We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 224: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Opium is located a little off the beaten path in a REAL neighbourhood. Walking distance to the local market and lots of small places to eat it is a quiet oasis hidden away. All communal area are outside with the pool right next to the front desk. The rooms are large, plumbing works reasonably well for Thai standards, beds... More 

Helpful?
Thank travellerOT
adsfgadfadf, General Manager at The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear travellerOT, Thank you for your review. We are really happy to hear from you that you had an enjoyable time with us. We will keep the good work up. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future. Please enjoy the rest of your journey. Best Regards, Mr.Boom The Opium Serviced Apartment &... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just spent 4 nights at The Opium. I really impressed with their kindliness, always greet customers with smiles and very helpful. Stay in the opium is overall very satisfying. The only thing to pick is their location, which quite far away from the city & attractions. However, you can always ask the staff to call a transport for you before... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jowind T
adsfgadfadf, Manager at The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jowind T, Thank you for your review. We are really happy hearing that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will keep the good work up. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future. Please enjoy the rest of your trip. Best Regards, Mr. Boom The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just spent a week at the Opium ... very good service overall and super value for money ... although it is small, the kids loved the pool .... conveniently located - walkable to restaurants and markets ...

Helpful?
Thank Vincent S
adsfgadfadf, General Manager at The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vincent, Thank you for your review. We are really happy hearing that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will keep the good work up. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future. Please enjoy the rest of your trip. Best Regards, Mr. Boom The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I book this hotel through trip advisor, sceptical of the low rates compared how good it looked in the pictures. However, when I arrived I was relieved. First of all the place looked just as nice in real life. Secondly , everything was really conveniently located. And lastly, the staff was friendly and welcoming. Not only that, but the owner... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bozhidar P
adsfgadfadf, General Manager at The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bozhidar, Thank you for your review. We are really happy to hear from you. We hope that you will have an enjoyable stay with us and have a good time on your vacation with your partner. Please enjoy your stay and the rest of your trip. Best Regards, Mr. Boom The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel More 

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

A real gem. Super, super room for our family and really great value. Spacious, very clean and really tastefully done out throughout the whole hotel, in Thai style. Lovely, helpful staff. Small pool a treat too. 5/10 mins from town and staff happy to organise taxis for 130baht. Some food nearby. Breakfast very good. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lawro2112
adsfgadfadf, General Manager at The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lawrence, Thank you for your review. We are really happy hearing that you enjoy your stay with us. We hope that you and your family will have a good time in Chiang Mai. Please enjoy the rest of your stay. Best Regards, Mr. Boom The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

We visited the Opium in july 2016. Service of front desk staff was excellent. They arrange everything with a smile. Large and clean room. Limited choice for breakfast, but quality was good. Pool could have been larger, but good enough for a quick splash. Location is out of the centre but easy to travel with taxi or tuktuk. Good value... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Flrs
adsfgadfadf, General Manager at The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you for your review. We are really happy hearing that you enjoyed your with us. We will take all your suggestion into our consideration. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future. Please enjoy the rest of your trip. Best Regards, Mr. Boom The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel More 

Perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

Great family run hotel, big room, very clean room, very helpful staff who booked me some great tours! Great shower and bed. Reasonably priced. Also took me to the airport for a great price. Breakfast was simple but nice. Quick service n good elevator and pool area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Simoner8896
adsfgadfadf, General Manager at The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simone, Thank you for your review. We are very happy hearing that you have a good time with us. We will keep on improving your hotel and ous services. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future. Please enjoy the rest of your journey. Best Regards, Mr. Boom The Opium Serviced Apartment... More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

We booked two rooms for 5 nights and had a lovely stay. The reception staff was always adorable and friendly. They gave plenty of tips and booked attractions for us with good deals. Nut in the morning staff was especially great and attentionate. Large rooms, water supplied, gym, pool, close to the main road, in a quiet area. Some negative... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank veganfeelsgood
adsfgadfadf, General Manager at The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you for your review. We are really happy hearing that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will take all your suggestions into our consideration and improve. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future. Please enjoy the rest of your trip. Best Regards, Mr. Boom The Opium... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

I was very disappointed with the hotel. House keeping threw out 10,000 baht of medication and shoes in the room. When questioned they offered to write off a 'dirty towel charge' as compensation for the mistake. Tip for future guests don't leave anything in a plastic bag. Poor customer service from owner/manager in my experience, however front desk staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank diarmaid J
adsfgadfadf, General Manager at The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diarmaid, Thank you for your review. First of all, we would like to appologise to you. Please accept our appology. The housekeeper found your stuffs (but not the medication) in the room. However, she thought that it was the garbage. Therefore, she throw them away. We are really sorry about this. We will take all you suggestion into our... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of July. Was incredibly cheap, and after seeing what that got us in Bangkok we were a bit dubious to say the least; we needn't have worried! Check in was great, super friendly and efficient. Room was clean, spacious and pretty 4/5* Bathroom was 3/5*, could do with new sealant here... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli H
adsfgadfadf, General Manager at The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kelli, Thank you for your review. We are really happy to hear your feed back. We will take your review into our consideration. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future. Please enjoy the rest of your trip. Best Regards, Mr. Boom The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

153 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (133)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#20 of 363 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#38 of 363 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Napat
The Grand Napat
#51 of 363 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#55 of 363 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 751 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#2 of 639 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
2.4 mi away
ZZ House
ZZ House
#3 of 639 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel

Address: 41/1 Soi Viangbua, Chotana Rd. | Changpuek Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Price Range: $23 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay