We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Highbury Colombo

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
14 / 1, Skelton Road | Havelock Town, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Highbury Colombo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 222: English reviews
cambodia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

After reading all the glowing reviews I literally went back to google if there was more than one Highbury in Colombo, maybe we stayed at a different place? We found a cold and aloof staff, rooms that desperately needed TLC (scuff marks all over the walls, loose bathroom fixtures, A/C that was insufficient for the room size) and a mediocre... More 

Helpful?
Thank kriseliz76
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review

We are saddened by your comments and sorry that you did not have a great stay with us. We were overseas for a while as it was the off season and the staff we hired was different. I was aware that we had a few issues with the air conditioning which was beyond our control but it was fixed within... More 

Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The food was perfect,the service was quick and efficient,the staff was wonderful specially little Eresha,the rooms were BAWA style rooms!Very clean and tasteful.The place was like a dream.Everything was just perfect!Will be back soon!

Helpful?
Thank wendy s
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very peaceful boutique hotel in Havelock Town. Stayed three nights. Located in a quiet road with some very nice residential homes, a perfect retreat from the polluted roads of Colombo, but within a short cab ride to major sites. The owners were away, we were upgraded to a larger room on the first floor overlooking the garden by their lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank 7cliffe15
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place was truly magical.It is in the center of the city but it is hidden and quiet.The rooms are bawa style rooms and very comfortable ,fully equipped! The staff was wonderful and the meals were amazing and fresh and all home cooked.Good wifi.No complaints.I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Helpful?
1 Thank Judyherft1993
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent many nights in this place with my friends and it was one of my best stays in Sri Lanka. The rooms have garden entrances and the wi fi in the room worked well. We had amazing local food and had most meals at this place. Breakfast was served in the garden and it was very relaxing. My room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucy G
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Made three phone calls to notify our pending arrival, all unanswered, on arrival none of the usual welcoming greetings, we had to find the person in charge. All seemed a bit casual with a lack of interest in new guests. Our room was in the "garden" somewhat shabby but reasonably large with a well functioning aircon. The bathroom looked like... More 

Helpful?
Thank peter0804
manojicolombo, Owner at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review

We are sorry to see your comments on tripadvisor. The toilet flush was repaired. The mirror is new but as we are close to the beach the mirrors do not look so great as the saltiness in the air damages it. Towels are given on request and every room has a note on it. We are sorry you did not... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a most enjoyable stay in this hotel with great gardens and great rooms. The breakfast Eresha made was fabulous and she even did a cookery demonstration for us. We had most of our meals here and enjoyed the local experience. For us it was a home away from home. The staff was super friendly and attentive. Would definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Manel F
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Paid and booked for ten nights, left in four nights, this is the dirtiest, cockaroach, infested, hole I have ever see, dirty pillows, and sheets, mosquitos infested the room and dining area, they cook outside in a shed, that you wouldn't feed your dog from, the owners of this place just don't give a damn. It needs to be investigated,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dam06969
manojicolombo, Manager at Highbury Colombo, responded to this review

I totally deny the contents of your comments. The owners were not in the country at the time during your stay. We confirm that you booked for 10 days but from the first day itself you admitted to us that you were offered free nights at Hotel Citrus Leisure and thus were eager to leave. You were sponsored by your... More 

Denmark, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

The Guest House is a quiet haven in busy Colombo. It is a private, gated family home and is a beautiful, peaceful oasis, with a large communal lounge area and stunning gardens. The owners are very warm and friendly and willing to assist you in any way they can. They organised our pick up from the Airport on arrival and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith-Trudy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

This was my second stay at Highbury. It's beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Manoji and family are absolutely wonderful; it feels like staying with family friends. The breakfast (which we missed this time) is worth the price! Would reccomend Highbury and will definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fariels01
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

192 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.6 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#9 of 42 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 stars 849 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#2 of 42 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#19 of 42 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#5 of 42 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
1.1 mi away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#1 of 113 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
#2 of 113 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful rustic styled fully air conditioned apartments clean, bright and breezy located in the heart of Colombo in quiet, safe, peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highbury Colombo

Address: 14 / 1, Skelton Road | Havelock Town, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range: $50 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highbury Colombo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Highbury Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay