We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tarntawan Place Hotel

#232 of 806 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
119/5-10 Surawong Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tarntawan Place Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a group of 5 friends. This hotel is in a good location close to many bars/ restaurants etc. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. There was a bar etc in the hotel which we didn't use so can't rate. The lobby area was quite a nice space and the hotel rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rowster
tarntawan, Owner at Tarntawan Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rowster, Thank you very much for taking your time to write your comments about your experience whilst staying in the Tarntawan Place. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your room. The Tarntawan Place does offer non-smoking floors and if we receive the request at the time of booking, we do allocate a room on... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is quite run down. The carpet looked filthy, the room had a bad odor, and the refrigerator was leaking water. Their website clearly said there is access to a gym and swimming pool. When we asked about it, they told us it was a five minute walk in another building and cost 400 baht! Apparently, anyone on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith T
tarntawan, Owner at Tarntawan Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keith, Thank you very much for your time in posting your experience at the Tarntawan Place. You did mention that we are misleading the guests by stating that they have access to a gym and pool. This is not misleading, as all our guests have acces to the Clark Hatch Fitness. When we met, you did say that we... More 

Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked 2 nights on this hotel for our returned from Phuket because a person Phuket recommended to us this place he told us that they really take care of you and is true the service is really good they surprise us with a delicious fruit basket and Ice Tea brought to our door by surprice . Well I can... More 

Helpful?
Thank JCHF
tarntawan, Owner at Tarntawan Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JCHF, Thank you very much for taking your time and post your comments and compliments about your stay at the Tarntawan Place on TripAdvisor. I thank you for your compliments regarding the front office staff, cleanliness and guest amenities. We are currently talking to designers about renovations and improvements in all the guest rooms and suites. I have noted... More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

2200 2500 bhat a night Gets you a 4 start hotel with a gym and a pool. The service is ok But the food in this place sucks 90% gay clients With silly girly boys running around the lobby looking for clients. This hotel is at max 1000 bhat a night Not worth one penny more Bath rooms run down... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank fattyboy8
tarntawan, Owner at Tarntawan Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fattyboy8, Thank you very much for taking your time to post your experience at the Tarntawan Place. I am sorry that your stay with us was not to your expectations. The Tarntawan Place is popular with all kinds of guests and our discretion and tolerance does attract gay clients. However, prostitution of any kind is not allowed on the... More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is situated off road in courtyard area. Courtyard is pleasant but a lick of paint and some new plants would make it better. Reception staff are lovely as are most of the helpful staff. We had a double room overlooking the rear of the hotel which was not exactly a nice view. Room was comfortable with lovely big bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank seagull9
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We always stay at this friendly hotel and have been going for at least 25 years. It is always warm and welcoming offering very comfortable rooms making the stay enjoyable. The staff are extremely friendly and very helpful. We found it had not altered and served an excellent breakfast all day. The hotel is right in the centre and located... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike D
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

I first stayed at Tarntawan Place more than twelve years ago. Its location is perfect,the warm and friendly atmosphere struck me immediately, and it became my regular base in Bangkok. I have dined in the restaurant countless times, have invariably found the food excellent, extremely good value, and the staff pleasant and courteous. I must have worked my way through... More 

Helpful?
Thank davishp5
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

Just two of us for lunch in the restaurant. Staff preferred gossiping to taking our order. Their lack of the most basic English meant that we could not get proper cutlery for the food we had ordered. But when it arrived, it was the wrong food anyway!! Quality of the incorrectly served food was not good, service inattentive at best,... More 

Helpful?
Thank John T
tarntawan, Owner at Tarntawan Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. John, Thank you very much for taking the time in reviewing the restaurant at the Tarntawan Place. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service provided by the staff and that you were served the wrong food. I have spoken to the daytime staff and stressed the importance of being attentive and repeat... More 

Honolulu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

I have stayed many times at Tarntawan Place over decades; mostly because of the friendly, helpful, good natured staff, the compatible clientele and intimate atmosphere I have returned again and again, and overlooked some of the worn room furnishings. The room size is quite adequate, the bed is comfortable, lights, flat screen TV, AC and Safe Deposit Box work well.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eberhard M
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

This hotel has been around for a while. The interior design is very old, but is well kept. The staff is very polite and friendly and is eager to be helpful. The rooms are big and the bed is very big - you can easily sleep 4 persons in it... One very good thing is that the safe is big... More 

Helpful?
Thank gelGoE
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Tawana Bangkok
The Tawana Bangkok
#261 of 806 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Silom
Amara Bangkok
Amara Bangkok
#56 of 806 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#11 of 806 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 2,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Montien Hotel Bangkok
Montien Hotel Bangkok
#411 of 806 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Rose Hotel
Rose Hotel
#364 of 806 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Silom

Neighborhood Profile
Silom
Despite the lack of any major tourist attractions, this lively neighborhood is a favorite of many. Whether it's the (somewhat naughty) nightlife of Soi Patpong, the various handicraft night markets or the plethora of dining options that tickle your fancy, a night out in Silom is a must on every itinerary. It's worth a stop during daytime, too: join office workers on a quest to tasty street food during lunch and shop at Silom Complex for a great mix of Thai and international stores. After a day of strolling around the congested sidewalks, a visit to Silom's Lumphini Park, Bangkok's answer to NYC's Central Park, is a welcome change of scenery.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
#