We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace

Traveler (234)
Room & Suite (94)
Videos (2)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#2 of 67 hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, Ulaanbaatar combines European standard and attention to detail with Mongolian hospitality. This luxury hotel, with 99 rooms and suites, is located in the heart of the city's metropolis District. The hotel offers direct access to the Chinggis Khaan Square at city center and sits close to major shopping malls, embassies and commercial districts. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are attending to important business trip or on a well-deserved vacation; planning your dream wedding or organising a conference. Rooms & Suites includes all the modern amnesties required for the travelling guest well as unique amnesties namely; Latest Air purifier & humidifier, individually adjustable climate controller, free mobile phone, I pad rental, Large working desk with ergonomic chair. Also Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, buffet breakfast is rated has the best in the town by the guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Free parking
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Spa
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Airport transportation
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Quiet
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals
599Reviews
6Q+A
82Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 375
  • 170
  • 42
  • 6
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed at the Kempinski on two separate nights, before and after a three day tour of Mongolia. The rooms are extremely spacious and comfortable. The breakfast has plenty of options. The other restaurants are adequate but not fabulous. The staff are very accomodating and helpful, we arranged a car to the train station and Mendee offered us a late check out so as we could have the use of the room until departure time.
Read more
Response from KempinskiUlaanbaatar, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your positive review and comments. Your feedback is vital for us as it drives us to improve the standards and fix our downfalls. Once again we appreciate your valuable feedback. Looking forward to welcome you again at our property. Sincerely, Hotel management team
Read more
Probably the most helpful staff members that I have encountered anywhere. I spent a few nights here on business having selected the hotel because I’m a member of the Discovery Hotels loyalty programme. The hotel location is a little way out of the centre but not too far to walk. Walking is just as quick as the taxi frankly! The decor is maybe a bit sombre but there is a great fitness room. There was a supply of over-ear headphones for guest use - hadn’t seen that before. Nice tapas bar and good quality Japanese food. Very pleasant experience.
Read more
Response from KempinskiUlaanbaatar, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us. It is our pleasure to have guest like you. We appreciate your pleasant feedback and positive review. Looking forward to welcome you again with our latest service and products. Sincerely, Hotel Management Team
Read more
+1
I visit UB on Feb 2019. That period, temperature about -20 to -30. The heater work very well. Breakfast and dinner was great. Price reasonable. Coffee shop and supermarket walking distance from hotel. Must try!!
Read more
Response from KempinskiUlaanbaatar, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay with us, we are very grateful to have guest like you. We appreciate your time and positive review. Looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel with our latest products and services. Sincerely, Management Team
Read more
We were happy with our stay but would in retrospect have probably chosen a hotel in the 'real' centre (Sukhbaatar square, where most other top hotels are located) a few miles/km down the road. Taxis are cheap but the issue is the immense traffic jams which make staying in the centre at walking distance of many places better I think. The staff is very very friendly, a mix between Mongolians and Europeans (French and German I think). The room was big and comfortable (3 beds for our family of 3), with TV, safe, fridge, good bathroom although a very low sink (just above knees, not sure if this was a room for a wheelchair). We liked the quality of the breakfast food but not the quantity/selection. Almost always items were missing and not restocked. A friendly but oblivious European guy watched on as he clearly did not see empty bread baskets, no more glasses for drinks left, cheese finished, yoghurt finished, drinks finished. This happened on all 4 of our breakfasts. A few times I asked him for items and the staff did bring them but 10 minutes later. We also tried dinner twice at the hotel. The food was sometimes good, sometimes bad. The worst food, strangely, was the Mongolian food which was dry and overcooked; we had much better Mongolian food - the exact same items - in the countryside (in a ger in Terelj park). Desserts were most disappointing. The lava cake sounded so good, but was overcooked. The special caramel cake was just so-so. Service was mixed (sometimes we had to wait long for our food, or only some of us would get food). There are enough decent (dinner) restaurants around the hotel, which we tried the other nights. The food was better, we got much more food, and for (much) cheaper.
Read more
Response from KempinskiUlaanbaatar, Assistant to the General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Responded May 19, 2019
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate your feedback and comments that you have provided to us. It is very important to hear from our guests as it drives us to keep up the standard and motivates us to do better. We will take serious consideration on your comments provided and we will conduct training according to your comments and our downfalls. Once again, we thank you for your feedback and review. Looking forward to welcome you again with our latest products and services. Sincerely, Management team
Read more
Stayed here after a long road trip in Mongolia in August 2018 Interior slightly outdated, rooms are right size and clean Great service and hospitality, attentive staff Breakfast have limited choices but again good quality
Read more
Response from KempinskiUlaanbaatar, Assistant to the General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Responded May 14, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing us and we appreciate your feedback. We will make careful consideration on your comments provided specially on our shortfalls. Thank you again, looking forward to welcome you with our latest products and services. Sincerely, Management Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$107 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kempinski hotel ulaanbaatar
LOCATION
MongoliaUlaanbaatar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing