We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel

Save
Traveler (263)
Room & Suite (81)
Pool & Beach (17)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good30%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“small gym area”(4 reviews)
“old city”(43 reviews)
“local market”(16 reviews)
Name/address in local language
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Airport Transportation
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
200
97
19
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
200
97
19
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall gym areaold citylocal marketgrand suiteseparate bedroomplenty of storagetuk tukgreat place to stayreception staffrooms are spaciousspeak good englishthe wi figround floorvisit chiang maielephant sanctuaryswimming pool isan oasis
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We stayed here for 3 weeks. We booked a studio apartment and unfortunately assumed we would have a balcony. Our room was on the 3rd floor and manager changed our room to one just near with a balcony, great? Unfortunately almost for our entire stay...More

1  Thank Bonnie U
Response from The Opium C, Owner at The Opium Serviced Apartment & HotelResponded yesterday

Dear Bonnie U., Thank you for your email. We really appreciate to receive your feedback. About the room, we appologise for the noise since we did renovation on our rooftop (It is finishes and opened now). About the bed, we actually use the thickest bed...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I decided to stay here during our time in Chiang Mai while on our honeymoon and the experience was wonderful. Here are some highlights and info. Pickup: Free airport pickup! In fact, they were picking up another couple along with us whose...More

Thank Michael R
Response from The Opium C, Owner at The Opium Serviced Apartment & HotelResponded 4 days ago

Dear Michael R, Thank you for your review. We are really happy to hear that you have enjoy your honeymoon at our hotel. We will maintain the quality of rooms and services. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff at the Opium were delightful and very helpful. However, the hotel itself is far from its former glory. It is aged and in some aspects dirty. The beds are worn and you are able to feel the springs underneath, the gym equipment is...More

Thank leze93
Response from The Opium C, Owner at The Opium Serviced Apartment & HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear Leze93, Thank you for your email. We are really glad to receive your feedback. We find that your review is really valuable. However, we now try our best to make sure that the bathroom is clean. About the location, we are 1.8 kilometers north...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were incredible! They were so helpful and so kind to us throughout the stay. Amazing ambiance. You get an authentic and warm thailand feel 👌 we didn't want to leave our room. I can't say anything bad about this place. It is calming...More

Thank Jeri R
Response from The Opium C, Owner at The Opium Serviced Apartment & HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jeri R, Thank you for your review. We are really happy to know you have enjoy your experience in room 107. We will distribute your compliment to all our departments. We will maintain the quality of rooms and the good level of service. We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is our second visit to the Opium. The first visit was fantastic at every opportunity. The site is clean and pretty, and the staff is very friendly and available at any time, day or night. On our first visit we got food poisoning(not from...More

Thank russrooke
Response from The Opium C, Owner at The Opium Serviced Apartment & HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Russ Rooke, Thank you for your review. We really appreciate to know that you have enjoyed both of you times at our hotel. We will maintain the level of good service. We will also distribute your compliment to all our departments to encourage them...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free Parking
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Concierge
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
$25 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$25 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (263)
Room & Suite (81)
Pool & Beach (17)
Dining (9)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Philip F
July 28, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from chanakdoshi | Reviewed this property |
Hi Philip, Greetings, the laundry has two washing machines and a dryer outside the lobby at the parking lot. It's available 24/7 and you have small sachets of soap and softener available for purchase at reception or you... More
0
Votes
Jozef Z
June 30, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from drewfritz2013 | Reviewed this property |
Yes there is. Very secure, off the road and within clear sight of the reception desk.
1
Vote
Bethany H
July 13, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ADacres | Reviewed this property |
Hi, it's not bad at all there is a market about 10 minutes walk away and it is really easy to get to the old town and other attractions as the hotel has its own taxi service which isn't a bad price around 150 baht (£3) to... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
""Good for wheelchair guest""
Read review
"Clean and tidy room"
Read review
"We had ground floor apartment opening on to pool area which was lovely"
Read review
"Ground floor worked for us,so close to pool/reception"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing