We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pornping Tower Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pornping Tower Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 270: English reviews
Start your review of Pornping Tower Hotel
 Click to rate
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for one night and have to say it’s just an ordinary hotel. Rooms and bathroom can be improved. Like Star Hotel, I don't see the reason why the hotel cannot replace the bathtubs with an ordinary shower for safety reasons. Definitely not a senior citizen friendly hotel. And the quantity of shower gel provided was insufficient for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ben919191
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the third time staying here. The people are gracious and the hotel is a most accommodating. It may be dated but it is a classic. I love the style of rooms. The breakfast buffet is very nice and tasty. It is close to several night markets and it is a pleasant walk to the old walled city. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chuben516
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chuben516 , Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We are happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your time with us.Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit in...

Twickenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are so worn I'm not sure how they've let them get that bad. The only positive is is that it's in a good location however take my word for it there are many much better hotels to stay in. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thd75
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thd75,   We thank you very much for staying at Pornping Tower Hotel during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. and are pleased that you have taken the time for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can improve our services & facilities.    It is indeed with much regret...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can only reiterate the substance of most of the recent comments. After the Entrance Lobby the hotel is seriously tired and grimy. Perhaps the renovation has slowly begun as some of the lifts have been replaced with attractive new ones. But a very thorough refurbishment is required and will require huge investment given the dimensions of the place. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnnydiScozia
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JohnnydiScozia, First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent stay at Pornping Tower Hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our values guests. I was very disappointed to read...

London, England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As always I read the reviews,& thought it can't be as bad as people we're writing.... I found the front foyer,grand and impressive,although carpets up the main staircase,urgently need replacing. But once I was passed the main entrance,the real hotel took shape,& the bigger picture became apparent...... The room I was in,was very dated,which resembled a hotel from the 1980's......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank basejumper1969
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear basejumper1969, We thank you very much for staying at Pornping Tower Hotel during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. and are pleased that you have taken the time for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can improve our services & facilities. It is indeed with much regret to note...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On entering you will find a grand reception, rooms are old, dated, slightly smelly. Pool area is fine, spacious and reasonably clean. Staff are friendly enough. Pool bar........ 60 baht for a bottle of water, 8 baht in the shop next door, taking the pi$$ a bit there. Restaurant bar........ double vodka 360 baht (without mixer), again taking the pi$$....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick O
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mick O , We thank you very much for staying at Pornping Tower Hotel during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. and are pleased that you have taken the time for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can improve our services & facilities. I I regretted to note that...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not very friendly service. The whole hotel, including the rooms stink of smoke. There is no sound proofing either so you can hear everything from the hallways and other rooms. Already a steep price and you aren't getting anywhere near your money's worth.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monicajnarula
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear monicajnarula , Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about smoking smell in the room. I truly regret that we didn’t handle things better and have followed up with...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I read that the General Manager mentioned they are planning renovations in one of the comments made to guests on this website, well, when exactly? The place is in serious need of urgent repair and renovations, not only inside but outside. The windows , balcony and outdoor area is infested with pigeons and their poo. Disgusting. We booked the Deluxe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank woww323
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear woww23,     We thank you very much for staying at Pornping Tower Hotel during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. and are pleased that you have taken the time for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can improve our services & facilities.    It is indeed with much...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Disgusting room very old, dirty, mouldy, smelly and nothing like the photos they show you! Don't let the fancy reception deceive you. We asked for a refund after 5 mins but they offered us to change room which was slightly better

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dancw100
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dancw10,     We thank you very much for staying at Pornping Tower Hotel during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. and are pleased that you have taken the time for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can improve our services & facilities.    It is indeed with much...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed there for one night. The hotel is run-down and the carpet in our floor was worn out and smelled really, really bad. In the morning telephones rang all the time and there were other loud noises from inside and outside, which made it really difficult to sleep (although I'm not a light sleeper in general). We paid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolina S
Pattana R, General Manager at Pornping Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carolina, We thank you very much for staying at Pornping Tower Hotel during your recent visit to Chiang Mai. and are pleased that you have taken the time for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor. It is through valuable comments like your very own that we can improve our services & facilities.    It is indeed with much regret to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

416 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (410)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (88)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (99)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Other (136)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Lanna Hotel
Royal Lanna Hotel
#257 of 375 in Chiang Mai
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#212 of 375 in Chiang Mai
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#120 of 375 in Chiang Mai
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Night Bazaar Place
Night Bazaar Place
#160 of 375 in Chiang Mai
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#45 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#108 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Pornping Tower Hotel

Address: 46-48 Charoen Prathet Rd., Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Price Range: $23 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pornping Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pornping Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pornping Hotel Chiang Mai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Pornping Tower Hotel staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Pornping Tower Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Check this hotel out before booking. Not recommended for senior citizens.”
 of 5 bubbles Ben919191, 4 days ago | Read review
“There aren't any!”
 of 5 bubbles woww323, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“ask for the newer part of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Chrissie2218, Jan 11, 2017 | Read review
“Go for the room with the king size beds if you can”
 of 5 bubbles , Dec 28, 2016 | Read review
“Go for deluxe room only”
 of 5 bubbles 31jerryw, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question