We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Saigon Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Saigon Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Saigon Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 296: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. No toilet paper, soap or towels for our stay here. Simple, but friendly place to stay. Not much space to hang our. But it was really cheap, so you cant expect too much. Our AC did not work at first, but they fixed it..

Helpful?
Thank Ingrid N
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Ingrid N Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We are please that you found out friendly place. We're sorry you had problems during your stay at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We normally don't have problems because we deliver toilet paper to all rooms every... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

I was there for 3 nights and I liked it very well. While it was difficult to get there first, since it is in a small side street, but it is also quiet. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. Highlight are the beds which are very wide, which is unusual in hostels. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Octavia C
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Octavia C Thank you very much for your nice feedback! We are so pleased that you have a great time with us and used the most of all our facilities. We are very happy that you found out our helpful and courteous staffs, wide beds... Thank you for your endorsement of our best location and excellent service. We hope... More 

North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

I made a reservation before I came here, suddenly, there is a bad review about this place which make me a little worry about my stay. But nothing happened, I stayed in a dorm room for female but when I came to the room, someone took my bed, and maybe all beds in the room, the staffs were really suprised... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FeiZhenaiChan
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear FeiZhenaiChan Thank you very much for your story! it is a memory that We can not forget. were really worried that you would be upset about your stay.But It was really lucky that you enjoyed your stay at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. Our receptionists had try their best to make you pleasure. They are very happy to hear your kindly... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015 via mobile

The best thing about Saigon Backpackers Hostel are the people who work there. Everyone I met was laughing friendly at me, and the receptionists helped us out a lot with arranging the room, the bus, and a free guided tour.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tommo420
Vi T, General Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Tommo Thank you very much for your nice review! It always happy to hear that you enjoy our friendly staff at Saigon Backpackers hostel. Your endorsement of our helpful staff is positive reinforcement of our team's goals. We hope you have a great time in Ho Chi Minh City. We look forward to welcoming back to Saigon Backpackers Hostel... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Came here in a rainy day so I felt a little tired, but when I stepped inside the hostel, I feel the welcoming and warm here, the staffs gave me a towel because I look like a wet mouse. They are really friendly and helpful, I stayed in a dorm room and really enjoyed my stay so I decided to... More 

Helpful?
Thank AixaBM
Vi T, General Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear AixaBM Thank you very much for your great review. We are so please that you enjoy your experience at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. It must be a memory that we can not forget about you. Thank you very much for your recommend us as a top choice of accommodation and particularly highlighting our friendly and helpful staffs. They are very... More 

Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

My first time in Ho Chi Minh with this hostel and i have no complaint about it. Room is cleaned everyday, sweet and accomodating staffs, always smile and try to help with any question. A/C in room works well and sometime cold, but you can ask the receptionist to change it for you. Breakfast is basic but not bad at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
Vi T, General Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Fiona B Thank you for taking the time to send us your wonderful feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed the experience at Saigonbackpackers Hostel It’s always a pleasure to hear our sweet staffs who want to ensure the guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We greatly appreciate you recognizing their efforts as all our team members... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 via mobile

I loved my 4 night stay here in the 8 bed mixed dorm. It's a great location, has comfortable beds and decent free breakfast! The staff are so friendly and are willing to help out with anything. The rooms are kept very clean. Ladies were in there everyday making sure the place was kept clean. I highly recommend!

Helpful?
2 Thank alanasiegle
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear alanasiegle Thank you very much for your excellent review! Thank you so much for your recommendation for us as the top choice of accommodation and particularly highlighting our comfortable beds,decent free breakfast and friendly staff. They are very happy to hear your kindly words. We are really appreciate that you recommend our hostel to other travelers. Please let us... More 

Gisborne, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

I had some days here and I really enjoyed it. The hostel is located on a small road of Pham Nhu Lao street, which is quite difficult to find. The room here is clean and comfortable, having A/C make me feel really cool and relax even I was in a real hot-pan Saigon. The staffs were friendly and always trying... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Yuki124
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Yuki What a pleasure to receive your very favorable review of Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We are so pleased you had such a great time with us and made the most of all our facilities. Your endorsement of our service and facilities is such a positive reinforcement of our team’s goals We really appreciate the feedback.Please let us know when... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

My travel partner and i were very satisfied With our hostel. Sweet employees and good wifi were the things we liked the most, and also it was very cosy! The lockers was a bit of a Challenge though, so do bring your Own Lock! Breakfast was allright, you could choose between 4 different things, and also, there are a television... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Thea D
Sgbackpackersho... C, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Thea D What a pleasure to receive your very favorable review of Saigon Backpackers Hostel. Thank you so much for your recommendation for us as the top choice of accommodation and particularly highlighting our sweet employees, good wifi and other services. Actually, you can borrow the lock at the reception desk if you do not have any lock. We... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015 via mobile

My girl friend and me stayed Saigon Backpackers Hostel for 4 days. This day we came so late, we had to ring the bell, just some minutes the staffs took me get in. They are so friendly, also introduced some tours in Ho Chi Minh city for free. It was so exciting!! The cusine in HCM I have no word... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank ken C
Sgbackpackersho... C, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us your wonderful feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed the experience at Saigonbackpackers Hostel, especially your endorsement of our location. It is extremely important to us to provide Ho Chi Minh City information to our guests . It’s always a pleasure to hear our friendly staff who want to ensure... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (14)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (66)
Viewed
Dormitory Room (11)
Viewed
Private Double Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
30.0 mi away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#2 of 390 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saigon Youth Hostel
Saigon Youth Hostel
#23 of 390 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 390 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Hideout Hostel Saigon
The Hideout Hostel Saigon
#7 of 390 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#3 of 390 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Cong Quynh
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Cong...
#11 of 390 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Saigon Backpackers Hostel Chain has been the first hostels in Ho Chi Minh City since 2009. Inspired by the energetic spirit of our guests, Saigon Backpackers Hostels is our latest and nicest hostel addition to Saigon's active backpackers' scene. Our hostels are located at the fringe of the city. To several budget travelers who just cannot get enough of Saigon, it's no secret that Saigon Youth hostel has the best location that you may ask for. The city center is just 5 minutes on foot. And just stone throw away is the Bui Vien street, another great area to explore. You will be stimulated by choices of Saigonese cuisine in the vicinity. It is undeniable that wonderful selections of food that can be nice alfresco roadside dinning and variety of restaurants, cafes and bars. At Saigon Backpackers hostel, we trust the environment will be the perfect place for you, foreign travelers, to meet friends from all over the world. We are obsessed in ensuring that our guests get more than just a bed with us with cozy atmosphere with color themed room design of Saigon culture. Saigon Youth hostel is a good place to feel home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Saigon Backpackers Hostel

Address: 20 373, Pham Ngu Lao | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $11 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Saigon Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Saigon Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay