We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

PP BackPackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 131: English reviews
Start your review of PP BackPackers
 Click to rate
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I do not recommend this place. It was really dirty. Our bedsheets weren't clean, bugs all over the walls, dirty toilet. I will never go back there again. The only good thing about this place is that it's located on the backpacker street so you're close to all the bars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank selleraza
Reviewed December 20, 2016

I lived in this place for 5 months when I first arrived Saigon. The reason I decided to stay there is that the staff is really helpful and would do anything for you. Ask Thanh anything and he will do everything he can do make you stratified. I am now still friends with the staff and go to visit them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charly S
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed November 25, 2016

This hotel is located in the city center and very convenient to get there from the airport (there's also a local Bus 109, only 20'000VND!). The staff is helpful and friendly especially THANH! You get what you pay for.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank waeutreis
Den Helder, The Netherlands
Reviewed September 13, 2016 via mobile

Whn you arrive in hcm this is the hostel for you. Not far from the AirPort, right in the middle of the backpackstreet, where all the fun is. Reliable personel, willing to answer all your questions and accommadate your needs. Basic but clean beds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ilchino30
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

We had a double room which was clean and comfortable - no grime anywhere. TV, very good fan and clean sheets and floors. The bathroom walls needed a bit of a clean but they weren't too bad. Very friendly young man at reception and close to the main backpacker road but not too noisy. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
Reviewed March 16, 2016 via mobile

This hostel is so disappointing and nothing like what is recommended in Lonely Planet! And i do not understand all of the comments in here about the nice and helpfull staff or the cleaning. BUT guess you get what you pay for! Me and my friend stayed in the 6 bed dormroom on the 4th floor. There are mould on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacqueline S
Pp B, Chủ sở hữu at PP BackPackers, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, I'm the owner of PP backpackers hostel and I'm writing here to let you know that we have been closed our business about 8months to moving different place, but we are not reopen yet.The place where you have stayed is just where we ran our business before and now someone else running their business there, not...

Nha Trang, Vietnam
Reviewed January 27, 2016

We had a pretty awful experience here. Our biggest problem was with the bed bugs. I had horrifically bad bites on every single limb of my body, they must have been particularly big bed bugs because they were the worst bites I had ever had. When we asked the reception he got someone to change the sheets for us, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ella S
Yehud, Israel
Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

As said in title. The reception was so nice and helpful that it made great overall. If you're ok with noice and looking for cheap rooms at a great location you will enjoy this place. There are nice pubs in the area with many travellers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank orikabeli
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed December 3, 2015

In the heart of Saigon’s seed and sin, this hostel is brilliantly walking-distance located in-the-thick-of-it. Private room with ensuite was safe, secure, clean, and the right budget price! The set-up doesn’t lend itself to a backpackers hub in that there’s no real common areas or meeting places, but if you’re cool with your own company/itinerary, the friendly team are plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoozSolo
Reviewed November 23, 2015

Three friends and I stayed in PP Backpackers for a couple of days as it had been recommended to us in the Lonely Planet guide. I can't recommend this place highly enough. We had a fantastic time thanks to Tan and Bao who work at PP. Tan was incredibly helpful booking our trip to Cu Chi tunnels and taxis whenever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robbie C
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Lily's Hostel
Lily's Hostel
#10 of 489 in Ho Chi Minh City
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#2 of 489 in Ho Chi Minh City
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Giang Son Guesthouse
Giang Son Guesthouse
#26 of 824 in Ho Chi Minh City
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hideout Hostel Saigon
The Hideout Hostel Saigon
#9 of 489 in Ho Chi Minh City
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon Center
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon C...
#15 of 489 in Ho Chi Minh City
147 reviews
30.0 mi away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#3 of 489 in Ho Chi Minh City
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A friendly, comfortable, affordable hostel. Situated in the heart of Saigon City in the middle of the tourist district. Countless bars and tours available for an enjoyable time in Saigon. The hostel has a comfortable setup with cheap drinks and good food for socializing and meeting people. Free Wifi, Air Con, Hot Water, Breakfast. Knowledgeable Vietnamese staff! ... more   less 

Additional Information about PP BackPackers

Address: 283/45 Pham Ngu Lao Strret, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your PP BackPackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from PP BackPackers staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from PP BackPackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The dorm on the 3rd floor is good”
 of 5 bubbles 662charlys, Dec 20, 2016 | Read review
“Check the cleanliness under the bed first!”
 of 5 bubbles ella2016, Jan 27, 2016 | Read review
“The higher the quieter”
 of 5 bubbles C557INrobertj, Jul 24, 2015 | Read review
“The least expensive rooms will allow you to stay with other nice people. If you pay a little bit more, you can get a private room. Either way, all of the rooms are clean, nice, and quiet. Have fun!”
 of 5 bubbles jeremyw232, May 9, 2015 | Read review
“large room”
 of 5 bubbles 441annaaa123, Apr 24, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question