden makes the food taste even better :) the trees and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chaarya S
havelockplacebungalo, General Manager at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review

Thank you for the five stars! Your review is a delight to read and share with the team, moreover, a testament to the hard work and dedication that goes each and every day to deliver excellence and quality in Sri Lanka! Hope to see you again soon Chaarya. Best wishes, Shakeela More 

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

We had the suite at Havelock. The room was good and clean. The staff including the management was great. The manager and her assistance (two women) were incredibly friendly and helpful! We would definitely recommend the place to friends!

Helpful?
Thank hpetz
havelockplacebungalo, General Manager at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a glowing review; it truly is a pleasure to read it. We are very grateful and it is our pleasure to take care of you. The staff at The Havelock Place Bungalow, try to give our guests the best and make them feel at home in every possible way....... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016

If you'd rather have the personal, old world charm of a small heritage hotel, rather than huge international 5 star facilities, then Havelock Place bungalow will be for you. A small number of quite spacious but sparsely furnished rooms are spread within two, colonial era bungalows. There is an in-ground spa and pool in a leafy courtyard and a patio... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ian2005wine
havelockplacebungalo, General Manager at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We are delighted you had an awesome time with us and that you have enjoyed the team's service and Sri Lankan hospitality! Best wishes, Shakeela & Team More 

Calangute, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016 via mobile

Its an old bungalow nestled among the greens. You don't hear any traffic noise except the birds. We booked a suite which had 2 connected rooms. The larger room had ac and a double bed and smaller had fan and a single cit suitable for one person. The windows opened to the pool so privacy was an issue. The small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Butterfly_Rims
havelockplacebungalo, General Manager at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which we have taken note of. Glad you enjoyed the property otherwise together with the breakfast experience. Would love to have you back. Please contact me if ever you do decide to visit Sri lanka again. With all good wishes, Shakeela More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

Very friendly staff perticularly Sima who was very helpful and full of good advice. The gardens were a pleasure to sit in and soak up the atmosphere. Our room was clean and had a lovely outdoor shower. With a bit of extra attention this would have been 10/10 Some very minor touches The terrace outside our room needed some tlc.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bushyboo
havelockplacebungalo, General Manager at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review of the property which we most appreciate. I have personally looked into the points you have mentioned and have addressed them accordingly. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels around the country. Do come back soon :) Best wishes, Shakeela and team More 

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

Lovely stay in an old fashioned colonial bungalow, staff were very friendly, food was very good if a little overpriced for Sri Lanka. My one complaint is that my stay was supposed to be $100 when I checked my account when I returned I was charged $129.

Helpful?
Thank Bengimano
havelockplacebungalo, General Manager at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Neal, Thank you for your lovely review of the property. Much appreciated!! I have now checked our records with regard to your statement on the overcharged amount and can confirm that we have charged you the right amount which should be a total of USD 122.1 (Exchange rate applicable on 8/4/2016 – 146.41), per night on BB basis.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (123)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#2 of 42 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
0.7 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#9 of 42 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 stars 849 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#5 of 42 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Colombo
Casa Colombo
#8 of 42 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 stars 890 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near The Havelock Place Bungalow

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about The Havelock Place Bungalow

Address: 6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range: $116 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Havelock Place Bungalow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Havelock Place Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Place Bungalow Hotel Colombo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay