We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

UB guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
UB guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 74: English reviews
Start your review of UB guesthouse
 Click to rate
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Reviewed February 8, 2017

We stayed here many nights during our 16 day adventure. Bobby, her staff, and the long term guests were so helpful. The first morning, adjusting to jet lag and UB smog I was all stuffed up. The long term guest noticed and offered my some milk tea, it was wonderful. later that day Bobby told me where I could get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JesseWhite
Reviewed September 12, 2016

stayed here several times over the last few years, always a good stay. They organise tours for a good price on a "the more people come, the cheaper it gets" bases. good place to start and plan your Mongolia adventures or just to explore the city!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthijs A
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed September 9, 2016

Stayed here for two nights, it is easy to find, even if the free pickup didn't work out and unfortunately neither did the tour I had tried to book in advance as there wasn't enough participants. Luckily I did find another tour and had a wonderful time in Mongolia. Had a single room both nights, breakfast is alright but nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StineBL
New Delhi, India
Reviewed September 6, 2016

Two tourist camp operators in the Ulaanbaaatar region recommended this guesthouse as a good place to stay in the capital city. It proved a good choice for me, as it is very centrally located, and the staff were friendly and helpful. I can only comment on my stay there, which was pleasant, but not on the tours they also offer....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gautam1948
Macau, China
Reviewed August 1, 2016

This hostel seems to exist for the purpose of the tours they offer. I heard stories of people being kicked out of the hostel for not wanting to do any tours. Anyway, the tours are excellent. I went on two of them - west and north Mongolia, and the Gobi. Mr. Kim is a funny guy. All business. But his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

On booking I immediately received an email from the owner explaining how she could help. Tours organised and help with anything you need. The hostel itself, at first sight, looks dodgy from the outside but it is actually very clean, secure and comfortable. Kitchen, washing facilities and a TV available. Also secure lockers for a 10k tugrik deposit. Excellent location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yunus M
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

We trusted Bobby and she fleeced us of considerable money. The place itself is not bad, but be careful while booking the tours. Two of us paid USD220 per day. The service, accommodation and food was terrible. Cook and the driver were not at fault, as they did their best. Interestingly, for the last day of our tour, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Bobby B, Owner at UB guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello Girdhar, We had been in contact for a long time before your trip about the rates, all the details of what was included and what was not, and different prices for different services. The package that you chose was valued at USD220 due to the hiring of a vegan cook for your wife. You given the choice to choose...

Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

We are two friends doing the transmongolian railway trip from Beijing to Moscow and chose this hostel as our Mongolia base because of a friends recommendation. The place is busy but cleanly and well organized by Bobby. She also organizes our pickups, next traintickets and tour in Mongolia. Thank you very much, would visit again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F. B
San Diego, California
Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

This hostel is great for various reasons. The place is very centrally located, the hostel is clean, affordable and by far it's greatest strength is the quality of its staff. It's run by a wonderful woman named Bobby who is always in a good mood, and will do whatever she can to help out travelers. She was so gracious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zrrichardson
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed May 28, 2016

The dorms are relatively cramp and their single rooms are filled with a two dorms bed. common rooms were too small as wifi works better only at common room. breakfast were bread with choice of chocolate jam, blue berry jams. some oats coffee and tea. for a dorm bed per night is 8 usd. the location is perfect as it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phoebebeep
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
1.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
#1 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
#4 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Tuushin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nine
Hotel Nine
#7 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
#2 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Gobi Hostel
Golden Gobi Hostel
#3 of 79 in Ulaanbaatar
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about UB guesthouse

Address: Chingeltei District, 1st horoo, Ulaanbaatar 2-40000, Mongolia
Location: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Price Range: $14 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your UB guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from UB guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We stayed in the double private and it was great.”
 of 5 bubbles JesseWhite, Feb 8, 2017 | Read review
“get the dorm which has a balcony facing the park”
 of 5 bubbles Phoebebeep, May 28, 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room further away from the lobby/living room space. The door bell may ring in the early morning hours.”
 of 5 bubbles aureliusroot, Dec 15, 2015 | Read review
“go elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles LetTheSunShineAgain, Oct 11, 2015 | Read review
“Most of the European and American kids staying here hung out on the couch in the small sitting area to use the wifi. There are two bathrooms. The hostel is two floors up- put in a code at the bottom door to access the hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles dkayrenick, Jun 13, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question