We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Royal City Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Royal City Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

This is a terrible and incredibly overpriced hotel and on top of that they ask for an obscene 1500 baht deposit. There is no WIFI in your rooms. There was a water kettle but it didn't work. There are stains everywhere that appear to be of some sort of bodily fluid. Everything appears to be decorated in the style of... More 

Helpful?
Thank mcgervais
Dechapong S, Executive Director at The Royal City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mcgervais, Greeting from The Royal City Hotel, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal City Hotel, Bangkok. We appreciate your taking the time to review following your recent visit. Please allow me to clarify regarding the 1,500 THB deposit, it's the hotel policy for the incidental charge which return to the guest upon departure. The Housekeeping department... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

Very rustic interiors of the building AND the rooms....actually, close to being in NORTH KOREA 1960s! Staff service is terrible and not so welcoming or not accommodating at all. NO WIFI IN THE ROOMS!!!!!!!!!!!!! UNBELIEVABLE! They say in the lobby, there's the Wifi but for rooms they don't have! Bottle of water inside the rooms are placed in old-fashioned glass... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank EMERALD914
Dechapong S, Executive Director at The Royal City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mcgervais, Greeting from The Royal City Hotel, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal City Hotel, Bangkok. We appreciate your taking the time to review following your recent visit. The Hotels was build in 1990's, and the renovate is on going projects (Room, Pool and Gym) but however due to the high occupancy and demand which caused... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Livorno, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

(wrongly) chosen because of location convenient for my business, it is old, smelly, full of noisy chinese group tours. It must have been nice when it was built but it seems it has not received any maintenance, let alone upgrade, since then. One cannot say it is dirty, but evrything is oily, full of spots/stains and in bad need of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nubiliano
Dechapong S, Executive Director at The Royal City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nubiliano, Greeting from The Royal City Hotel, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal City Hotel, Bangkok. We appreciate your taking the time to review following your recent visit. I am writing to you to apologize for inconvenience during your last visit. Yes, you are correct regarding the Majority of Tourist has come from China as well... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

I just spent 7 nights in the royal city hotel, I found it a very pleasant and relaxing stay, the staff were always attentive and very pleasant, hotel was very well kept, not as modern maybe as other hotels but very good on the whole

Helpful?
Thank Gordon D
Dechapong S, Executive Director at The Royal City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gordon, Greeting from The Royal City Hotel, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal City Hotel, Bangkok. We appreciate your taking the time to review following your recent visit, your comment will be share with the team. In the mean time, I am please to inform that the room renovate project currently on the way. We hope... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

Terrible !!!!!! Should not call this property that a hotel .... The quality & standard of some guest house are much better than this place. There are no tea and coffee making facilities or mini bar facilities,most of the staff are surly and unsmiling. Everything are extra charge when we asked even though empty coffee cups !!!!

Helpful?
Thank Naphassakorn N
Dechapong S, Exeutive Director at The Royal City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Khun Naphassakorn, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal City Hotel. We appreciate your taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor of your recent visit. I am writing to you to apologize for the inconsistency of my team during your last visit. It is embarrassing to learn that our service was poorly managed and not up to... More 

Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel to be close to The Southern Bus Terminal. It looks imposing and probably was 30 years ago. The hotel is generally dim and dowdy and most of the staff are surly and unsmiling. The breakfast was uninviting as the already cooked food was cold! The room was dismal however the sheets were clean but the carpet... More 

Helpful?
Thank mackthespoon
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2016

This hotel caters to the Chinese tourist. Very noisy and loud. Busloads checking in and out and it is a madhouse. During mornings and evenings the elevators are packed. Stayed on 18th floor and the room had a great view but it could take 5 minutes easily, down in the morning. Rooms poorly kept. Light bulbs out in 3 lamps... More 

Helpful?
Thank mark s
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016

Stayed here for 2 night in December 2015 the hotel was ok, but the amenities were all out dated and old. we had a good view but because the window was really dirty we couldn't see outside clearly. Staff was not that friendly apart from the welcome staff (2 porters at the front) they were really friendly and helpful made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harshani S
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015

Stayed one night because we needed to be close the EENT hospital. Hotel is okay except that there was no tea/coffee making facility (which was a disappointment at the price we paid). Breakfast is not bad. Have some selection of Western and Asian. Location near to Central Pinklao and Tesco. Takes about 15 min to walk.

Helpful?
Thank judyksp
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is good but most of staff are not nice especially in the restaurant (except bells and cleaners) . They treat customers unequal, show their racism towards Chinese or other clumsy tourists so I can't bare to see it. Front line staff should learn how to nice such as a very easy simple smile from their cleaners and bells.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenaz K
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangkok
0.7 mi away
Charlie House Pinklao
Charlie House Pinklao
#198 of 833 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Royal River Hotel
The Royal River Hotel
#596 of 833 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
2.3 mi away
Baan Wanglang Riverside
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#213 of 833 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sarah Guest House
Sarah Guest House
#176 of 363 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maleewana Hotel & Resort
Maleewana Hotel & Resort
#3 of 18 in Nonthaburi
5.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beyond Suite Hotel
Beyond Suite Hotel
#731 of 833 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about The Royal City Hotel

Address: 800 Boromratchonni Road | Bangkok Noi, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Price Range: $42 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Royal City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay