We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

La-Mer Hostel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La-Mer Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 40: English reviews
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

Very cheap accommodation for the service- my boyfriend and I spent the night here for 650 baht together, staging in a deluxe room which is slightly bigger than the standard (I recommend). You can use the neighbouring pool for 100 baht if you wish. There is a huge window, a good amount of space and ac alongside a powerful fan.... More 

Helpful?
Thank megsengland
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review of La-Mer Hostel. We agree that cost of our rooms is extremely good for the high standard in which they are presented and the facilities included. When designing the rooms and their amenities, we did so with our customers satisfaction in mind, therefore extras such as a high quality fan as well as AC... More 

Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Well, this is a three star hostel all right, nothing more, but nothing less either. I spent two nights there with my girlfriend, and we came to a friendly staff, and through minor communication issues, we learned about the pool we could use for a small fee. Rooms were clean, and pretty ordinary, but the location of the hostel is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scott M
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Scott, Thanks for your compliments about our guest house, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was perfect for your visit to Chiang Mai. We often receive many compliments about the friendliness of our staff, we do feel it is of the utmost importance when hosting guests, to ensure they feel welcome... More 

Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night after deciding to come back early from our trekking trip. We checked in quickly and were even offered to see the room before paying. The room was clean, spacious and well lit from a large window that spanned the whole length of one wall. The bed was large with fresh white... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellie M
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Ellie, Thanks for your review of our Hostel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the experienced and would stay with us again. We hope to see you again. Regards, Management More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

Amazing location, but the hotel itself is nothing special. Our room was huge, yet the bathroom was so small you couldn't turn around in it. Shower was good and hot though. The first day we arrived my husband was sick so we put the 'do not disturb' sign on the door. The next day he was feeling better so on... More 

Helpful?
Thank harrietsweetharriet
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, I am sorry to read you were unhappy with some parts of your stay with us. Our housekeepers should clean the rooms and replace the necessary items each morning unless requested otherwise. Therefore we will address this issue with our cleaning team, and thank you for bringing it to our attention. Kind Regards, Management More 

Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2016

The place looked nice from outside so we decided to try it out for our breakfast. The waitress came to took our order after around 15 minutes. After we ordered and had waited more than 30 minutes with no sign of our English B'kfast I went to enquire about it and she told me that it will be there shortly.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stef C
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Stef, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy the breakfast at our hostel. Usually our preparation times are fairly quick, so I am sorry to read you had quite a long wait for your meal. We agree 40 minutes to wait for your meal is unacceptable. Regards, Management More 

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2016 via mobile

Just behind Somphet Market, La Mer is a modern boutique Hostel where I had breakfast while I was in Chiang Mai. The food is usually fine with rich and tasty American breakfast set and refreshing orange juice. Yogurt is also really nice, available with fruit or fruit + muesli, but I would stay away from coffee since it's just too... More 

Helpful?
Thank SmoothWolfi
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, We are pleased to read that you usually enjoy the food, especially the American breakfast set. I am sorry to read that you have had to wait a while for preparation during our busy times. Regards, Management More 

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

The pictures on the website looked good so we decided for this hostel despite extremely low price, which seemed a little suspicious to us - well, it is! We don't really need anything fancy, just a clean place and helpful staff. None of this is available in La-Mer. When finally getting to the room after a neverending check in (when... More 

Helpful?
Thank 87manni
Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

We really enjoyed the location of this hostel and the spaciousness of the room (deluxe room with queen or king bed) and the according price. However, we looked under the bed prior to our departure and saw nearly an inch of dust. The room had clearly not been deep cleaned in awhile. The A/C unit was above the bed so... More 

Helpful?
Thank buenavida24
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

Where do I begin. I'm not one to hand out 1 star ratings unless absolutely deserved. We stayed at Lamer Hostel for a few nights. The staff were terrible. Made you feel like you were nothing but a nuisance. Rolling their eyes when you asked a question (or asked for milk for your coffee which they forgot to bring you).... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sbirchall
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be a nice place to stay. The room was very clean and and staff were friendly. They even helped us by calling some trip companies we had booked with to check details Etc. Laundry service is reasonably priced and was returned the next day. Located right next to the local... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miss B S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Mai
0.0 mi away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#152 of 359 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brick House Hostel
Brick House Hostel
#85 of 600 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
BB Mantra Hotel
BB Mantra Hotel
#37 of 629 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Teeraya Boutique Hotel
Teeraya Boutique Hotel
#174 of 600 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
2.0 mi away
Chiang Mai Udee
Chiang Mai Udee
#383 of 629 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
0.9 mi away
The A-RAK Bed, Bar & Hostel
The A-RAK Bed, Bar & Hostel
#142 of 600 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La-mer Hostel is an newly opened boutique hostel and a budgethotel located in the heart of chiang mai City. The hostel is idealfor tourists and guests who are looking for convienient access toChiang mai's central attractions; Sunday Walking Street, ThreeKing Monument,Tha Pae Historic Gate,Somphet [The local fresh market],restaurants and bars. We are 15 minutes away from Chiang MaiInternational Airport , Bus Terminal , and Train Station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La-Mer Hostel

Address: 12/2 Moonmuang Rd., Soi 6 | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Price Range: $12 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La-Mer Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your La-Mer Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay