We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Vipa House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Vipa House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 18: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016

Why did I not listen to the bad reviews. This hotel was terrible. The room was dirty, lacked any decoration and had ants. The bathroom was filthy and the towels worn out. The refrigerator was disgusting and only had two bottles of water in it despite a price list on the front of the door for other beverages. When we... More 

Helpful?
Thank terrybrown2016
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2016

Perfect location in Chiang Mai near the old city and tons of bars and food. The staff are very friendly and helpful. However, the place is not very clean and the lobby is often full of mosquitoes. Our group thought it was pricey for what it was.

Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio L
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2016

The room was basic and normal comfortable. However if compare to many new boutique hotels nearby, Vipa house seems to be little expensive (old furniture) Location is good and easy to walk to Tapae . Services were nice , friendly and helpful staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Snuppi28
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

Vipa House may or not be the greatest hotel in Chiang Mai but the beautiful girl that sells the tours out front is second to none. She also helps out on front desk, coffee or whatever else a guest may request. I do all my airplane, bus, mini van and train tickets through Vipa House. Always so friendly and professional.... More 

Helpful?
Thank chris m
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

We should have realised that there would be problems when on arrival, the desk clerk asked for payment in cash up front, no cards accepted. From then, the stay at Vipa Hotel went from bad to worse. I should have studied the reviews in Booking.com more closely. I totally agree with Joseph K and Hongmarie on their assessment. The Vipa... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Telco1

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015 via mobile

Great location, very close to the old market town (5 mins walk) but still quiet away from the bars. hotel seems safe and all staff pleasant :) price per night determines which floor you stay on and there is no lift. really nice English cafe directly opposite the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Amixx1
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Is accetable, beds are comfortable but lot of lite came in side from window, is very quiete, personal very nice, no elevator, no breakfast. Zone is perfect located near of everything, if you need the tranquility to have a place to stay when you get to Chian Mai, you can choose Vipa, but if not you can came in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna M
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014 via mobile

Vipa house is tucked away in a quiet street in the city central to everything it has decent rooms for an affordable price. It's nice and quiet and the staff are lovely. Always happy to help booking tours and taxis and organising any thing you need. It does have quite a few stairs though which are an effort when drunk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Magnus C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I just stayed 3 nights in Vipa last week and it was almost humiliating. The young girl in the front desk is very rude and unfriendly. I asked about taxi service to airport which they had signs for her but her response was, "I don't know go ask a driver on street." This young girl with the short hair seemed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph K
Tassanee P, Manager at Vipa House, responded to this review

May I thank Mr. Joseph Young Kim for taking the time to express your comments on Trip Advisor. But the feedback has been overwhelmingly positive and you complaint everybody so why we want to express our feeling. Vipa House is a business run by Thai Owner and price is standard with the budget that you paid for. 1) First we... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I don´t want to write this review because I love the staff of Vipa but after my visit I need to advise. Location of Vipa is good, 5 minutes walking to night bazar and other five to the old city. The main street is plenty of massage places and bars with girls but it´s not noisy at all. Rooms are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hongmarie
Satewie, Manager at Vipa House, responded to this review

Dear hongmarie, Regardless of what price you pay for a room, certain standards like cleanliness and attentiveness to our customers should be regular features. We sincerely apologize for the problems you had. We are working towards making Vipa House a better hotel. The problems you have mentioned are currently being addressed through staff and procedure. You mentioned that you had... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#173 of 361 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Veerachai Court
Veerachai Court
#132 of 361 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Na Inn
Na Inn
#109 of 361 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#271 of 361 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Northlands House Hotel
Northlands House Hotel
#259 of 361 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ampawan
Ampawan
#222 of 361 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Vipa House

Address: 14-14/1, Loikroh Lane 1 Rd. | Changkhlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Price Range: $13 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vipa House 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Vipa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay