We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garden Guest House

Save
Traveler (67)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (15)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good25%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“his mother”(19 reviews)
“tuk tuk”(21 reviews)
“sri lanka”(43 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
125
40
5
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
125
40
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis mothertuk tuksri lankaliving roomfamily roomtrain tripentire stayguesthouse
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 174 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2017

Very friendly and helpful hosts, with excellent breakfasts, however, we did not stay in any of the rooms shown on the website, but in a much lower standard room, which was disappointing. Quiet location, at some distance from the city centre.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marion R
Response from Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest HouseResponded July 19, 2017

Thank you for posting your review. Appreciate your comments. But we had allocated the room which your booking company had requested. I'm extremely sorry, we have better rooms at a different price.

Reviewed March 1, 2017

We arrived very early in the morning (05 am) and the host let us in to relax in the livingroom. We were very Well received. The guesthouse is situated appx. 25 min. walk from the city, but always very easy by a tuk-tuk caught near...More

Thank sejtlange
Response from Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest HouseResponded March 10, 2017

Thank you very much for posting a review on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience with other travelers what you have experienced at Garden Guest House. We are very happy to note, you have enjoyed our service and hospitality which gives us much pleasure. Look forward...More

Reviewed February 23, 2017

This iconic guesthouse still hasn't changed since our last visit over 2 years ago. Friendly Chitrupa de Fonseka & his mother provided the same warm welcome. This place, with its 1950's decor & charm, is a wonderful stepping stone for any visitor looking to move...More

1  Thank Hima D
Response from Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest HouseResponded February 25, 2017

Thank you very much Madam for taking your time to post a review for us which is greatly appreciated. We are so happy to note you have enjoyed your stay with us as before and appreciate our service and hospitality. We look forward to have...More

Reviewed January 9, 2017

We stayed at this lovely guest house for 4 days in the Family Room which was very comfortable. We had our own bathroom and the wifi was very good. The de Fonsekas are lovely and gentle people and certainly made us feel at home and...More

Thank lefleur2017
Response from Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest HouseResponded January 11, 2017

Thank you very much for posting a review about your experience staying in our Home Stay which we greatly appreciate. We are happy to note you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our service and hospitality. We too in return was very happy...More

Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

We recently visited Garden guest house and were super impressed with the entire stay and service. The cosy homestay clubbed with a lavish & traditional breakfast made our stay all the more awesome! :D Also, the quaint garden after which the entire property is themed...More

Thank Swarali K
Response from Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest HouseResponded December 28, 2016

Thank you very much for your lovely review which we appreciate very much. We are delighted to know that we were able to perform our duties to your satisfaction and you have enjoyed our service and hospitality. Look forward to have you again if ever...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Airport Transportation
Room Service
Free Parking
Business Center with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Price range
$60 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Details
Price range
$60 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (67)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (15)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Liam H
December 28, 2016|
Answer
Response from Fonny28 | Property representative |
Dear Sir, Greetings from Garden Guest House, Colombo. Thank you very much for your inquiry for accommodation for the night of 30th January 2017. We are happy to inform, we have one room available for the night of 30th... More
0
Votes
adrien487
July 2, 2016|
Answer
Response from Fonny28 | Property representative |
Hi Adrien, Greetings from Garden Guest House, Colombo. Thank you very much for your inquiry for accommodation for a Double Room for the night of 11th September 2016. We are happy to inform, we have availability and the... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"As it's a guesthouse, there are only 3 rooms."
Read review
"Family Room if you have children"
Read review
"The upstairs room is superior"
Read review
"Upstairs rooms are much nicer than the one downstairs."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing