We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

766 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 681: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

I've been there for 2 shorts stay, both were excellent, they are serving breakfast in the lobby (not very Vietnamese), they provide a guide at 10 to show the old town that was very interesting and nice. The evening they make an event on the rooftop, that let people meet and drink free beer. Not far away there is one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Florent C
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I had several things stolen or go "missing" from my bunk etc, I ended up getting really annoyed and approaching the desk, their first thought was to accuse the cleaners and I said no! People here do not lock the dorm room and it's not their fault because no staff tell them to and the staff don't even lock the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donald Anthony G
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We really love the atmosphere and staff at this place. Well located at Hanoi old quarter. Lots of cheap food around. A little bit expensive than other place but you are playing for convenience, everyone speaks English well, clean rooms with free breakfast, and just a great place to meet fun people.

Helpful?
Thank Wildpinkfairy
Scott_Hockey_VBHGM, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi There Thanks for the amazing review of our hostel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and I will pass on your kind words to all of our staff. We strive everyday to make sure that our guests have the best possible experience and receive the best possible experience with us. We hope to see... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Vietnam Backpacker Hostels does a fantastic job at creating a friendly, fun and welcoming environment for backpackers. Although it is open to all ages and group sizes, it definitely caters to a younger crowd that is looking to meet people and party. I stayed in a private room which was well-equipped and very reasonably priced. They offer laundry (at an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mika S
Scott_Hockey_VBHGM, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Mika We do like to party here but we cater for everyone and have a quiet downstairs area for people looking to chill and a roof top bar for people wanting to have some drinks. We close at 9.30pm so that everyone can either come on the free bar crawl or have a quiet night and get some sleep.... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All the people working here know their stuff. Friendly, warm and helpful. I had a comfortable bed, complimentary breakfast, and free beer at less than $6. Will definitely consider it again when I'm back.

Helpful?
Thank Luigene Y
Scott_Hockey_VBHGM, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Luigene Thanks for the amazing 5 star review. Our staff are well trained and love to work in the hostel to make sure that all of our customers have a great time. And lets face it the free beer is always amazing We hope to see you again soon Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my first Hostel experiance and it was way better than i thought it would be. I travelling alone and i meet many nice people here. Rooms were clean and quiet. Thanks to all the staff for a brilliant time

Helpful?
Thank Anderson J
Scott_Hockey_VBHGM, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Anderson Thanks for the amazing review. We are so happy that not only did you enjoy your time with us but that we could make your first time in a hostel an enjoyable one. We strive to make sure that everyones time with us enjoyable and our staff are there to make sure that it is. Safe Travels Scott... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel is great for first time backpackers or those who want a bit of the rough edges of backpacking smoothed off for a few days. That said, we also met many seasoned travellers so there was a good mix. Hanoi is a busy city so the resources pack they provide with tips about how to handle the city/potential scams/useful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy A
Scott_Hockey_VBHGM, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Amy Thanks for the amazing review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Our food is a little more expensive then on the street but it is prepared by trained professional chefs. The castaway trip is defiantly worth it and it great to hear that you had an amazing time. The second building is in... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks to all the staff here we had a brilliant time - we based ourselves here while exploring the city and between trips to Halong Bay and Sapa. We loved our time here and after our trips it began to feel like a home from home. Dorms lovely with working AC, free breakfast and the lunch food is good! Great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Niamh M
Scott_Hockey_VBHGM, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Niamh Thanks for the amazing review. We loved having you here at the hostel. You were all amazing craic. We truly hope to see you here with us again. Safe Travels Scott Hockey Hostel Manager VBH Original More 

Immenstaad, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I didn't stay in the hostel, I just booked the halong bay castaway tour with them. Don't Do it! The bay obviously is Amazing and the cabins were okay ( we had a cockroach in ours but well...) but the Service was Poor. The lunch and Dinner was Allright but not enough für Everyone on the boat. The Toast in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie L
Scott_Hockey_VBHGM, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

Hi Sophie Thanks for taking the time to review our Hostel. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your experience on our Castaway Trip. We strive to make all of our trips to a standard that everyone will enjoy and make our trips the highlight of everyones time in Vietnam. I have passed on your feedback to our... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The private rooms were very small and basic, quite a disapointment. They were also located in another building than the dorms and the bar. Breakfast is okay. The private rooms in Hué are terrible by the way, but the ones in Hoi An are delightful!

Helpful?
Thank Derkien D
Scott H, General Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review

HI Derkien Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We appreciate the feedback. Our private rooms are basic, $20, clean and have all of the essentials that everyone needs. We have the rooms in a different building so that our guest are away from the bar noise and have privacy but are always welcome to come and join... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.6 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#5 of 261 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
0.3 mi away
Hanoi City Backpackers Hostel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Brother Inn
Hanoi Brother Inn
#2 of 261 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Price Range: $10 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay